We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in a beautiful part of NSW but NOT luxury ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bombah Point Eco Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myall Lakes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bombah Point Eco Cottages
Save
You added Bombah Point Eco Cottages to your Saves list
969 Lakes Rd | Bombah Point, Myall Lakes National Park, New South Wales 2423, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Located in a beautiful part of NSW but NOT luxury ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We loved the Myall Lakes region and had a wonderful relaxing time in the area - bushwalking, kayaking, beaches, fishing and sand dunes. I would highly recommend the area for a vacation however the lodge did not live up to expectations as indicated by their website.

We were paying $335/night (in peak season) and for this money I expect clean towels (the badly stained towels were replaced after I notified the owners but were surprised that they were not checked prior to being placed in our cottage). The cottages are definitely not luxury - the shower curtain had black mold growing on it, the fabric on window seat in the main room had lots of stains and consequently we did not use it.

There are no curtains/blinds in the upstairs loft area or in the main section of the cottage (living/dining area). This resulted in many early mornings for our children who woke up at sunrise, and since they went to bed after dark, they did not have a very restful time. The loft area is a good area for older kids, it is not very kid friendly for little ones as there is no safety rail and the half wall can easily be climbed over. The stairs are also very steep down to the lounge.

The cottages are not on the water (as previous reviewer mentioned) and so we were always in our car, even just to go down to the lake to do some fishing. I did try walk through the property but the climb is very steep both up and down.

On the positive side, the pool area is nice and after a day on the beach it is refreshing to swim before dinner. The cottages are quiet and set well between the trees making it a very peaceful escape from the city.

In summary, we did have a lovely holiday but left feeling that we over paid despite being peak season, the rates are too high and the cottages are definitely not luxury. BTW definitely take your own pillow if you want a good rest, we almost drove to Forster to buy one!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpec2008, Manager at Bombah Point Eco Cottages, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages. We are pleased that you loved the Myall Lakes area and used your holiday to take full advantage of what the area has to offer.

We are disappointed that the cottages didn’t meet your expectations. I would like to address your concerns about the towels, window seat, shower curtain and pillows with an apology that they were not to your satisfaction.

I can assure you all linen and towels are washed at extremely high temperatures at a commercial laundry to ensure they are clean and hygienic. Unfortunately some times we have had small rust stains on the towels from the commercial washers. We are pleased that you found our quick response, providing you with additional brand new towels, adequate.

We hope you will be pleased to know we are currently replacing the shower curtains in all 6 cottages and cleaning the upholstery fabrics throughout which do show the signs of wear after a busy family holiday period.

We realise that many guests have strong personal preferences about their pillows and we do our best to accommodate this with a range of densities amongst the 7 we provide in each cottage.

By law we must, and do have, safety rails fitted to the half walls providing a 1.2m barrier in all the cottage lofts. They are in accordance with current Building Codes of Australia. Child gates are also available on request for the stair cases, which are a standard step dimension in tread depth and height.

The cottages are architectural designed to be free from window coverings. We promote this through the photos on our website showing the wrap around floor to ceiling glass of the lower levels showcasing the bush with uninterrupted views. The bush provides a natural privacy screen between cottages. The gable windows of the upstairs loft room are designed to allow you to drift off to sleep watching the stars. The downstairs bedroom does have blinds for additional privacy and to reflect afternoon sun on this side of the cottage. Some guests opt for their children to sleep in this room for various reasons, including for darkness, and the adults sleep in the loft.

It is lovely to know how much the pool area is appreciated, and we are pleased you enjoyed the use of it with your family. Along with the tranquility of the cottages as a peaceful escape from the city.

We do hope you will visit the area again to enjoy all it has to offer, and we hope we have adequately addressed some of your concerns raised in your review.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

The pros:
- Nice hosts. Nice people
- Quiet and peaceful
- Relatively clean place but don't look too closely

The Cons:
- Far from the beach. 45 min to Hawks Nest
- Not kid friendly. Balconies are quite a few feet above ground
- "gourmet kitchen" and "deluxe bedding" is a bit of a stretch
- I saw a note from the owner to a person using the washing machine that said the machine was stopped because the load wasn't full enough. Would you do that to a guest - stop their washing mid cycle full of soap?
- moldy smelling bedroom
- basically, as others have said, for $300 you'd expect more than the lodges at a caravan park.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpec2008, Manager at Bombah Point Eco Cottages, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our cottages. We’re pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and the tranquility of the area. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet all your expectations. We hope we can address some of your "Cons"

Beach Access
For beach access we‘d like to draw your attention to several access points much closer to the cottages that you may have overlooked. Dees Corner is only 15 minutes from the cottages via a 10 km drive and a 5 minute ferry ride. It is the first of 3 signposted National Park car parks giving access to the beach along the road to Hawks Nest.

