We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacations in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme to your Saves list
Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Praia 1800 - Pitinga Beach, Arraial d'Ajuda, State of Bahia 45816000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Arraial d'Ajuda
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vacations in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Having visited no less than a dozen different beaches in Brazil over more than one decade, we can tell you that the raving reviews for this place are justified: this is the charming and cozy experience you expect from a Brazilian pousada (this means a more relaxed, laid back style than a hotel, with a much more personal attention -which is not always the case). The owners, Vinicius and Andrea, are there all the time making you feel truly at home (here's to Vinicius' delicious, home brewed cachaca, just to mention a detail). We stayed in March '12: the setting is very beautiful, right on the beachfront, in the quiet part of Pitinga beach, which feels here like your own private one (i.e. no nearby beach bars playing axé music or the like, so this is very much a hotel for those of the relaxing type), yet walking distance from downtown (though you'll need a car or take a taxi to get there in the evenings) and from different types of beaches, from the more crowded to the peaceful ones. The garden and pool are gorgeous, rooms are placed in houses in the garden, and some of them are on a lush-green small hill where you wake to the song of birds every morning (check before booking, it was great for us, but going up and down three or four stony staircases several times a day may not be for everyone). If anything, double rooms are a bit on the smallish side -though this was not a big problem, the common areas are so comfortable you may spend the whole day from the garden to the beach and to the pool. All in all, they make you feel so welcome and comfortable that the only sad part of it all is having to get back home!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinicius_privillage, Owner at Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear friends, thank you for all these kind words. We keep trying to improve. all time. in those aspects we find possible, with the help, of course, of guests who call our attention to that, as you did, although so kindly forgiving our faults and scoring us another home run!
People like you are never difficult to please! You came ready to enjoy, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    20
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
86
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brugg, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We visited this magnificent Pousada in late January 2011 (not 2012). It was time to chill out after a cold dull winter in Switzerland.
When you arrive, you will find the ambience is truly what you expect after viewing the website. Vinicius and Andrea have created a wonderful little haven here. Simply enjoy:

- relaxing on the ocean deck of the pousada... imagine being Chabral when he discovered Brazil 500 years ago

- long beach walks along the beach to the right,the further you go, the more deserted it becomes

- romantic evening meals at the Pousada or at one of the other Pousada restaurants with an ocean beach front

- bathing in the warm coral reef pools when the tide is out

- the bustling night life in Arraial d'Ajuda

Have fun, hope you enjoyed it as much as we did...

We'll be back, our offspring too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinicius_privillage, Owner at Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Google Translation
Obrigado, N., pelas lindas palavras sobre a pousada... Estou respondendo agor, uma semana depois de termos tido aqui o seu filho com a namorada... Ficmos felizes de saber que eles também gostaram. Estamos sempre às ordens, para quando desejarem nos dar este prazer... Obrigado também pelas fotos, cada uma mais bonita do que a outra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I travel a lot and this "pousada" is now on my top list. Privillage is about 15 minutes away from downtown Arraial d'Ajuda, sitting right on the beachfront, in an exquisite setting. A lot of attention was paid to the details in the rooms and throughout the external areas. The landscaping is amazing, with coconut trees, mango trees, etc.

But perhaps the major plus here is the service and attention given by Andrea and Vinicius, the owners. And the food. Ahhh, the food. Every meal is a magnificent experience. Vinicius is a "food researcher" and it truly shows on the dishes they serve. This location is a must for people who appreciate a peaceful place, excellent food and good company. AAA+.

