We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madigan Vineyard

Madigan Vineyard
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madigan Vineyard to your Saves list
Madigan Vineyard
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   504 Wilderness Road, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 , Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good and nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is a good and nice place. It is bit old (dated) and need bit renovations.

We went on easter break, it was expensive during that time. But I guess in general it is worth for the money. No restaurant :(, but a beautiful view. Can see kangaroos/wallabies during sunset.
Got a small size spa inside the cottage.

Can suggest to ppl who like a simple stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madigan504, Manager at Madigan Vineyard, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for review of our cottage - I'm assuming that you stayed in The Kookaburra Cottage as it has a 2 person spa bath. This cottage is a favourite with our couples; cosy and in a fantastic spot to take in the views and the local fauna, especially at sunset. Madigan Vineyard is centrally located so within 5 minutes of our front gate you can have access to some top quality restaurants. The local township is only 10 minutes away so very handy if you need supplies to use in the cottages kitchens. This cottage does have a 'country' feel and in saying that we are planning to freshen up our cottages with a lick of paint to make them even more inviting. Maybe next time you visit you can come during the week when our prices are very competitive with the local motels.

Thank you again,

Sharon Friere
Manager
Madigan Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The vineyard is for sale and the cottage we rented was showing its age and lack of care: I wouldn't say it was dirty but it is not easy to keep a place clean when so many furnishings are out of date. Sharon who looked after the estate was very helpful and gave out a lot of useful information. There was air con in one bedroom and also in the kitchen area and that kept the place cool. The two double beds were comfortable - the twin beds are on an upstairs open landing and that area was hot! The kitchen was well equipped, the TV signal was excellent but no wifi. Quite a good birding area and considering there was a small lake nearby surprisingly no mossies though the windows and doors are netted. On the whole well priced but a major facelift required and a more secure lock on the front door would be useful. Eating out locally is expensively over-rated and overpriced: Daytons Family Vineyard was best we found and the Indian in Cessnock: free wifi there at the Library.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Upon arriving we realized straight away that this cottage was value for money when placed in comparison with what you could easily pay for "other" accommodation in Hunter. The cottages have everything you need just like a hotel except for milk for your coffee or tea, (so bring your own) Just remember, you're in "wine country" so the first thing that you will want the next day after all that wine you had the day before is a nice cup of get up and go! If this is my only upset then that's awesome. So if you are heading to the Hunter, I'd stay here again. (1) It's quite, so you can sleep in. (2) It's sleeps your family if you need that. Around 6 beds & 1 fold out sofa. (3) you can have the privacy you need if you want to keep the wine drinking going after the day is over. (4) And finally, one of the BEST WINES I have ever had was one of their own, it was the MADIGAN 2006 reserve Shiraz, and for the record "I don't like Shiraz, and that's saying something, I'd travel back just for the wine alone . S.Whaite, Sunshine Coast QLD.

Room Tip: Stay at the "Settlers Cottage" and bring some milk from the store down the road. Beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having stayed in the Kookaburra Cabin back in 2011, it was a welcome relief to see that it hadn't changed much! Lots of space, very comfy cottage, spa, and located close to a lot of good wineries, including Wandin Winery at the end of the road! Sharon, the owner, was more than welcoming and had fantastic knowledge of the area, and was very friendly. Included a BBQ fireplaceoutside, as we were on a budget, which we used on the night befor Valentines!

We will definately be back for our 3rd!

Room Tip: Make sure you bring Mosquito Spray, as the mosiquitos are quite vicious at night, even with the scre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, and although the 'settlers cottage' we stayed in is a little tired and dated it is extremley good value. Having stayed in the Hunter Valley previously, the mid week price of $90 a night is hard to beat.
Although there are a number of cabins on the property, there was an adequate level of privacy. Whilst the accommodation could do with updated furniture, the kitchen was well equipped and all rooms were clean and tidy.
If you are after 5 star fixtures and fittings look elsewhere (and probably pay 5 times the rate)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week, beautiful outlook, very quiet and peaceful, nice size house, excellent service provide by our host Sharon, clean rooms, good bedlinen and towels. Loved watching the Kangaroos and stunning sun sets! We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Since we were only staying one night, after a long drive, I was looking for quiet, clean accommodation with all the basics, including separate bedrooms for my friend and me. It's true that Madigan is a little off the Cessnock "main drag", but only by 5 minutes or so. One of the Hunter's best rated restaurants, Mojo's, is at the end of the street. Most importantly, the cottages are clean and well cared for, quietly located near a small pond and vines, and well equipped with everything you'd need for an extended stay. Settlers Cottage includes a laundry; I'm sure the others do too. Further, one bedroom has air conditioning and a king-sized bed and another has a queen-sized bed and a ceiling fan that cools the room more than adequately. This room is near the bathroom on the ground floor. There is a third bedroom with twin beds at the top of the stairs opposite the main bedroom. The decor could do with a revamp, but at the price, who can complain? The manager has young children and can't be there all the time, but she will leave the cottage open on day 1 so that you can get in, leave your things and lock up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madigan Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madigan Vineyard

Address: 504 Wilderness Road, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madigan Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vines, in the heart of the Hunter Valley, beautifully appointed cottages provide for all of our guest's needs. Amidst an ambience of seclusion and serenity, Madigan Vineyard is located approximately ten minutes from Cessnock and its township. The vineyard is sited in the valley amongst many boutique wineries, restaurants and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madigan Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madigan Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madigan Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.