Cottage Balconies
All cottage balcony balustrades are built to current Building Code of Australia Standards to ensure there is no hazard, I hope this eases any concerns you have about their safety. A photo of our cottages showing the full height of the balcony is provided on our website.

Gourmet Kitchen
We consider our kitchens to be gourmet, we are sorry you didn’t find this description adequate. We welcome any suggestions you may have for additional facilities/provisions in them. Currently each kitchen is fully equipped with a full fridge/freezer, microwave, fan forced electric oven, 4 burner gas cook top, gas bbq, cooking utensils, pots and pans, toaster, kettle and coffee plunger, and a stock of tea, coffee, salt, pepper, oil, paper towel, napkins, foil and cling wrap to get you started. There is also 24 hour access to the reception kitchen and its catering equipment if there is anything extra you might need to whip up your meal. A photo of the kitchen/lounge area is on our website.

Laundry Facilities
Thank you for raising your concerns over the use of our laundry facilities. We certainly understand the need to do a load of washing, especially when traveling with children. Our laundry service, including detergent, is provided for free however, our water supply is limited - being from rain water tanks. For this reason we do ask, via the laundry door signage, that any loads of washing are a full load and suggest the use of the cottage laundry tub for small amounts that could be hand washed. This ensures that the washing machine remains operational for all guests throughout the year.

Unfortunately, on one occasion during your stay, this summer we had to turn off the machine that just started a wash with only a couple of small items in it. We felt this was not unreasonable as it was not fair to other guests, including yourselves, who may wish to use the machine. To respect the unknown guests privacy we did not pull items out of the machine.

Odour in bedroom
I apologize for the odour you mentioned in the bedroom, we do air the cottages as much as possible between guest stays, which is only 4 hours during our peak summer period. Most residual odours are from previous guests perfumes and cooking which can be tricky to dissipate in short time frames without using nasty chemicals. I would like to assure you all floorboards throughout are both vacuumed then mopped, linen is washed and all surfaces wiped clean. Mold is very uncommon in the bedrooms as the floor is elevated from the ground with open air underneath.


We are independently rated by AAA Tourism as a 4 star property and can assure you our tariffs are comparable with other accommodation in our area for peak season.

Once again we are pleased you enjoyed the Myall Lakes region and hope to welcome your family back some time perhaps to enjoy the closer beaches or even a winter escape to make use of the cottages log fireplace and a hot spa.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a great place but it needs to lift its game in some areas. We love camping and will happily rough it but for something billed as "luxury accommodation" and a price tag to match, you expect a bit more.

This means providing comfy pillows and a better shower which was under pressured and had an old mouldy shower curtain and dodgy showerhead that sends sprays of water shooting in various directions. The lighting also needs some work as it doesn't really light the apartment at night. Our fridge was old, noisy and small and didn't keep things cool. This led to an amazing and beyond the call of duty nightime replacement by Rob with a brand new one.

If we were paying $100 to $200 dollars a night I wouldn't have batted an eyelid at these shortcomings but at $300 per night one expects all the trimmings.

On the note of servicing there is no basic cottage clean up (vacuum, linen refreshment etc..) for long stays which is a bit dissappointing. There are also other minor things such as the old CRT TV and stereo that lacks an ipod dock. Again at these prices per night and the relative low cost of these luxury items nowadays it should be standard.

It should also be noted that the Google Maps location of Bombah Point gives one the impression that the lodges are located on or very near the water. This is not the case, the lake is a 5 minute drive and beach is a 20-30 minute drive with a ferry crossing that runs on the half hour. We really wanted waterside accomodation so this was a bit of a let down for us. We probably should have done more research but the awesomeness of the greater Myall Lakes area well and truly made up for this.