Room Tip: Choose one with the external varanda and if possible an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinicius_privillage, Owner at Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Google Translation
Obrigado, Luís, por estas gentis palavras... continuaremos fazendo o possível para merecê-las!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We are an older, very active couple who spent a week in the incredibly beautiful Privillage Pousada. We stayed in a reasonably priced standard room with a garden view overlooking a well-tended colorful paradise of fruit trees and flowers. Bird songs and breezes were the accompanied music to our comfortable lodging with hammock and view.
The beautiful garden setting surrounded a lovely pool and several lounge areas with comfy couches and a restful sunken lounge with artistic tile work and attention to details.
We ate at several restaurants in the nearby town but our first choice was always to eat gourmet home cooked fresh meals at the Pousada. The breakfast is a large selection of delicious local fruits and fresh squeezed juices, many incredible sweet pastries and cakes, and of course, eggs and cereals. The friendly staff, and owners (Vinicius and Andrea) were especially helpful to our different food requests (vegetarian, and child friendly menu) and also intervened to clarify language difficulties.
The ocean in front of the pousada has a reef so the swimming and wave playing were fun and safe. There are miles and miles of pristine beach to walk, run, and experience Brazil and the friendly people we met.
We are very well -traveled and the Privillage Pousada is on the top of our list for the best experience we've ever had. One day we hope to return as there is so much more to explore in a true paradise with people that try to give you the best of everything!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinicius_privillage, Owner at Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
What can we say, facing so nice words? We had a nice time sharing your family, your son, his wife and kids! And your healthy way of living, an example for us. Please come again - this time I'll force you into an irrefusable dish of real meat!! (rss)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Privillage Pousada was one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed. The Brazilian owners Vinicius and Andrea have really created a paradise. The place is a little magical garden literally right on a beautiful beach. The grounds are covered in flowers, mango, papaya, coconut, and cashew trees. There are two nice outdoor living rooms to stay in the shade, or out of the rain. The pool is very nice looking over the ocean. The restaurant is a cool thatched roof hut, and the food is great - always made fresh and from scratch. They were very accomodating of our specific requests. The breakfast is highlighted by an abundance of fresh beautiful fruits. Our days were spent rotating from the beach, pool, and restaurant, and we rarely had any need to go into town (which was a nice 15 minute walk along the beach). The staff were great, all with great smiles, super friendly, and quick to take care of any request. Most importantly, from the moment we arrived, and Vinicius greeted us with a shot of his own Cachasa, the owners really made us feel welcome and we were treated like like family (or even better :-)). We spent many moments in great conversation with homemade coconut drinks, and always felt like they were doing everything to make our visit as perfect as possible. We have new friends in Vinicius and Andrea, and all of us can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinicius_privillage, Owner at Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you and your family, Lowan! I just responded a nice review from your parents, we're delighted with so many gifts in the shape of words! I know it is a long way from Oslo to this world end, but we will be more delighted, for sure, when you and your lovely family come to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

I stayed there for one night only, after canceling 1 night (working as an air crew, we had schedule change, and the owner was nice enough to not charge us anything for the cancelation, even though we notified him only a day before).
The location is at the far end of the village, a little far from the center, but other than that- just perfect. Overlooking the ocean, among trees and a dining room with the ocean view. What can you ask more?
Rooms are a little small but cozy with a hammock in the porch.
The owner is a great conversation gentleman and he even arranged to get us to the village with his driver instead of a taxi. The food at dinner was very tasty as it was a local dishes, like I asked. I recommend this place very much!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinicius_privillage, Owner at Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello Captain, I hope you're well! I wish to thank you for the kind words and hope to see you again , since you can cross about this world in just a few hours!
Give my best wishes to our friend Frank, from whom I'm still waiting for the review in TripAdvisor... Please remember that the small cozy rooms you had( 1 for each single pax) were the only we had to offer by that occasion... and, although they are indeed the smallest in the hotel, they're 22 m² or 211 sq feet. After all, in this beautiful place what one wants less is to stay in his room, isn't it?
It has been very nice to have you both here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The gracious owners have carefully created a garden oasis on this Arraial d’Ajuda beach, just meters from the famous Pitinga beach. They tastefully designed and built the dining room, outdoor living room, pool decks with cabana, and pousada rooms with natural materials and details. At breakfast, the homemade cakes and fresh juices were first class, and one could order eggs as well. Their staff was friendly and helpful. The owners even incorporated eco-friendly rain, gray, and black water systems into their landscape. I do recommend them for a quality vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme

Address: Rua da Praia 1800 - Pitinga Beach, Arraial d'Ajuda, State of Bahia 45816000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Arraial d'Ajuda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Arraial d'Ajuda
#2 Family Hotel in Arraial d'Ajuda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arraial d'Ajuda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pit stop of excellence.It takes a jeux de mots (privilege+village) to define this gorgeous Villa, hugged by the Atlantic Rain Forest, with a design transparent to that of Arraial d' Ajuda. It is situated on Pitinga's Beach, protected by coral reefs,which form natural pools and a lake in the sea that nobody gets tired contemplating. Privillage Praia, simple and sophisticated, cozy, charmy without affectation or axé music, lies encrusted on the forest, with the ocean at its feet: the place is just beautiful… You wake up near the beach just in time for jogging or diving before the breakfast. DISTANCE TO THE CENTER OF TOWN: 2 KM. Don't worry about your children: your family suite is just close by! You will spend the day on the beach, take a siesta at any time and when evening comes, go to Arraial's heighs in order to enjoy town's hush and fuss. That's the best way to take advantage of your day. When you get back home all concerns will be far away. A superb restaurant exclusive for guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Privillage Praia Pousada De Charme Arraial D'Ajuda, Bahia, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Privillage Praia Pousada de Charme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.