We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most hopeful guys on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patrick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Patrick to your Saves list
Hotel Patrick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle el Fuerte, Juan Griego, Margarita Island, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Juan Griego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“One of the most hopeful guys on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Juangriego was our first stop in Margarita, and we're so glad that we opted to stay at Hotel Patrick. Juangriego is a sleepy fishing port and unlike other areas of Margarita, such as El Agua, it has a good range of restaurants that open at night. Michael, who runs Hotel Patrick, is a wealth of information about the island - the rough and the smooth - and we really enjoyed our days and evenings chatting to him in the this friendly, relaxed hotel. The rooms are generous and clean, the bar offers excellent security and there's a pool table, hammocks, free internet and a kitchen that guests can use, although we fired up the barby one evening for a few people. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to experience the real margarita, not a five star, all-inclusive hideaway.

Room Tip: Only one piece of advice, don't go for Room 1 as there's a rather vocal parrot outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    21
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
49
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were there with my wife. I liked this place with very frendly atmosphere. Mike and Carina are most funny people of this island.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Michael, the owner of this typical backpacker hotel, is great. He makes great cocktails (invented by himself) and is extremely helpful, much more than most. The only problem is that, when he is not there, everything collapses into chaos! We were given a room with no light in the bathroom (Michael wasn´t there when we arrived) - but it was fixed after a few hours. The free wi-fi is generally being used by the family or employees (they leave when asked, but it is annoying to always have to ask). Flat-screen TV in living space is probably the family´s. The cleanliness is just OK and the presence of a small child and her appurtenances doesn´t help. However, the place is comfortable and very reasonably priced. We were told that it is a party-place, but this only happened one night when we were there, and it was a small party! We had no problem with noise, even though the rooms were being done up while we were there. Position is great, near the beach and easy walk to shops. Michael will organise trustworthy transport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Good clean rooms, no amenities, free wifi, friendly staff, nice area, plenty of nearby restaurants, away from touristy areas, Nearest decent beach is a 20 minute taxi ride away, Patrick can help you arrange day trips and knows the island. But be aware that the loud music, sometimes live, would go on all night, once until 5AM, there was an occurrence where the owner got drunk, berated one of his employees in public and upset several of the guests. Spent about 2 weeks there, could use a good coat of paint and touch ups, especially the pillows were worn out, but then he could charge double for the rooms. Overall a good value

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElHotelPatrick, Manager at Hotel Patrick, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
I must confess that I was a bit bemused when I read this review from a guy from the States (Hi Sean) and his girlfriend. Nice folks - a bit reserved and they kept to themselves a lot, but very pleasant people all the same. Still, I was trying to figure out what was strange about this review, which makes it sound like our place is a raver venue. We have a 16 month old baby, so really, these days I personally try to get to bed early in the evening, compared to life before the baby arrived. So what was this about the music all night? And then it hit me. These guys were here over Christmas and the New Year!!!!! Of course there was music at nights - people were having a good time over the Christmas holidays. And the night when the live music went on until 5am was the night of 31st December!!!!!! Happy New Year. So come on Sean, I think that the picture you are painting of us is a bit unbalanced.

As for getting drunk one night - damn right I was, pissed as a fart. 1st January was my birthday, and what with the baby and the responsibilities of being a dad, I don´t often get the chance to go crazy these days. And it wasn´t a member of staff I was berating, it was an unwelcome and troublesome person in the bar (not a guest of the hotel) who had to be forcibly removed for causing offence to various members of staff. Sorry if I upset you folks, but that´s what happens when you have a bar - you have to deal with all kinds of tossers and sometimes you cannot always do it peacefully and quietly. Sorry if I shook you guys up a bit.

Now - amenities. We have a satellite TV with a vast DVD library of recent movies, a multi-language book library, free internet and wifi, a free pool table and we have just built a sun terrace and installed a swimming pool. And of course we have a decent Irish-style pub/bar. We have occasional live music and DJs. We run a travel agency and can book tickets and trips nationally and internationally. We can change money for you at a good exchange rate. Not bad for a small 10 room family hotel. So Sean, what did we not have that you needed?

As for the paint? yes, we are giving the place a bit of a repaint at the moment, it certainly needed it. Fair point. And the pillows? You were absolutely right - they are awful!!!! I didn´t realise: they are not really that old but I will certainly change them all over the next few weeks.

As Sean said, in the end I believe that our place is very good value for independent travelers and backpackers of all ages and nationalities. It is comfortable, friendly, clean and - most importantly for Venezuela - safe. And if you think the music is too loud, just ask a member of staff to turn it down a little!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you go to Isla de Margerita, stay at this hotel! The warmest welcome to Venezuela from the lovely Irish and Venezuelan owners really started it off nicely.

Great room, it had an AC and we could put a mosquito net up fairly easily. A good size and we felt really safe.

There were hammocks, a pool table (free), a sofa with tv and dvd collection, a bar stocked with a lot of Rum (poured very generously and for a very good price) and we were able to plan the next leg of our journey with Michael (the owner) who set us up to go to the Orinoco Delta to stay at an Eco Camp. There was a lady opposite the hotel who owned a restaurant, she cooked Venezuelan food which you could order to the hotel. We hadn't had any proper tastes of the typical Venezuelan food until that point. It was really beautiful.

We give our many thanks for their fantastic hospitality and we found it hard to top that hotel in the 4 months we traveled through South America.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

i loved my stay at Hotel Patrick. I even wrote a blog post about it :

http://www.danibisgoingnomad.com/hotel-patrick-review/

They are the nicest people, super helpful with anything you could possibly need, and the hotel itself is the perfect mix of hotel privacy and hostel community, and for hostel prices. There are private room, each with their own bathroom, which all open up onto a communal garden/bar area. The area is relatively safe (i mean, dont be a dumb, you are still in venezuela), but i would walk around down to the fisherman markets in the morning with my DSLR to photo without problems.

I loved Hotel Patrick and Mick and his family, and would love to go back and visit there again! I totally recommend this place!

Room Tip: just ask mick. anything you need, just ask. he is super nice and will help you however he can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I loved my stay at hotel patrick. I found the family very warm and friendly, extremely helpful and great when it came to helping us book trips and advice on local area. Very well looked after. Fun and welcoming with a great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers of all ages and interests. Had the best time ever!

Room Tip: ask for what you want. if its free, you'll get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Patrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patrick

Address: Calle el Fuerte, Juan Griego, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Juan Griego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Juan Griego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patrick 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Patrick is a beautiful, friendly, economical and informal 10-room hostel with a lively bar and cheap restaurant now owned by Michael - an Irish musician and filmmaker and his Venezuelan wife, Odalis. There's a free pool table and complementary Internet/WiFi access. It's just 20 meters from the sea, 2 minutes from the town centre shops and there's a gorgeous tropical garden. With 24-hour security and no curfew, it's a great place to relax and meet other travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Patrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Patrick Margarita Island, Venezuela - Juan Griego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patrick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.