Another small gripe is that I asked when booking the eco lodges if they were kid friendly and was told that they absolutely were. In my mind this means open space to run about and kick or throw a ball but the whole place is on the side of a fairly steep mountain surrounded by bush. To add to this we were told on arrival that we should not step foot in the bush, even 1mm off the track as snakes would be lying in wait for frogs and may mistake our feet for lunch. Kids are by nature inquisitive and like to explore and have fun so the initial comment of "kid friendly" didn't entirely hold water. We were also told on arrival to be cautious with the rainwater filtered tap water if our stomachs were easily upset so we had to go and buy water. It would be good if these things were mentioned prior to arrival so that water could purchased beforehand. On the topic of water a big thumbs up for the nice and well maintained pool and games room.

Overall we had a really nice and relaxing time and many of the things mentioned could be easily fixed which would make this place just perfect. Rob is a good host who is eager to please and I would definitely recommend the Bombah Point eco-lodges because the whole area is brilliant and a combination of kayaking and fishing on the lake, hiring a tinny and seeing dolphins, playing on the sand dunes and lazy days at Hawks Nest beach were just what we needed.

Hope this helps with your decision making.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpec2008, Manager at Bombah Point Eco Cottages, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our property. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed our property and the spectacular Myall Lakes area.

We hope we can provide some clarity on the items that you were not as satisfied with.

PILLOWS
We realise these are a highly personal choice. We do our best to offer a range of densities in the 7 provided in the cottage, which are all a commercial grade pillow.

SHOWER
The cottages are 100% self sufficient with water supply. The spa and shower is supplied with water from rain water tanks which is fed into the cottage via a pump. Naturally this does not produce the exact level of pressure you get with your town water supply. But this is a compromise we chosen in our aim to provide sustainable eco accommodation.

We apologise for the mould on the bottom of your shower curtain and thank you for alerting us to your shower head. We hope you will be pleased to know we are currently replacing the shower curtains in all 6 cottages and cleaning the internals of the shower heads after the end of a busy family holiday period as part of our 'Spring clean'.

LIGHTING
The compact florescent lighting throughout the cottage is an environmental choice. These globes reduce our lighting power consumption by approximately 75%. They are not quite as bright as regular globes, which is why we provide additional floor and bedside lamps when a bit extra light is required.

FRIDGE
All fridges throughout the cottages are 210L, which is obviously smaller than what a larger family would have in their own home. We are happy that you found your replacement fridge more appropriate for your group.

SERVICING
We offer all guests fresh linen and towels mid way through week long stays. If guests decline the offer then we respect your wishes.
We are self catered accommodation and as such do not clean cottages during your stay however, we do stock them with provisions for you to freshen up the cottage.

LOCATION
We are sorry that you have misinterpreted our location, we understand this would have been disappointing if you were wishing for lake frontage.

We are located exactly where the google map on the TripAdvisor website has us placed. Our property is the pale rectangle at the marker point. Surrounded by the green area which is the Myall Lakes National Park. We offer a map on our website also giving the location of the cottages. We are near the lake - 2.5 km via road, and relatively close to the beach - 10 km via road.

KID FRIENDLY
When we are asked if we are 'kid friendly' we advise that we do have children of all ages stay at the property. We have mountain bikes, kayaks, garden, chickens, pool and a games room all of which the kids seem to enjoy and the large open grassed area near the solar panels on the property has been the site of a few 'backyard cricket' games.

However, we do state that we have several dams on the property and we are surrounded by bush so obviously we are subject to a few creepy crawlies, including snakes. Also for this reason we stipulate on the booking terms and conditions that children are supervised at all times on our property.

We provide the facts of the area and as we do not know the specific needs of your children we leave the very personal decision on whether our property is suitable for your family up to the parents.

On arrival we let guests know that it is best to stick to walking trails when bushwalking on our property or throughout the surrounding National Park. Snakes can sit off the edge of trails in wait for small prey. We like to give information to our guests on how to stay safe in the bushland of the area as we realise you may not be familiar with what precautions you should take in the bush. We have NEVER had any guests bitten by snakes whilst staying with us.

