We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to do business and relax at the same time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talga Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Talga Estate to your Saves list
Talga Estate
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   307 Talga Road, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A great place to do business and relax at the same time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I have had the best time which was productive and peaceful .
The rooms are comfortable and stylish, 5 star.
Also the dinning table was even better than my office which accommodated my paper work for the 5 days.
Would recommend this to anyone who wants to complete his business in peace and to any family.
I will be back but this time with my family.
Peter
Ampha PTY LTD

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spent a weekend at Talga Estate, and have never felt as relaxed as I did here. The king sized beds were so comfortable, and having the spa in the room was just brilliant. Everything in the suite was was just right, very clean, had big tele, really comfy lounges, everything you could possibly need to cook was all there in the kitchen. We had a BBQ outside one evening which was lovely, had a great sunset and beautiful view looking out at the pomegranate orchard ... which were yummy as well.
The owners were great, very friendly and had some great recommendations on where to go in the area.
All in all, had a really great time there, i just wish we stayed longer than a weekend. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Very friendly owners, spacious units, comfortable sofas & great breakfast supplies. Full kitchen which we used for all meals even dinner - too comfortable to go out! Also just had 4 nights in Sydney so just wanted to stay in - perfect property for that. Long soak in spa bath was a treat. Quirky open ensuite set up in corner of bedroom was nice & toilet was separate. Very quiet and peaceful at night. Two bed units, and the bed ensuite set-up is mirror image - so would be great for couples - no one misses out. Try the pomegrantes grown on the property - yum!

Exterior of building a bit disappointing being basic brick with green roof. Not what I expected from photos of interior on website. Property is still being developed and is relatively new. Inside decor a bit confused with a mix of modern and old fashioned. No laundry facilities. But I am sure owners would have offered theirs if I had asked. Only 1 towel each for 3 days, again I think if I had asked they would have gladly supplied another one. Units are duplex and you can clearly hear neighbours when on their outdoor area. Units not quite as clean as I would have liked.

Stayed over Easter & Easter Sunday rate exorbitant but really was no choice as everyone was the same and property was full. Would have been better value on normal rates.

Room Tip: Unit not attached to main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have just got back from a couple of days in the Hunter Valley staying at Talga Estate. We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights, and I was staying with friends attending a conference. I have stayed in the Hunter Valley many times over the last few years, and have stayed in many different places.
I can say that Talga Estate is by far and away the most disappointing place I have stayed in, not only in the Hunter Valley, but possibly ever!
The outside of the property resembles a garage - it is bland and unappealing. The welcome we had on arrival was unwelcoming, and the owner was downright rude.
The inside of the "villa" is acceptable in terms of cleanliness, but everything is so cheap - from the kitchen and bathroom fittings to the tea, coffee, soap etc.
The bed is king size, but the mattress is not latex as advertised on the web-site.
One of the air-conditioning units did not work for the duration of our stay.
The major problem is really the price - $415 for 4 people mid-week per night! For this money especially mid-week you could stay almost anywhere in the hunter.
If Talga Estate priced itself realistically - ie. $100 - $150 per night mid-week, then it would provide acceptable value for money for this entry-level, budget-style accommodation.
Also, when our concerns were fed-back to the proprietor, he was extremely rude and verbally aggressive. This is totally unacceptable in ANY situation.
Overall, an extremely poor experience was had by all, in a cheap, hostel-quality abode, in a sub-optimal location, run by rude money-grabbing charlatans.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalgaEstate, Owner at Talga Estate, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
In response to this guest’s review on the 29th April 2011. This guest booked and paid for three people through Wotif for two nights, however four guests stayed without our knowledge for the 2 nights. The policy is that guests are charged per person per night as stated on our website and Wotif. When we enquired about this extra person staying, he admitted the extra guest stayed only one night; however there was evidence to show that they had stayed the 2 nights. Upon checkout, we asked for this extra guest to pay for the two nights; however he would only pay one night. Upon their departure, the accommodation was left in an utterly disgusting state.
As for the accommodation itself, our features are transparent in our website, with pictures of the outside and inside of the property available for review prior to any bookings. Our mattresses are King Koil latex mattresses. Prices are also clearly shown on all booking sites. It is disappointing that this guest would suggest our accommodation is hostel style, as our all fittings and features are top quality, comfortable and our accommodation is only two years old.
Regarding the air conditioning unit, we would have preferred that this guest had addressed this issue with us during their stay, as it was a matter of this guest not knowing how to operate the remote control. Upon their departure the air conditioning unit was fully tested and was operational.
It would have been preferable to receive feedback directly from guests, to ensure their stay is comfortable, as well as to assist us in improving our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We had a really good time at the Talga Estate. My family had Villas 1 and 2. Pictures on their website was how it really was. Villas were very clean and had modern furnishings. It was so comfortable. Location was great! My family was able to see wild kangaroos graze and box on the neighboring property.

I personally liked the kitchen and barbeque which was really convenient for preparing food for my family. They provide breakfast for your first morning. Bacon, eggs, juice and bread was waiting in our fridge when we got in! THis was the middle of our AUstralian trip and I was getting tired of all the restaurant food we had. I also LOVED waking up and seeing the vineyard from the bedroom window. We saw the hot air balloon fly by every morning!

My husband loved the location, it was near all the vineyards he wanted to visit.

My kids loved the spa bath for their bubble baths, the wild kangaroos nearby and they had so much fun picking pomegranate in their field and running around in the vineyard which is just outside the villa!

Best of all, the owners, Laila and her husband, were very warm and hospitable. They had suggestions for restaurants, activities for the kids and great wineries to visit.

It was a wonderful trip and we wish to go back soon. We also found out that 2 nights were not enough! We should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Talga Estate exceeded our expectations. It was secluded, the inside was modern, the beds were amazingly comfortable, the owners were extremely friendly and the spa was so relaxing! The backyard opens on to an amazing view of the orchards and sheep grazing. The owners suprised us with a cheese platter, bottle of wine, bacon and eggs and fresh bread on our doorstep in the morning. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was the ultimate indulgence.

Talga's location is idyllic with views of the ranges and vineyard and pomegrante orchard. The rooms are superb, comfortable and modern and cosy at the same time and very nicely presented with ample privacy. The wine and cheese were most welcome after the long drive...and the breakfast - yum!! Service was very attentive, and were most helpful in assisting us in organising what to do around the Hunter, given it was our first trip. Talga will definately be the place we stay at again and again when we visit the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talga Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talga Estate

Address: 307 Talga Road, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Talga Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 2 bedroom units situated on a stunning 25 acre vineyard and pomegranate orchard. At Talga Estate our bedrooms make the difference: each has a King-size latex bed, crisp linen, plush doonas and an open bathroom with hydrotherapy spa bath. But that's only the start ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Talga Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talga Estate Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talga Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.