We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and peaceful, a pleasurable place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donalea Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Donalea Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Crowthers Road, Huon Valley, Castle Forbes Bay, Tasmania 7116, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming and peaceful, a pleasurable place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We found this B&B to be in a class of its own. Very homely and comfortable with lovely views over the Huon Valley. Our hosts went out of their way to make our two night stay most memorable. The breakfast and beautiful gardens were a delight.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thankyou Helen G for your 5 star review and for choosing to stay at Donalea. The gardens are in full bloom at present and are looking wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mainland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

What a find! My friend and I booked the 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. It was perfect in every way. Nicely appointed, spotlessly clean, lots of little extras - it really felt like home. We also had the best view of the river from our private balcony. Our hosts seemed to strike that perfect balance of caring for us and giving us space. Highly recommend for singles travelling together.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our Riverview Apartment. We are so glad you enjoyed your 4 night stay and it was just a pity the weather wasn't always kind to you. Yes, the views from the apartment and B&B of the Huon River are rather special. Who knows, we may see you down this way again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were very warmly welcomed to this beautifully appointed B&B in Castle Forbes by the hosts, Leanne and Don. We booked the room with the spa and were not disappointed. Our room was clean and beautifully set up. The bathroom was huge with a lovely corner spa bath and my husband had his own separate toilet. Electric blankets and in room heater made our night very pleasant. Breakfast the next morning was taken in a beautiful room overlooking the exquisite garden and bay views. The home made rhubarb/berry compote as well as home made bread, was scrumptious. Staying at Donalea sure beats any bland and boring Best Western hotels!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thankyou fiat957 for such a glowing review. We really do enjoy what we do and are so glad you found the gardens, views and accommodation delightful. Castle Forbes Bay is a lovely part of the Huon Valley and a perfect base to explore all the region has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Don and Leanne's beautiful home with its immaculate garden. We were pampered from the moment we arrived with Leanne's tea and delicious home cooked cakes. Breakfast was sourced from local produce including wonderful bread made by Leanne and home made jams. It was a great place to be based for our visit to the Tahune Air Walk and a drive to the Ida Bay railway line. The views from Donalea across the bay were wonderful. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and so glad you enjoyed the accommodation and some of the home made goodies. Leanne loves making her own bread the old fashioned way. The Huon Valley has many hidden delights, including the Ida Bay Railway and the Tahune Airwalk. Hope you had a safe journey back to the uk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

And yet again we have stayed in Don & Leanne's beautiful part of the world. This is my 3rd review on their property and its like coming home to family. This time we turned up unannounced and was lucky enough to find a very welcoming Don, working in his garden. The B&B was quickly made up to suit our needs with Leanne supplying us with afternoon tea. The breakfasts are plentiful with homemade jams, muffins, cherries (yum), rhubarb - all the little extras - Its like coming home. Thanks Don for starting that fire every afternoon, and thanks again for sharing your wonderful accommodation with us. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It was lovely suprise to see you all again and it's like welcoming good friends. Yes, i am always in the garden when i get a chance and it's even better now the gardens are in full bloom. Take care ladies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked Donalea B&B at the last minute, arriving late in the afternoon at Huonville and finding no vacancies in most motels. Never having stayed in a B&B as we don't feel comfortable staying in someone's home. From the moment we pulled into the driveway of Donalea we were made to feel extremely welcome. The owners, Don & Leanne, were friendly, hospitable hosts. There home is stunning, set high on a hill with a magnificent view of the Huon River and surrounded by a beautiful garden. We stayed in the bedroom suite with a spa & also had free run of the lounge & dining room. The rooms are large & spotlessly clean & the continental breakfast, that's included in the price, was delicious. Leanne makes her own bread which leaves the shop bought for dead - yum! At no time during our stay did we feel as though we were intruding in someone else's home, making our first impressions of B&B's a positive one. Thanks to this wonderful couple we may start to venture away from motels towards more B&B stays.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for the review NinneyS and very happy that you may choose to stay in more B&B's in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent two nights in the well appointed Waterview suite. 2 couples could comfortably do multiple nights here. Adequate kitchenette and supplies for Breakfast. 2 lovely bedrooms. We drove down from Hobart in the morning, dropped our stuff off at Donalea then did Hastings Cave. Next day did the Tahune Airwalk and Geeveston before driving to the airport the following morning. Worked a treat.Very obliging and helpful hosts. Be sure to get directions to Sass restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks guys for the lovely review. It was wonderful to meet you and so happy you enjoyed your stay here and the lovely restaurant at Port Huon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Donalea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donalea Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Crowthers Road, Huon Valley, Castle Forbes Bay, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Castle Forbes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Forbes Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donalea Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donalea is a beautiful two bedroom Bed and Breakfast and Riverview Apartment, with over an acre of cottage gardens. The property has stunning views of the Huon River and is located in the heart of the Huon Valley. A very private country retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Donalea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donalea Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.