We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in Fentonbury to access Mount Field National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation to your Saves list
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   50 Gully Rd, Fentonbury, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fentonbury B&B and Inns
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“We stayed in Fentonbury to access Mount Field National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We chose to stay in Fentonbury as it was near Mount Field National Park. We opted for the dinner and breakfast package which was $230 for both of us. The food was wonderful. The grounds were pleasant for a walk around. I highly recommend that you visit nearby Russell Falls as they were easily the prettiest waterfalls we saw in Tasmania.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

My partner and I drove up to Hamlet Downs after a very long morning walking around Mt Field Nation Park. It was clear that the heavens were just about to open up so we were very glad to arrive. From the get go the place looked and felt perfect. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room before being told all about it. Everything was pointed out to us including the complimentary port. We were also told how to get to the back of their property where the lakes were if we wanted to try and spot a few platypi. We fell in love with this place and were slightly saddened by the fact that we were only staying for one night. It did rain and fairly heavily but we were snug inside the beautifully decked out cottage. There were dvds to watch and although we opted for the room without a kitchenette there were still ample tea/coffee making utensils as well as a couple of plates. They also offer extremely well priced meals and drinks. After the rain stopped we went for a walk to explore the area. What we found was just gorgeous and luckily we did see a wallaby and a few platypi splashing around in the water. The tracks to the lakes were well maintained and clearly labelled (unlike another 'similar' place we stayed at). They grounds were just gorgeous and it is a lovely, quiet and secluded place. I can't recommend this place enough. There was nothing we disliked about it. We plan to return next year for our honeymoon, that is how much we enjoyed Hamlet Downs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Our best find in Tassie; an exquisite small property with ponds, large gardens and old buildings.close to the magnificent Mt Field national park Beautifully restored and finely equipped lodgings with room service and great food: would be great for children too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

A lovely country retreat. If you really wanted to get away for a couple of days of relaxing in the country, this would be a fine choice. Roughly 20 minutes from Mount William National Park and 90 minutes from Lake St. Clair, you could spend the day hiking and come back to HamletDowns to refresh for the next day.

We stayed in the King Possum Room. Distinctively panelled and furnished in wood, it had a bathroom (shower only), TV, DVD/CD player and a selection of discs. Outside the room you have access to a small kitchenette area. It was well stocked with liquid refreshments which were reasonably priced. Their meals as well were reasonably priced and served in the enclosed outside patio. After diner, you could stroll around the grounds searching the ponds for platypus or wander in the gardens. Finally, to finish off the night, have a port back in the patio as you watch the sun fall down out of the sky. Relaxation at its best.

The hosts, Peter & Sue Ontazis were not gregariously engaging, rather unobstrusively efficient in supply any needs you had inorder to enjoy your peaceful surroundings. If asked though, they were very knowledgeable on the surrounding area.

If only we had such a reasonable retreat near our home!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friuli, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Wonderful accommodation, very quiet, with a great view from the private veranda. Excellent food, served by the owners in veranda. Great wines. Room and veranda well furnished and equipped. We really loved spending two nights there!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely spot and the grounds and setting were beautiful. Great food and nice accommodation. Excellent value and well worth stopping here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussies with a travel bug
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This place was spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm! Our hosts welcomed us to the property, showed us around and made sure we were settled in. The room was so homely and clean, there was a heater in the bathroom (which pleased us Queenslanders!). There was also a great selection of DVDs in our room and a lovely sunroom to enjoy the last hour before sunset. The location was perfect - we left Hobart at lunch after spending the morning at Salamanca markets, checked in to Hamlet Downs, had time to do a walk in Mt Field National Park (just up the road) and then back to our room for a magnificent dinner. The next morning after check out we had just the right amount of time to drive west to Strahan, stopping at lots of lovely walks on the way.
Make sure you order dinner in - great value and terrific hearty home cooked food. Breakfast was equally hearty.
It's not "trendy" but it was the best place we stayed in - far better than some of the more up-market places. 10 out of 10.
Great value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation

Address: 50 Gully Rd, Fentonbury, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Fentonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fentonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation is located on 14 hectares of beautiful gardens, fields and ponds. Comprising of a circa 1800's cottage and modern extensions, Hamlet Downs provides private suites or self-contained options for guests with varying requirements. We are located just 10 minutes drive to Mount Field National Park and near the World Heritage South West Wilderness around Lakes Pedder and Gordon. We are a great stop over between Strahan and Hobart. Hobart is just 1 hour away so use us as a base for your adventures to that beautiful city and the nearby Central Highlands around Lake St Clair, Bothwell and New Norfolk. Each suite has its own entrance, lounge/dining area, bathroom, patio and some have a kitchen/kitchenette. We also offer delicious breakfasts and dinners from light meals to 3 course a la carte feasts. Hamlet Downs is accredited by the Tasmanian and national government accreditation programs which provides comfort in knowing that we provide quality and affordable accommodation. Nearby activities include the Maydena Rail Rider, fresh water fishing, The Salmon Ponds historic trout hatchery, old Hops Oust Houses, Westerway Berry Farm in Summer, kayaking, birdwatching and of course spotting the Tasmanian wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation Tasmania/Fentonbury, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.