We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty beach, milky pool and few sunbeds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Dream Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holbox Dream Hotel to your Saves list
Holbox Dream Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwell, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very dirty beach, milky pool and few sunbeds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

I was a bit disappointed but might have had wrong expectations. On the positive side is location on the beach, clean nice rooms which are quiet. The service manager is nice and friendly and you can easily walk to the centre of the city. But, due to special weather I believe the beach was black from seaweed and smelled really bad. The water was super dirty at least 50 meters out so swimming was pretty much not possible, and your swimwear smelled a lot like fish after dipping:) there were nice tanning chairs but only some had cushions and they were all taken really fast in the morning. The hotel pool was very shallow and milky in the water so never went in. The hotel has no bar so if you want refreshments they are brought from a bar two blocks away which takes some time. I guess we hit a bad period for the hotel and for Holbox because it was far from the picture we had imagined. We left early to playa del Carmen which despite being VERY touristy offers clean pools and sunny beaches, as we like it:)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    102
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
59
162
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Maybe the biggest advantage of Holbox Dream is that is a bit at the edge of the busiest part of the beach. So there are no fishing boats lying in the sea in front of the hotel. The rooms are big, very clean and nicely build around a small swimming-pool. Since Isla Holbox is so small, it's only a 10 minute walk to the "city centre". The staff is helpful, but we sometimes had one guy who didn't really seem to understand English, so he always said "yes" and when we checked out he completely miscalculated our hotel price (which was paid in advance). He always needed to chat to somebody, probably the hotel owner, what to do. So everything was solved quickly. Holbox is a nice island, and the trip to the whale sharks is one of the "coolest" things on yearth you can do ! But while these big, 10 meter long shark are so friendly - it's those damn tiny mosquitos who are extremely furious ! Really incredible. On the first evening we went out withou repellant: big, big mistake. As soon as we ordered our meal at the nearby restaurant, we were attacked and before we got repellant from our room, I already had more than 30 mosquitobuites. And even the repellant doesn't drive them away. The next days, as soon as the sun set down, we hurried to our room and stayed inside the rest of the evening. But the wales, they make good for any incovenience !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is all that is cracked up to be and a 4 minute walk every morning along the beach to the off-site restaurant is very good for the exercise. The breakfast buffet is very basic, but the standard of meals and snacks was very acceptable and the staff were very friendly & helpful. The hotel is on a very small site and very few of the rooms actually have a view of the beach or sea. The level of wall insulation is bad and as a consequence the level of privacy is not what some people might regard as necessary. The opportunities to unpack (no table or a set of drawers) we found to be inconvenient. The staff were very friendly and Edwin in reception was very helpful when he was there. The availability of beach mattresses should be looked at by the hotel management. The main square is about a 6 minute walk and has a few very interesting restaurants.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

When we arrived in the evening we came to the front office. We were told there was a problem with our room reservation and they had moved us to their other property (Faro Viejo) just down the beach. It was going to be a larger room on the ocean. We had requested and received confirmation from Jeremy, the manager that they had our room in Holbox Dreams, so this was surprising. But we were tired and wanted to put our luggage down and rest.

So, they arranged a cab to take us about two blocks down.

We arrived at the Faro hotel and it was older, and not nearly as nice. Holbox Dream is luxury. Faro is average. The room however was very large. This isn't a review of that property. We stayed that night.

The next day we returned to Dreams to see what happened. We were told to speak to the manager. After more negotiating than should have been needed, we impressed upon him the need to put us in the property that we ordered and were confirmed in.

All this said, the Dreams is a very nice property. Room was nice and comfortable. The beach was very nice. Mosquitoes are rampant in the evenings along most of the beach so be forewarned.

Bottom line: The staff needs to be more cautious of guest reservations and respect their guests. They blamed Expedia but I found that to be dishonest since I corresponded by email after Expedia reservation.

Room Tip: If you like WiFi, stay nearer to the ocean, and office. Back rooms had little signal. Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holboxdream, Gérant at Holbox Dream Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hello !!!
Thanks for your review, it's always important for us to see what you like and dislike ...
It's so a long story you had in Holbox,
Ok, we made to much sales on Internet and it was not enough rooms in Holboxdream, we found a solution for your first night and we found an other solution for the rest of your stay to respect your choice, I'm so sorry if you feel that you had " more negotiating than should have been needed ", it's a little bit to much for me, but your feeling is more important than mine !!!
We try to help always our guest, if you book directly with us or with an agency we try to do the best we can, it's why we have so many good reviews,... I don't think that I didn't make all my possible to find you a solution, if it was the case you would had all your stay in Faro Viejo Hotel...
If you decide to come back for your next holidays, I will make all my possible to respect your needs,
Sincerely,

****JEREMY****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Wow! I was totally impressed with this tropical paradise! We arrived by boat, so where your sandals or flip flops. It was definitely a dream. The beach was white sand, and the water as blue as the sky. The decor was modern and sleek, with the water fixtures made from conch shells. I was on the upper floor and dont remember needing air conditioning in early August. Unfortunately for us, we only got to stay for one night. Next time I will be sure to save one day for the whale sharks and another for visiting the small town with only dirt roads! It was amazing...I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: the rooms are decorated the same, i always pick upstairs to take advantage of the ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I spent seven nights here in early June the review comes late, but clearly I'm still thinking about what a wonderful time I had at Holbox Dream. I really got a chance do relax and unwind! The location was great as it was such a short walk to town. The hotel room was so clean, the decor was simple but modern and the staff was so friendly and helpful whenever I needed anything. Every afternoon after the beach I would lay in my hammock with a book and just relax. The accommodations were more than great for the price! I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is like you see it in the website: cute, small and right on the beach. Few blocks from the downtown and far enough from noisy bars. The upper floor rooms are great whereas the lower ones are dark. Not sure why they have the same price. Room 6 has a noisy ac. The hotel has WiFi, ask for the password. Bring your own hair dryer if you need it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbox Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Dream Hotel

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwell, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbox Dream Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holbox Dream, a place where time ceases to exist and the colors of the Carribbean Sea meet the calm waters of the Mexican Gulf. Named after the lifetime vision of the proprietors, Holbox Dream, portrays the image of a very comfortable hotel associated with heavenly scenarios.A mere 20 minutes boat ride from Chiquilá Harbor will take you to a tropical escape that offers a stress free environment kissed by the sun, its white sand and shells of all kind. Enjoy 17 rooms with sea view, divided in 3 categories, pool and beach club. Enjoy suculent meals prepared with local seafood and an italian touch at Casa Nostra Restaurant - Holbox. Holbox Dream is a proud member of Xperience Hotels Collection, characterize by the "Infinite hospitality" service and philosophy. Xperience paradise as a dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holbox Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbox Island Dream Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Dream Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.