We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is wonderful. Hotel seems like it is on the Up and Up.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels to your Saves list
Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwell, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Staff is wonderful. Hotel seems like it is on the Up and Up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have to say the hotel is in a great location. Close to everything but no noise at night. The AC works once it gets warmed up. Beds are about as hard as they can get, but are clean and housekeeping does a great job. On a side note, just be aware that toilet paper goes in the trash can, not in the toilets. Have had it before but heard no mention of it before arriving.

There were me and my girlfriend and her 15 year old daughter so we picked the Ideal studio since the website said it sleeps 4ppl. Once arriving you can see it definitely can NOT sleep 4 people. I went and spoke to Ivan who was extremely helpful throughout the entire trip and he agreed that the website had led me astray. After looking at the size of the other rooms we did end up staying in the Ideal room since you could squeeze a third in better than the other rooms. We enjoyed this room, but the kitchenette set up was pretty useless for us minus the fridge. I did feel very safe and can not say enough about Ivan and Roberto. They are a great asset to the hotel and I hope management understands that.

Since the first night I stayed they have changed the Ideal room to 2ppl max on the website which is more appropriate. I would recommend this property but just be prepared for a firm bed and your room to take a little time to cool down. Other than that the pool is a nice addition and the water is calm and a great temperature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    125
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
67
186
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mono, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The price - The best deal in my opinion, I don't think there was anything else we needed from the hotel.
The location - We could see the ocean lying bed out one window and the pool out the other, need I say more? But there is more... It's minutes to the square with all the restaurants and bars but far enough away from the the main dock.
The staff - Ivan, always friendly and helpful, right down to getting us ice for our cooler!
The cleanliness of the rooms - the sweet cleaning lady/girl always did a great job. Not one single cockroach all week (they ever cover the shower drains)We felt so safe there we didn't even bother locking ANYTHING in our safe and left everything (money, phones, passports, iPad) lying around without incident (not that I recommend this and you're probably thinking we're stupid but I knew it wouldn't be an issue)
The beach and grounds - Always immaculate! The gardeners/groundskeepers out there first thing in the morning raking the beach, wiping the chairs and so on, without disturbing any sleeping in!
However, this island isn't for everybody. It's very rustic and au naturel which is why I fell in love with it, that and all the fresh fish! There's not much to do but relax (at least when we were there because we were too early for whale sharks, too hot for biking and kite boarding schools were closed :-(
All in all one of my best vacations in a while!

Room Tip: We had the the Vision room on the ground floor. We chose it for the bar fridge, the hammock (which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Holbox Dreams is great! The rooms are clean, attractively decorated (although minimal with furnishings) and comfortable. There is not much room to store belongings but you don't spend much time in there. The pool is in the courtyard and the beach is steps away from that. The hotel is convenient to town. While we were there, Ivan and Favian were there. They helped us with everything we needed--truly wonderful. Holbox is amazing and

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a weekend on Isla Holbox and stayed at this lovley quint little hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The plunge pool was a nice refreshing place, and you can walk down the beach both ways for miles.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back behind the pool sere very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We absolutely loved the island and this hotel! It was a great size, which gave it a wonderful friendly feel that was complimented by the brilliant staff who work there. Yvan and Fabien were brilliant hosts - nothing was too much trouble! The location was also great - right on the beach, and a short walk to the main square on the island. Couldn't recommend highly enough, and we hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family has been going to Holbox for 8 years during our children's spring break. This is the second time we have stayed at Holbox Dream Hotel.

The hotel was recently put under a new management company (in 2013) and it is a welcome change. The new staff is warm, friendly, extremely helpful and very connected with the island community. Bottom line, we give the staff an A+.

The rooms are well kept, clean and adequate for the style and culture of this island.
Note that Holbox is a very laid back island. If you are looking for a fancy resort or a spring break party town, this is not the place.

We also believe that this is an ideal location. On the beach and easy to reach town.

We will be back!

Room Tip: The deluxe ocean view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Holbox Dream Hotel in March 2013 with our two kids, mother in law and brother in law and family. We loved it. It was beautiful. Really nice rooms. Very clean and decorated tastefully. Very comfortable. Air conditioning and fans, and little balconies or porches. The pool was perfect. The service was friendly and very helpful. It was also located very conveniently to the town, restaurants and shops, as compared to many of the other hotels that were further away. Finally, you just walk out to the beach to take a swim or collect magnificent shells. Couldn't recommend more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwell, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holbox Dream, a place where time ceases to exist and the colors of the Carribbean Sea meet the calm waters of the Mexican Gulf. Named after the lifetime vision of the proprietors, Holbox Dream, portrays the image of a very comfortable hotel associated with heavenly scenarios.A mere 20 minutes boat ride from Chiquila Harbor will take you to a tropical escape that offers a stress free environment kissed by the sun, its white sand and shells of all kind. Enjoy 17 rooms with sea view, divided in 3 categories, pool and beach club. Enjoy suculent meals prepared with local seafood and an italian touch at Casa Nostra Restaurant - Holbox. Holbox Dream is a proud member of Xperience Hotels Collection, characterize by the "Infinite hospitality" service and philosophy. Xperience paradise as a dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbox Island Dream Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Dream Hotel by Xperience Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.