We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Elan Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A worthwhile destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the villas. Beautiful and very spacious. We played golf and visited the spa. Wherever we went, we were met with friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is exceptional. Great food at a reasonable price. I would recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: Any of the villas are great but for a good view over the golf course, try getting an upstairs one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    113
    41
    19
    5
See reviews for
35
267
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I dont think i could say enough about this place. We escaped the city to getaway and relax, what we found at Chateau Elan was a dream come true. The staff were excellent the room was magnificent and the food was awesome. You get chauffeured around by friendly staff and the spa treatments were wonderful.
We did not want to leave. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The positives first; the room was HUGE, had a nice layout, big TV, comfy bed, modern. Great location as you can walk (15 mins through the old course) to Esca restaurant at Bimbadgin estate which was excellent (see other review).

Not so good; at the buffet breakfast we had to ask for everything from tea cups, plates to eggs, bacon etc as the service just wasn't up to scratch. Not a biggie but made it less enjoyable. More fundamental, the resort is part of a new development and therefore the whole place feels like a suburban housing estate and you don't really get any of that wine country charm... But with a king bed, spa and a 42" plasma maybe charm is over rated.

And... We had a mysterious 'holiday charge' added to our bill which was removed when we spotted it and explained as 'something that happens sometimes'.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Really nice place to stay with a great view from our villa. A bit expensive in comparison to some other places we have stayed but we jagged a mystery deal and I was a great price. Large bathrooms and sitting area off of bedroom, like a studio apartment style. Would return

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here over the long weekend. From booking till you leave the Chateau the service was exceptional. We stayed at one of the villas and the room was spacious and homey, with a gas fire and an in room spa. The facilities around the resort are great and transport is so easy as you get chauffeured by golf buggies wherever you need to go. The Chateau is conveniently close to the wineries and they also offer shuttle services if you intend to drink. Overall my stay was 5stars and will definitely be returning to the Chateau on our next visit to the Hunter!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Chateau Elan is amazing. Wonderful location, private, excellent rooms.........
We have stayed at the Chateau twice now and is our first choice accommodation option in the Hunter Valley.

No complaints of any kind.

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the upstairs room, but would request this type again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having just stayed at the Chateau Elan for the weekend, I have to say, my partner and I have been blown away. The Chateau Elan is a stunning estate with manicured lawns, absolutely gorgeous villas, amazing views and brilliant facilities, but what really shone out for us was the staff. In particular Aaron, who single-handedly made our weekend so special. After arriving on the Friday night we are already late for a dinner reservation and had no transport sorted, he called the restaurant and took us himself, then hours later, came to pick us up. We were in a similar situation the following night and even though the resorts team were short staffed, the service did not disappoint. Again Aaron was our knight in shining armour, with a smile and a story he really did make our weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia’s finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Spa Villas and Spa King hotel rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Elan Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.