We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort to your Saves list
Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mill Beach, Banyandah Street, Durras, New South Wales 2536, Australia (Formerly EcoPoint Murramarang Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durras
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have only just got around to putting a review here, stay was in March 2013.

I went here with my Girlfriend for a bit of a holiday. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The cabins are fantastic (beach front spa villa) - truly top quality, the location is SUPERB, the Kangaroos are very friendly, the beach clean and very explorable and very close to Bateman's bay.

No faults at all - thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Would certainly consider coming back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    81
    39
    26
    20
See reviews for
164
66
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got home after spending a couple of nights at murramarang, we stayed in an ocean spa villa, the room was great, and the view from our deck was amazing
the weather wasn't too great, but their restaurant is really good, nice and warm with a nice menu to choose from
The staff were friendly and helpful,all in all we had a great time and will be back for another stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our children had been to Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort during the Summer holidays and spoke very highly of it so we thought that during May it would be a perfect place to spend a quite week . It was beautiful. Golden sand a clear blue ocean with blissful peace and quite. The cabin that we stayed in was comfortable and warm to counter the cool mornings and located just steps away from the waters edge. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. We are sure to go back, it was the place to go to get away from the city rat race.

Room Tip: A sunny weekend in the off season for peace and quite is the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I just had a weekend at Murramarang resort, staying in an ocean spa unit (the highest quality accommodation at the resort). The location was great, about 25 metres (perhaps less) from the water's edge. The two person spa was great. The bathroom has a two way mirror. You can lie in the spa and look out at the ocean (or up at the sky through the skylight) through the two way mirror but no-one can see in. Lying in bed (king size) at night and hearing the ocean was very relaxing. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Here's the problems I experienced. My ocean spa unit was getting a bit tired and needs some work. The mattress was most uncomfortable. It was like lying in a sack where all the weight gravitates to the centre of the mattress (not comfortable when two people are sharing the bed).
The television could only receive about half the standard free to air channels. The channels I could not view (such as the ABC) were "scrambled". The car park for my ocean spa unit (the furthest of the ocean spa units) was extremely tight and narrow. Parking my car there, particularly at night, was extremely challenging. The furniture in my unit was also a bit grotty.

Price wise they were OK.

If Murramarang renovates their ocean spa units I would highly recommend them.

Room Tip: Beware of the car park in the furthermost ocean spa unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This camping ground is set in a national park, just 20 minutes drive from Bateman's Bay, so provided a great stop off on a road trip from Melbourne to Sydney.

The ground itself is pleasant enough, with powered pitches. However, none of the water anywhere on the site (pitches, kitchens, toilets) seems to be drinkable - probably because of the herds of kangaroos doing their business all over. Great if you want to get up close and personal with the roos, but the novelty wears off pretty quickly! You can, however, ask staff at the on-site restaurant to get you drinkable tap water.

You have to pay for the showers ($1 for 6 minutes). Apparently this is to cover hot water, but there's no option to have a cold shower for free! Given that this site is around $10 more expensive per night than other places we had stayed in Victoria and NSW, we weren't impressed.

Free wifi is also advertised, although there is a 3-hour per day limit, which seemed to apply even though there weren't many people at the site when we stayed.

On the plus side - the site is located right next to some beautiful beaches and is the starting point for a number of fairly easy and pleasant walks through the surrounding national park.

There is a reasonably priced restaurant/bar on-site, next to a good sized swimming pool. The staff were also friendly and all of the communal facilities were all kept nice and clean. Make sure you stock up in Bateman's Bay or South Durras before bedding down on-site though - unless you're eating in the restaurant, there's only a VERY basic food shop in reception.

On the whole - worth a visit, just for the beaches, but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a dirty cabin we were allocated, a floater sent us into shock upon our arrival, after the long drive from Sydney we just wanted to relax with a nice glass of wine, the glasses had lipstick on them, the bed linen was dirty ( yellow stains ) I took one look at the chopping board and could here it growling at me, it was a party of bacteria with an all night DJ. The couch was stained, the floors so worn the varnish has not been seen for years. $4.50 for a coffee that was so bad we just chucked it out and drove into batemans bay for someone with some barista experience. the location is the best beautiful ! very beautiful, the grounds well kept.
A message for the management..............
its time to upgrade your cabins we expect better from a resort with so much potential, with the $900 we spent at least go and buy new kitchen equipment for the cabins, then move on to the bedding and for god sake get the carpets cleaned.
When you have upgraded & have a trained barista we will return to this wonderful location so please don't keep us waiting to long.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Such a beautiful location though these cabins are very dirty and run down, the furniture has deprecated to zero value the bed linen is stained, the carpet looks as if has never been cleaned. YUK what a grimy feeling we had all weekend. The coffee from the restaurant was just dirty water REVOLTING. Please someone give this management a training budget they need all the help they can get

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort

Address: Mill Beach, Banyandah Street, Durras, New South Wales 2536, Australia (Formerly EcoPoint Murramarang Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Durras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderful shades of pristine blue from the ocean at your doorstep. The towering spotted gum trees of the Murramarang National Park. The kangaroos that share the beach with you each morning and evening. This is life at NRMA Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort. Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort offers you the choice of over 70 villas. The majority of our accommodation features outdoor verandahs with many overlooking the calm, pristine waters of Mill Beach. We also cater for campers with 60 campsites ranging between unpowered, powered and ensuite sites. Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort is a one stop venue for conferences and groups. Our dedicated groups and conference coordinator can help organise all the details for your next conference or excursion. The resort is also the ideal location for a wedding, there are unlimited picture perfect locations to make your day truly fantastic. Fantastic accommodation packages offer you the chance to create the perfect wedding event, not just a wedding day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murramarang Beachfront Nature Hotel Durras
Ecopoint Murramarang Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.