We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it seems to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Sao Vicente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Grande Sao Vicente to your Saves list
Casa Grande Sao Vicente
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Gustavo Carneiro AB2 | Loteamento do Corais do Arraial, Arraial d'Ajuda, State of Bahia 45816-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Arraial d'Ajuda
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not what it seems to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Above all fueled by Tripadvisor reviews, we took a chance and went to Arraial d'Ajuda, which is a one and a half hour trip from the Porto Seguro airport. The taxi is rather expensive, when travelling with few luggage it may compensate to go by bus or change taxi at the ferry.

On first sight, the pousada (it's not what you call a hotel in the States) is marvellous: A beautiful garden with impressive palm trees of various types, pineapples and so on. The house itself boasts intricate details and reminds of Portuguese colonial style in many aspects, although the interior is lined with more modern art. The rooms are big enough for a couple. We especially liked the terrace. The horizon pool gives view over the distant ocean.

But that's also where the rainbow ends: Where the fence in front of the pool is of rather cosmetic nature, the omission that you have to walk half a mile to get to the nearest beach is grave. Even graver as there are some really steep steps to be covered, as the pousada is situated atop a cliff. Fortunately, the lighting along the up/downhill path worked at night. But for the not so sportive, in every sense a no go! At least I would like to know about it beforehand. Also, they keep a big dog (a German shepherd, I think) which crossed our ways not only once - not so nice when you are dead-scared of dogs or have an allergy. On second sight, the interior of the rooms wasn't so sparkling anymore. The mosquito nets covering the fourposter were so broken that they were useless.

The service was ok overall. Breakfast was a bit on the light side, for a Brazilian breakfast, few variety was offered and when we arrived after 9 am one morning, the good bits were gone. Lunch and dinner looked simple and homemade, but my partner and I didn't have our share, we preferred to eat out.

All in all, we enjoyed the building and our room, but given the high expectations and the steep bill, were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

It is one of the places you will always remember, a lovely replica of a Portuguese colonial house. The collector's items and bespoke decorative elements that make up its furnishing, the lovely outdoor area with pool, coupled with the hospitality of the French owner and his team will guarantee you a memorable stay. One of the places you are sure to revisit. You might want to ask the owner to arrange rent-a-car services for you as the villa is out of town, which will make your stay even more interesting. You will have access to all the beaches of the area that way.

Room Tip: get the ocean-view room with a big veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

If you're tired of all the overpriced hotels along the Brazilian coast that promise the world in their adds and deliver just enough to keep you from instantly leaving, then the Casa Grande might just be the perfect place for you as well:

We (couple around 30) stayed there for three nights and wish we could have stayed forever. The house was built a couple of years ago in the style of a Portugese colonial Villa and the owners made sure that every detail is perfect.

It is a rather small place (6 rooms) and the owners make you feel right at home from the very moment you enter the huge entry hall. They cook marvellous food, make sensational caipirinhas and have a decent selection of wine (one of the owners is French...). And all this at an unmatched price/performance ratio.

Before we arrived we were a bit skeptical as this hotel isn't right at the beach (there is a 500m path that takes you there). But once we were there we quite enjoyed being able to sunbathe until the beach was in the shade, hike back up and enjoy 2 more hours of sun at the pool.

This was the nicest place we stayed in a long time and we highly recommend anyone to go there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzios, RJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

After five nights here we felt very relaxed and well taken care of. The house and the room were beautiful and so peaceful. There is a big garden and a veranda with comfortable sofas where you can sit and overlook the sea and the pool area or just hang out with a book.

The man who makes you feel so good is Hudson, the guy who works all the time but always has a big smile on his face. He doesn't speak much English, but by using poor Portuguese and your bodylanguage you will for sure understand each other. He is so kind and helpful and will do anything for your satisfaction. Just like it should be.

We have been travelling for almost three months and now love the fact to just relax and feel that you don't have to experience everything that's possible at each place so we spend a lot of time at the hotel. There are beaches and a lot of beach restaurants close by.

To get here they will offer you a transfer from the airport or the busstation for 120 reais. We thought this was very expensive and choosed to take a taxi at the busstation instead. We paid 85 reais. But Hudson told us that we did get a really cheap price so I don't know. Still there are taxis at the busstation so if you are a good negotiator it won't be any problem. The thing to remember is that you have to take a ferry so that might be the reason why it's so expensive.

We ate many dinners and lunches at the hotel, and the food is really good, and healthy. There are not to much to choose from but you can always ask them to fix something else (atleast we could when we were a bit tired of fish :) The breakfast is also really good!

Go here and have a peaceful and great time!

If we should bring up some negative sides it all happened before we arrived. I don't really know who we were in contact with (a guess the owner, Vincent, him self) but this person was not very helpful. He/she didn't answer the questions that we asked and for example told us that if we didn't used their tranfer the only opption was mototaxi. So we did book a transfer that never arrived so after 30 minutes we took one of the taxis at the bus station (of which existence we asked him 3 times with no answer). Also, if you are unlucky the neighbours at the hotel next door will make a lot of noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I have spent one of the best carnaval of my life at this hotel. I´ve been there with 5 couple of friends and several children. No, it is not a typical crowded brazilian carnaval. It is a calm place, no noise at all, confortable, elegant and beatiful. It is a space hotel with only 6 rooms, very well treated and decorated. There is a swimming pool with a tremendous view to the sea. You can also down the hill and go to the beach. The staff is professional and Mr. Hudson makes you feel as you are in your own home. You can for example order special dinners as you wish, just asking them to plan and prepare. Good internet access by wireless. You can also visit a number of incredible beaches within that region, about 30-40 min far away.
Ah, every night you could also go to the tradicional brazilian carnaval and drink a curaçao blue, but don´t forget that you will have to mount the hill back to the hotel. it is up to you!
I wish to be back there soon.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The place is amazing. Service was excellent. We had personalized breakfast and dinner. We only regret we did not have dinner every night there! Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

All the charm of yesterday with all the up-to-date confort in the best location at Arraial d?Ajuda.
The must: the sunrise and the meals at the balcony with superb view over the garde, the poll and the see!
Casa Grande São Vicente is so confortable that you easly forget all other programs to do do outside the house.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Sao Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Sao Vicente

Address: Alameda Gustavo Carneiro AB2 | Loteamento do Corais do Arraial, Arraial d'Ajuda, State of Bahia 45816-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Arraial d'Ajuda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arraial d'Ajuda
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Arraial d'Ajuda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arraial d'Ajuda
#6 Family Hotel in Arraial d'Ajuda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Grande Sao Vicente 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa Grande de São Vicente is a charming house located on the top of cliff giving on the Beach of Parracho and Pitinga in Arraial d'Ajuda, on a total ground of 5.526 m2, where the good taste and comfort are completely allied. We are to 150 m of the beach of Parracho, with a direct access since the hotel by privative staircases (5 minutes by foot). The privileged situation makes it possible our hosts to benefit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Grande Sao Vicente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Sao Vicente Arraial D'Ajuda, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Sao Vicente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.