We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talga Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Talga Estate to your Saves list
Talga Estate
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   307 Talga Road, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend at Talga Estate. Our villa was huge (bigger than my apartment in Sydney!) and the king size bed so luxurious. Michael and Leyla were very polite and helped us check in-then left us alone which was perfect!
We enjoyed walking around the vineyards, the breakfast in the fridge and how convenient the location was to all the hunter valley attractions.
Two small things-the ipod dock doesn't play iphones and there was no bubble bath for the spa.
The spa was an absoulte highlight though-it was huge and the candles set up where a nice touch.
A great place to stay-will come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed at Talga Estate with some friends in February 2012 when we visited the Hunter Valley for a wedding. I absolutely loved it - I've previously stayed at other places in the Hunter, but so far, Talga Estate is the best.

The villa that we stayed in took every little detail into account - the kitchen was fully stocked with all the utensils and appliances you need, the beds were comfy, the bathrooms were luxurious with massive spas and the shared living room had all the mod cons (enormous TV, DVD player, iPhone dock). One of the best things was the outdoor patio complete with a BBQ and an amazing view of vines and pomegranate trees. Beautiful!

I really enjoyed my time in Hunter Valley, and the accommodation was one of the main highlights - I will definitely stay at Talga Estate on my future trips to Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I can't say I'm the type to normally write reviews, but the splendid weekend we spent at Talga has me making this exception:
We arrived quite late Friday, but despite our tardiness Michael and Leyla welcomed us warmly and had us settled in for the night.
When we awoke the next morning, all were struck by the surrounds. Less than 10 paces from our veranda the sun was rising over the vines. It couldn't be more picturesque - flighty kangaroos making a dash when they saw us. Curious sheep coming to visit. But most surprising of all is Talga's pomegranate orchard! I can't say I've ever seen that in the Hunter. For breakfast we had a fry up on the BBQ on our veranda, partaking in the eggs and bacon we found in the fridge.
After traipsing the vineyards all day, our weary crew couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The villa was incredibly spacious with oversized coma-inducing-comfy couches and a king sized bed (I'm pretty sure the sheets were 1000 thread count). I also felt a bit cheeky taking a bottle of local semillon into the spa, but hey, how often does the opportunity present itself? Needless to say everything is modern and meticulously clean.
When we packed the car for the trip home, Leyla and Michael presented us with a bunch of fresh table grapes from the Talga vineyard. Just the sugar hit we needed for the trip back to Sydney. Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I travel a lot and I have to say that this is one of the coolest places ever! The service is great, everything is really beautiful. The managers were just amazing and couldn’t be more helpful
beautiful rooms, very clean and well decorated, quiet and relaxing.. The place is recommended for couples and families.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Our family had a lovely weekend at the Talga Estate in October 2011. The accommodation was just lovely, the spa bath was heavenly and our children had an absolute ball. Michael and Layla were warm and hospitable without being intrusive. They made our children feel welcome and went out of their way to ensure we all had a fabulous weekend. The villas are stocked with everything you need, and Michael was kind enough to give us a pomegranate tree to take home! What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

It's rare that to come across contemporary-styled accommodation in the Hunter. Talga Estate exceeded our expectations in so many ways. The villa was huge and impeccably decorated but what we loved were the details. The bedrooms were massive and we were even surprised to find private jacuzzi's in the rooms. Everything was immacculate - from the furniture to the quality of the mattress. The kitchen was fully stocked which meant that we could cook up some of the fresh produced we bought throughout the day which was a nice change to dining out. We had dinner one night on our private patio overlooking the vines, pomegranate trees and the odd kangaroo. There's not much that beats watching the sunset with a glass of good wine in hand. Overall the whole experience was amazing. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My partner and I had a lovely time at Talga Estate. The rooms were incredibly spacious and clean. Watching the sun set over the vineyards was a highlight and there were some great wineries nearby. I would recommend it to any couple looking for a romantic weekend away.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talga Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talga Estate

Address: 307 Talga Road, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Talga Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 2 bedroom units situated on a stunning 25 acre vineyard and pomegranate orchard. At Talga Estate our bedrooms make the difference: each has a King-size latex bed, crisp linen, plush doonas and an open bathroom with hydrotherapy spa bath. But that's only the start ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Talga Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talga Estate Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talga Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.