We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Legends Grill

The Legends Grill
Vintage Drive | The Vintage, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4998 2213
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $36
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Erskine Park
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We dined here as part of the Chateau Elan, and whilst the food is good, the service could be better. We had breakfast there everyday that we stayed, and often the items run out before resupply, and this caused customers to queue for the food. This shouldn't happen, and with this, there should be someone overseeing the operation. To be a real 5 star establishment, this needs to be revised and other operations need to be put in place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

All meals we ate here were of a great standard.
From breakfast to lunch & then dinner.
The staff were all very professional & well knowleged about which wines suited our meals.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food WOW!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a beautiful dinner with my partner. He ordered quail and T-bone and I ordered pork belly and duck. They were all delicious the only criticism I can give is the mash that came with the steak was a bit lumpy and lacked seasoning and needed a bit of butter. We then oppted to get dessert each choosing the pudding and the mouse. They were both delicious to look at and eat. I thought the pricing was very reasonable having 3 courses each and a drink from the bar each having a bill of $170 was very reasonable for hunter valley. Working in the industry all I could say is the service could have been a bit more personal as it wasn't very busy and we had finished our desert for about 20 minutes and had to get up to get the bill. The atmosphere was nice to start but then a very large group of older gentlemen that had been drinking and playing golf all day so they were quite loud came in and made it a bit less romantic and intimate. But overall a great place will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food Great, service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The atmosphere of the restaurant is very intimate. The staff very friendly but (7 tables), three serving staff....it was like they just didn't want to approach you. My husband sat there for almost an hour without being asked if he wanted another drink! On the upside the steak was cooked to perfection, it just melted in your mouth. Would go back for the food but not the service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here for our anniversary and my partners birthday as it was one if very few places open on a Tuesday night. Very few people in the restaurant so we received outstanding service!
Our waitress was very lovely and we weren't waiting long for food at all. I had the pork belly entree and the 300g Angus steak main, while my partner had oysters for his entree and the prawn curry for his main. Meals were HUGE! We were very impressed considering most places around this price range offer nice food but there never seems to be enough. Ended up sharing the toffee sticky date pudding dessert which was so good.
Atmosphere and presentation were beautiful, very happy and would come again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Legends Grill also viewed

Rothbury, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Legends Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legends Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.