We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast
1443 Wine Country Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2335, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms. Friendly hostess and dog. Continental breakfast only was offered however it was very good - fresh fruit, homemade muffins, cereal and toast. The orange juice and coffee were particularly delicious.
We found it quiet and slept well, however the two other parties commented on the air gun noise from the distant vineyards (possibly only in harvest season?).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hunter Valley B&B for just one night in January 2013 and it was enough to appreciate the exquisite and warm attention of Julie (the owner) and the lovely accommodation. We loved the peaceful setting, the details of the decoration and the delicious breakfast that Julie prepared for us. We definitely recommend this B&B to anyone, specially to couples. We will return for sure when we visit Hunter Valley again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have private access to the beautiful terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful place the first week of December and my husband and I loved it! We usually stay at hotels when we travel, usually 4 star ratings and I was so impressed with this place that I would never go back to a hotel if all b&b's were like this. Julie was such a gracious hostess, she makes you feel so comfortable the moment you meet her. The rooms are spacious, clean, and all have access to the amazing verandah. There's private seating outside of each room on the verandah as well as great sitting areas on an extended portion off the back, so inviting and relaxing. The breakfast room is set up with four tables so that each couple has their own space and it feels so comfortable. Mojo the dog is a great addition for travellers missing their pets like we were.
We did the fat blokes wine tour and had a great day, the tour guide, Jan, really goes above and beyond and his knowledge of the area really shows. He put together a lunch that was simply a party in our mouths, it was like a ploughman platter with such an amazing combination of food.
Overall a fantastic experience!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here Nov 2012 for one night only. We had a very rushed weekend, with the bus arriving to take us to our half day winery tour as we arrived. Julie introduced herself, showed us our room then we bid her farewell. Upon our return, Julie let us know that breakfast would be served in the breakfast room at 8am. Unfortunately, we had a booking at Hunter Valley Rally School and had to be there just after 8am on the Sunday. Julie said that was OK, she would organise breakfast for us at 7am. What we were not expecting was for Julie to be actually cooking our breakfast! There was a plentiful supply of toasts, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice etc, and then Julie arrives with freshly cooked corn fritters and bacon! We felt very welcome, even though we actually weren't there very long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently stayed here on a concert weekend and were delighted that it was not mandatory to book 2 nights as with most other accommodation options in the Hunter Valley. We received a warm welcome from our hostess Julie and her gorgeous Border Collie, we were shown to our room and were delighted with the size, facilities (ensuite), cleanliness and outlook thru the French doors. Afternoon Tea was provided for us and tea and coffee facilities were 24/7. Julie was a great source of information and was happy to arrange anything for you. We were able to catch a bus to the concert from the front gate of the B&B, which was a great option. Breakfast the next morning was to die for with a great selection of fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, toast, muffins, freshly cooked bacon and corn fritters. The property is located within a 10-15 minute drive from the wineries. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a red balloon deal to go hot air ballooning. The host Julie was super friendly and welcomed us warmly. She showed us around the place and showed us how to use the very important coffee machine. Breakfast was very fresh, and a good selection for a continental breakfast. The mattresses really are VERY comfy. We slept very well. The outdoor area is also really nice to relax in and read a book with a nice glass of hunter semillion. Showers are hot and hard and the room is spacious for a B & B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Been here a few times before with my girlfriend and we always return, it an amazing place. Very nice rooms with en suites good working showers air con and tv. Very hospitable host , Julie. Coffee machine, biscuits cereal always available. A great breakfast. All you could ever ask from A B & B and more it has beautiful open garden, a nice terrace with tables and chair to enjoy the scenery with a nice bottle of wine. Perfect. Also there is no where else in Hunter as high quality as this for the same price.
And to top it all off a very friendly well behaved Dog names "Mojo",
I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1443 Wine Country Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2335, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.