WATER
Our drinking water supply is filtered water from the rainwater tanks. If guests are concerned about drinking it we provide bottled water in the cottage on arrival with the option to refill this with pre boiled water at the 24hr reception kitchen.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the pool, games room and the spectacular beauty of the Myall Lakes area, and we hope we can welcome you and your family back some time in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed in the Bombah Point Eco Cottages for one night in November 2010. It is really quiet and a perfect place to get away from it all, or in our case, if you want to break up the drive from Sydney to Byron Bay. The cottages are relatively big and the fireplace is a really nice feature on a cold rainy Saturday evening. It is all very clean and the furniture looks new although nothing out of the ordinary. We borrowed some DVDs from the library and had a nice cosy night in at the fireplace while it was raining outside. Just a nice and cosy place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed at the cottages with my mother, and a friend and his mother for two nights at the end of September. The 4 hour drive up from Sydney takes you through beautiful bushland, and the cottages are nestled in a secluded spot of bushland.

The cottages are staffed by the couple who owns the property, and they are informative and knowledgable about the area. The cabins are very clean, and well designed, using a strong mixture of glass and timber, that brings in large amounts of light during the day. They are furnished by IKEA, but still are attractive.

After a number years of existence the cabin we stayed in managed to not show many signs of age. One issue was that of the poor the lighting in the cabins, which we found irritating in the nights during our stay. During our stay we really felt relaxed and away from it all.

Despite other guests being at the cottages, we had little interaction with them and the area was very quiet during all times of the day, which is what we wanted for our city break.

The cabins are a very short 5-10 minutes drive to the pristine Myall Lakes. The cottages loaned out kayaks for our use. Also in a short distance by car are the beaches of the Port Stephens area and some stunning sand dunes.

For a short city break these cottages are recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This palce was great. The cottages are beautiful and modern with large windows and balconies which place you right in the bush. There is plenty of space for the kids. Rob took us on a tour of the place to explain how the water is recycled and showed us the fantastic garden fed by the grey water system. Our child loved the chooks and native animals. The common areas were excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

These cottages are the perfect escape from city life. You are completely surrounded by nature in the most beautiful eco cottages that have absolutely everything you need for the perfect holiday for a couple or young family. We took our kayaks along and within 5 mins drive from the cottages we were paddling in the water on one of NSW's most pristine lake systems. It's also just a short drive away from the most amazing sand dunes! At the cottages you are spoiled with the accommodation which is really spacious, with great outdoor balconies with hammocks and are completely private from other cottages. The main reception has a pool, games room with pool table and lots of DVD's books and boardgames to borrow. You can do lovely walks on the extensive grounds and help yourself to the huge veggie patch which has everything from citrus fruits to pumpkins and delicious herbs. I should mention the amazing fresh eggs that we got from their chickens too every morning. A truly delightful place in every aspect - a true luxury eco experience!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bombah Point Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bombah Point Eco Cottages

Address: 969 Lakes Rd | Bombah Point, Myall Lakes National Park, New South Wales 2423, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Myall Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Myall Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed cottages, set on 100 acres of coastal bushland in the Myall Lakes, are only 2.5 hours from Sydney and are perfect for a getaway. Nestled privately amongst the trees, glass doors open to a wrap around veranda with bush and valley views, the perfect place for an evening BBQ or just laze in the hammock and listen to the birds as the sun sets through the trees.Bombah Point is surrounded by the Myall Lakes National Park, half way between the busy tourist hot-spots of Hawks Nest and Seal Rocks on the coast of New South Whales, 3 hours north of Sydney and 1 hour from Newcastle.Our boutique lodges are designed for privacy, comfort and to compliment the natural beauty of the area, with access to unpopulated beaches, tea tree lakes and majestic sand dunes within the adjacent national park.Six, self contained, eco-friendly, lodges on 100 acres, enjoy sunset from the verandah before grabbing some herbs from the permaculture gardens to complete your gourmet meal of local produce served under the stars. Then dip into your rainwater spa with a glass of bubbly or curl up in-front of the log fire.The property and surrounding national park is renowned for Bird watching, swimming, bushwalking, surfing, swimming, beaches, fishing, trekking, kayaking whale watching, diving and mountain biking.We cater for, weekends away, romatic escapes, couples, families birthdays, weddings, groups, business, mini-conferences, yoga & fitness retreatsThere are a range of excellent day trips to enjoy during your stay, from the picturesque country town of Bulahdelah 10minutes to the west, to the whale watching from the lighthouse at Seal Rocks and surfing at Blueys Beach or the majestic sand dunes near Mungo Brush and beaches around Hawks Nest. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombah Point Eco Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.