We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baia do Sancho

Baia do Sancho
Fernando de Noronha, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Montevideo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Too good to be true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Going to Sancho is a must in Noronha. We went twice. First by boat since they told us the staircase was too difficult for our 5 year old daughter. It was great, we went diving and afterwards had a great lunch on the boat. We then went to the "Mirante" just to look and a park guard suggested it was not so difficult to go down. There are two "fire fighters" staircases (5 and 3 meters long) which are set in the rock and it is very steep but we made it and it was really worth diving in Sancho for a second time. We even saw a green turtle!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,981
    102
    7
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Everybody tells you that this is one of the best beaches of the world... and I think they are right. Beautiful water, controlled amount of tourism and incredible sealife.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wow, wow, wow! You just HAVE to go here to appreciate he beauty of this beach.

This beach is amazing. There are so many aspects of it that would make you want to visit it. Climbing down the cliff face is much easier than the reviews suggest, the two ladders are extremely secure and they break up the climb down and up - they should not put anyone off going to this beach, unless you are elderly or have a disability. However, these steps are the only way of getting here unless you go by boat.

We were on the island for 7days and went here 4 times, 3 by walking and once by boat. We loved Sancho every time we went and were amazed by the visibility in the water and the array of ocean life you can see.

A tip: Going by foot from 3pm onwards is the best time to go. There are very few people there at that time and by 4pm you will undoubtedly have he beach to yourself. Then go snorkelling - there are turtles and rays in abundance, both by the rocks to the right and (mainly) on the two rocks in the middle of the sea. There are even dolphins passing by further out. The boat trip we visited the bay on was good, however it was in the morning and there were 3 other boats there and so it was full of people snorkelling - too cramped and scaring away the sea life. Go late afternoon by foot and you'll have an amazing time :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful Brazilian's beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When planning to go to Sancho's beach, be smart and enjoy the other attraction nearby, since they begin in same visitor's center. The cliff offer you an amazing sight seem so don't forget to bring your camera!! If you descend the cliff to the beach, remember to bring water, and food if you plan to stay a couple of hours. Down there you won't find nothing but raw nature. The wave could be really strong, so pay attention to them. In general it's calm and fun!
At the top of de cliff you can go to Dolphin's trail or 2 Irmãos Mount's belvedere. At the trail you can see many mabuia (small lizards) and Mocó (small rodent) over the rocks.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It lives up to the title "The Best Beach" in Brazil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Simply put, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Either for snorkelling or relaxing, Sancho is one of the most beautful places you will be able to visit in noronha. It lives up to the title of "The Best Beach in Brazil"

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baia do Sancho also viewed

Praia dos Carneiros, Tamandare
Fernando de Noronha, PE
 
Fernando de Noronha, PE
Fernando de Noronha, PE
 

Been to Baia do Sancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia do Sancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.