We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best hotel in Izamal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Rye, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hands down best hotel in Izamal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I arrived in picturesque Izamal at sunset and began to check out the top rated hotels. The main hotel just off the city square (Archangel Michael) was recently renovated but the main square is very busy and noisy throughout much of the evening. Next stop was Macan Che, nice individual bungalos, which had not seen room improvements in probably 20 years. Our target was Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo - based on other reports and as winner of the TripAdisor Gold Award for 2012. We were sure glad we went just a couple blocks outside the main town - as Santo Domingo is by far the best hotel and deal in Izamal. This is a deluxe hotel situated on a working ranch. Very unique quiet and calming setting. All rooms are just two years old and incorporate both modern convenience and local charm. Costs are comparable with other local rates - but the value is far superior. We bumped up to the Junior Sweet - for just $100 USD per night. This would compare to $250 room anywhere else! Large master suit set up a level above an ample living room area with a.c. and large conversation pit sectional set up to enjoy cable t.v. Separate toilet room, step up vanity area, another separate main show that is just off an indoor garden shower where you can look out at the garden or up at the stars. All rooms including the Junior Suit are very secluded and quiet and do not view other rooms.

The grounds are perfect for relaxing with many mature flowering trees and plants. The full complimentary breakfast is served at the outdoor dining area. Terrific offering and ambiance. There is a huge pool that is great for cooling off and enjoying the scenery - which is handily right next to the outdoor Bamboo Bar - a great place to have a drink or learn more about this fascinating area from the most knowledgeable owners Harald and Sonia. Harald has lived in the Yucatan for 30 years (originally from Austria) and has had properties in many locales. Great resource for learning more about buying property and living in this part of the world. Sonia is from Acapulco and brings an urban sensibility to the experience. They are both excellent cooks - and their restaurant is deservedly ranked as the best in Izamal. They saved us one evening when we had not planned ahead for dinner, and they graciously offered for us to share dinner with them. Normally they ask for guests to advise in advance when wishing to dine at the hotel.

Bottom line - this romantic destination hits a home run on every level. Far and away the best setting, accommodations, hosts and deal in Izamal!

Greg and Cindy
Rye, CO,USA

Room Tip: Definitely check out the Junior Suite - one of the best values in all the Yucatan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    24
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
134
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

very beautiful and pleasent stay at this hotel :) have been there with friends in september 2012. great owners-couple, super nice food, i liked everything there. the cuisine is fantastic, the garden and overview is nice as well

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a great place to stay. We were doing some house hunting and the property owner recommended this hotel. The room we had was truly a one of a kind, a raised King size bed, lounge area with TV and AC and a garden tub screened above and open to nature plus a separate shower with hot water. Sounds simple enough but many of the features are not available elsewhere. Plus the owner, Harald , is onsite , tri-lingual so we picked his brain for as much info on living nearby. as he could offer, and he filled our heads with great info. He was such a gracious host and his meals cooked with his wife, Sonia, were delicious and reasonably priced.

The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained , the pool and bar area stunning. It has such a private feel yet it is a 30 acre hidden jungle retreat close to town.

We loved the town of Izamal especially this hotel. We really appreciated all the owner's time and attention, he made us love the area even more. We were treated like royalty,as if we were the only guests , it was hard to imagine the place was nearly full.

We would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel and hope we can go back soon. Our biggest regret is we had only 2 nights to stay there, would have loved to have been able to stay longer.. We have stayed in many other countries and now count this as our favorite hotel for all around pleasure. And lest we forget the bed was so comfortable, best hotel bed by far.

Room Tip: beyond excellent! The owners make a superb unique hotel even better. You are more of a guest at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is situated in a very quiet and romantic place. It is well kept and looks clean and fresh. The owner, his wife and the staff are very friendly and helpfull people. The food (diner as well as breakfast) they prepare is delicious and made with fresh ingredients! The room was lovely and the bed is one of the best we had in Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the celebration of our anniversary. The host and staff speak English as well as Spanish and German. They presented the best reception and friendly, attentive service that any traveler could hope for. It was romantic for sure with gentle surprises every day, like looking out the window to see a baby sheep grazing in the lawn in front of the porch or flights of various birds flying over the pool as we soaked in comfort and a true feeling of luxury. The room offered air conditioning, a selection of CDs for music and was simply outstanding, converted from historic buildings on site when the property was purchased and providing one of the best bathing and showering areas that I have ever enjoyed. The included breakfast to order was served each morning and a special dinner was offered at a reasonable price and quietly served in the evening.
Though the feeling was of living in the Yucatan jungle, the walk into and through the Pueblo of Izamal was comfortable and enjoyable, the visit there to the oldest Spanish mission in North America was informative and easy (guide recommended) and the food and beverages, typical Yucatecan, were delicious at both of the restaurants we visited.

Room Tip: Reserve in the shoulder season and ask the host for an upgrade. All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We travelled an extra hundred miles from Merida to again experience the feel and excellence of this hotel, pet the dogs and have great food and libations with the owners. We got the same room at the end of the built out property and in the middle of jungle, with fan palms and other trees all around and multicolored tropical flowes all around. I am an early riser and went out on our deck at 630AM or so to listen to the jungle waking up and see the sunrise. Soon the hostess came with coffee and then, a full breakfast included, whatever you want. My wife slept another hour, then we both ate and drank coffee. A perfect place for intimacy and reflection. We will always come back. A plus, we had a very intelligent and spirited conversation with a visiting Frenchman and his wife who gave us a good insight into the fierce feelings that Europeans have about the continuing economic crisis and the recent French elections. This was a great two night stay with great food, wine and reasonable price. Pool was aplus.

Room Tip: Get the last room with deck to jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I've stayed at Romantic Santo Domingo before, so I knew what to expect, except the new room I stayed in this time had a bathroom that was out of this world. Now I know that a bathroom is not a reason to stay at a hotel, but sometimes the little things make all the difference in the world. I felt like was staying in a $600 a night bathroom - the sunken outdoor jungle shower with its stone walls and floors was beautiful. The rainwater shower was just perfect! The rest of the room was clean, and charmingly decorated, but when I entered the bathroom, I was in another world. I was there in April and the weather was perfect, not too cold or hot, so showering underneath the stars was a complete joy. I think the breakfasts have gotten better since I was there last and that was a treat since I enjoy my breakfasts. I like it when a place I like anyway just gets better. Kudos to the owners, Harald and Sonjia. I'll come back again.

Room Tip: I don't know the name of the room, but the room with the fabulous bathroom is the furthest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.