We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belissimo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lillino

Lillino
136 Talga Road, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4930 7799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the Lovedale area. St Clements Estate is extremely private and offers an extensive range of wines all produced from our estate. We are also excited to have opened the doors to Lillino's Italian/Pizza restaurant in June 2011.We welcome you to the most authentic and best Italian restaurant in the Hunter Valley Region. Offering some of the finest cuisine with one of the best views in the Hunter.Come on in today, sit back, relax and let us introduce you to a culinary journey without comparison. Grilled Sardinian pecorino drizzled with honey, Spaghetti with sea urchin and homemade Mussel Bottarga, Kurunjones, succulent Suckling Pig, salted crust Burramundi, steam mussels and a variety of other dishes from our ever changing menu. OPENING HOURS:We are open for Lunch from Thursday to Monday from 12pm - 3pm(No pizza's on Thursday lunch)Dinner from 6pm to late Thursday to Monday(closed on Tuesday and Wednesdays)
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Belissimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Authentic, delicious and attractive Italian menu. Peaceful atmosphere overlooking the vineyard, we sat by the window whilst sipping on beautiful wine. My partner and I were personally taken through the menu, as we are not too familiar with the fancy yet attractive sounding Italian food menu on offer. We opted for salt and pepper squid (the best we've ever had), stuffed fried eggplant and prawn pizza. Amazing amazing quality of food. The chef was delightful and the Manager gave us his undivided attention which all added to a fantastic and memorable lunch experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    22
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you are in the Hunter you have to stop at Lillinos. Very delicious food, great service and wonderful atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks Nest, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You really should take note!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the moment you set foot on the beautiful St.Clements Estate you will be transported away from the boring and mundane into an exciting and inspired space. From the friendly Italian sheep dogs that hang around to greet you to the awe inspiring bespoke building to the absolutely awesome views you will not regret making the effort to visit this amazing Estate.
To start you will be greeted by wonderful staff who will guide you through to a beautifully set out restaurant that truly maximises the majestic views of the Hunter.The menu will immediately take you back to "that great place we visited in Italy" or "that " place you one day wish to travel to.
It is a truly authentic Menu with full bodied flavours and generous portions.The chef manages to pack so much flavour into his dishes.Each of them a true delight! Luigi is a really friendly and hospitable host who has a passion for serving the best quality food and wine in his restaurant.
We are a local family who have been lucky enough to be enjoying Luigi's fabulous food on a regular basis for the past couple of years.Believe me you will love the experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Exceptionally friendly and attentive service, delectable provincial Italian cuisine, adorable canine company and incredible atmosphere! A true delight!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

On a romantic weekend away we stopped off at Lillino's for a late lunch. Even though the kitchen was closed the staff were more than happy to make us lunch and the food was excellent! So good we went back to try the wood fired pizzas for dinner. They were equally as good and the tiramisu desert was the best we've had! Great food, wine, service and atmosphere... couldn't be happier :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lillino also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Lillino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lillino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.