We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast
1443 Wine Country Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2335, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Loftus, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Red Balloon voucher with Massage at Endota & Lunch at Chez Pok. The rooms were spotless & very comfortable. Bathroom was also very clean & nice hot showers. All the staff were very friendly & welcoming & nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, raisin toast and a very yummy cooked breakfast. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night with a friend on our way north and found it to be very comfortable indeed. It poured with rain unfortunately for the whole 24 hours but it was still very picturesque, with kangaroos in the paddock outside our room in the early morning. Elegant room, lovely, home grown breakfast cooked by Julie, and a friendly dog to complete the ambience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for three days (two nights) at this wonderful B&B and we will most definitely stay here again. The rooms are spacious, wonderfully presented, and comfortable. The breakfast was exactly what you would expect from a stay at the Hunter Valley (unique, filling, and delicious), and it was wonderfully peaceful to eat it whilst watching the wildlife outside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay on the Australia Day weekend in January 2013. All of the amentities that you'd expect at a big hotel, but a much friendlier, informal atmosphere, very nice. Lovely bedrooms, nice places to sit outside on the huge verandah to enjoy the beautiful scenery with a glass of wine. Breakfast was scrumptious. Very relaxing. Julie (and Mojo the border collie),, are excellent hosts, we felt very welcome. We'll definately stay here again on our next trip to the Hunter, I highly recommend it!

Michelle & Brad

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in January and we cannot recommend this B&B any higher.
The bed was very comfortable, the room cosy but not overcrowded and every recommendation made by Julie was exactly right for us.
The hot breakfast was absolutely delicious with a good selection in the continental spread too.
Watching the birds and kangaroos from the verandah, the cattle grazing in the nearby paddocks and her friendly dog who came to visit just added to the peaceful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms. Friendly hostess and dog. Continental breakfast only was offered however it was very good - fresh fruit, homemade muffins, cereal and toast. The orange juice and coffee were particularly delicious.
We found it quiet and slept well, however the two other parties commented on the air gun noise from the distant vineyards (possibly only in harvest season?).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hunter Valley B&B for just one night in January 2013 and it was enough to appreciate the exquisite and warm attention of Julie (the owner) and the lovely accommodation. We loved the peaceful setting, the details of the decoration and the delicious breakfast that Julie prepared for us. We definitely recommend this B&B to anyone, specially to couples. We will return for sure when we visit Hunter Valley again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have private access to the beautiful terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1443 Wine Country Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2335, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.