We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I truly came to rest in this great designed hacienda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Sacnicte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Sacnicte to your Saves list
Hacienda Sacnicte
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Carretera a Tekal de Venegas Km. 5, Izamal 97541, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I truly came to rest in this great designed hacienda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Hacienda Sacnicte was recommended by my sister who works as a tailor made travel agent Tico in the Netherlands.
She couldn´t be more spot on. The old hacienda is beautifully restored but the main features are the owners. They make the place. Great rooms, super service and the most personal touch during our round trip on the Yucutan Peninsula.

The only thing that could be improved was the water pressure coming from the showers. But hey, I didn´t care when I was relaxing with my cerveza near the pool after coming back from the beautiful city of Izamal.

This hacienda can be used as a base for trips to Chichen Itza and even Uxmal.

When we checked out, we had a car wash and a hug from the owner. Where do you find that these days?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We were traveling in Yucatan with a few friends, we went to see Chichen Itza, we were very tired and it was late, and someone told us to drive about 40 minutes to Izamal"pueblo magico", and we would find a european/mexican hacienda, very hip. We were not very convinced because we are young and we wanted dancing and fun, but we went there anyway. First of all they welcomed us with a very good cocktail and fresh towels with Lavander smell, and we had fresh fish and homemade pasta, the owner is italian and taught the kitchen to make european plates. The music was like lounge from New York, where my friends came from. We slept in really cosy beds with high ceilings and my room was all purple and was named tulip. Big surprise in the morning, we had fresh croissants and asked us if we wanted turkey, and how we are all american we wanted and loved it. We went to be lazy at the pool all day, and just chilled, and drank strawberry champagne, and at night we went to the see the magic event "light and sound", from the 1500s. we ended up staying there for three days, we recommend it to all.
At the end we asked for all the cds, becuase they were so cool...!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Style and Sophistication in the Yucatan. We found the Hacienda Sacnicte to be an amazing mix of a classic old hacienda but updated to today´s standards. The location is perfect to see the old Mayan ruins as well as the historic cities of Izamal and Merida. But you hate to leave the hacienda because it is so comfortable. Great food, great hospitality and the atmosphere is enchanting. This is the way to see Yucatan.

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We have stayed with Nadia and Pilipe at Mata Chica in Belize and love everything about it.
We are just as impressed with the Hacienda. WOW.
Can't wait to get back for a stay. They have done it again, it's a special place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We'd never heard of Izamal but we knew if Nadia and Philippe, founders of Mata Chica in Belize, had chosen this spot for their hacienda it had to be special. We were not disappointed.

The quaint City of Izamal, washed in pale yellow, with horse drawn "taxis" and warm smiling faces welcomed us. The smiles broadened when we mentioned Hacienda Sacnicte, eagerly pointing us to the "Hacienda Sacnicte" signs through the narrow streets lined with waving children and flower vendors.

In no time we were on the steps of this shining gem, our luggage whisked away and a delicious welcome cocktail in hand. This was just the beginning of an amazing 4 day stay where we were pampered with exotic spa treatments, ate scrumptious meals and relaxed in massive hammocks a stone throw from the inviting pool.

Congratulations Nadia and Philippe - you have once again provided a unique escape where every detail is attended to in seamless harmony.

Selfishly, we would like to keep this "the Yucatan's best kept secret" to our selves, but know this is impossible!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

A group of friends and I recently travelled to Hacienda Sacnicte. We had been to Mata Chica Resort in Belize a few years ago. We heard that the original owners, Philippe and Nadia, restored a hacienda in Izmal, Mexico. We had to go. We booked 3 rooms. What a stunningly beautiful place in this small quaint "yellow" town. Perfect service, advise on tours, food. Bravo!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Traveling has a single man, I was looking to discover a part of Mexico that was less tourist and more like we would imaging Mexico 200 years ago. I was told about the city of Izamal. Their history dates back to the Mayans and into the 15th Centry by the Spaniards to today.
I had the good fortune to also discover a very special oasis Hacienda Sacnicte. This boutique hotel made my 4 day stay a dream. From the food to the ambiance was an amazing pleasant surprise to find in this very accident city. What a great mix.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Sacnicte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Sacnicte

Address: Carretera a Tekal de Venegas Km. 5, Izamal 97541, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Sacnicte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Sacnicte (white flower) is a truly unique, contemporary, luxurious, hip and secluded resort.To strike the balance between the 17th century and today, Philippe & Nadia have created an unforgettably serene atmosphere, to offer you a new reality of sophisticated vacations to spend with your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hacienda Sacnicte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Sacnicte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.