We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you want ordinary!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lillino

Lillino
136 Talga Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4930 7799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Rothbury
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the Lovedale area. St Clements Estate is extremely private and offers an extensive range of wines all produced from our estate. We are also excited to have opened the doors to Lillino's Italian/Pizza restaurant in June 2011.We welcome you to the most authentic and best Italian restaurant in the Hunter Valley Region. Offering some of the finest cuisine with one of the best views in the Hunter.Come on in today, sit back, relax and let us introduce you to a culinary journey without comparison. Grilled Sardinian pecorino drizzled with honey, Spaghetti with sea urchin and homemade Mussel Bottarga, Kurunjones, succulent Suckling Pig, salted crust Burramundi, steam mussels and a variety of other dishes from our ever changing menu. OPENING HOURS:We are open for Lunch from Thursday to Monday from 12pm - 3pm(No pizza's on Thursday lunch)Dinner from 6pm to late Thursday to Monday(closed on Tuesday and Wednesdays)
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“OK if you want ordinary!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had been told that this was a great Italian experience. Alas, this is a fairly ordinary place with little to recommend it. The menu is limited and then there were items that weren't available. The first dish I asked for was unavailable and the second the waitress talked me out of by implying it was tough - very ordinary! Then there was the wine list - only there home brand and ordinary at that - vintages as specified weren't available either. What happened to a little choice - maybe Italian food and Italian wine. I didn't have dessert but the list was in keeping with the rest of the meal - ordinary and predictable. I was also told that the owner/ maitre d' likes to sing which he did - once again ordinary, but he was in your face and interrupted our conversation and meal to try to socialise - please when will doofus interruptus stop! If you're looking for ok Italian at a too high price, this place is for you.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    14
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Italian restaurant with packet pasta. Thumbs down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

You go to an Italian restaurant expecting authentic home made pasta, not PACKET PASTA. Owner said they're looking into making their own. Best do that good sir, the packet stuff isn't worth $30 a dish!!!
And with a reluctant prawn pasta dish ordered, only prawn meat pieces and no actual whole prawns anywhere in the whole dish. Ripped off?!! Flavour unremarkable. Had mind blowing pasta experiences with other Italian restaurants, Lillino's doesn't have it.

Setting lovely, service OK, that is it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I visit this restaurant every week.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The innovation shown with the menu is exciting. My favourite wine is the '05 Shiraz. I had a special function here in May for 24 guests. Everyone was delighted with the evening and Luigi's fine singing too. My blog features many of the dishes that I have tried at Lillino's. Take your time over dinner and enjoy the conversation with Luigi. annfergusonblogspot.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great simple light food with a lovely view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Went there on pizza pasta night where they serve three types of pasta and two of pizza can not fault food, service or location thanks for a great night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare
1 review
“Are you serious?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A visit to Lillinos is an experience not to be missed. We make a point of going at least once a month. No where else has measured up so far. I have done some judging for the Restaurant and Catering Association and my Chef friend and I agree this place ticks all the boxes. All of our special occasions are held here. We have tried many restaurants in the Hunter, Newcastle, Sydney, Central Coast and would recommend Luigi and his beautiful view to anyone. The pace is measured but they cater for people in a hurry if you let them know. Although great food takes time they can suggest the quickest dishes, and no packet pasta in sight. The staff are great and Luigi is a treat. Do yourself a favour and try it for yourself. Oh and they have the number of a nice man who can ferry you to and from town at your convenience in his bus. Just ask them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lillino also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Lillino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lillino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.