We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Delfines

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villas Delfines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villas Delfines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel Villas Delfines was so amazing, not only was the location so relaxing and calm, I actually felt like I was on the vacation i have been looking for. I was away from all the croudedness and closerfobicness of the city if was just me and a few friends and the ocean. One thing we loved about this place was how environmentally friendly. The wildlife and just the beauty of the island was indescribable. Nothing beats just sitting in a hammock and enjoying an ice cold beverage and smelling the fresh ocean air. Because the island is so small the people made you feel right at home and the included breakfast was to die for not only was it health but it gave us a good start to each day. Just remember to bring bug spray, it is a tropical island after all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    73
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
91
117
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Holbox is definetly one of the most beautiful places i've visited. The Hotel villa Delfines is a very nice place to stay at Holbox for an eco friendly accomodation. it offers: a very good setting, spacious bungalow, friendly staff, nice pool area and the views and access on the front that is wy you visit Holbox for the lovely ocean!!! they good provide a better breakfast. that's the only thing that was a little dissapointing.

Room Tip: all the rooms are spacious and do have a hommock on the patio, you could prefer an oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

my stay here was part of a tour of the Caribbean,and it really showed me the needed atmosphere for constructive thinking with almost zero distraction...due to the hustle and bustle of my home country,finding my self here gave me the needed environment to unwind and let go off the stress.
one more thing i must try is to check out the whale shark and definitely go FISHING!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you don't want to be hassled by crowded beaches on Isla Holbox, if there is such a thing, stay at Villas Delfines at the other end of the island. It is relaxed, easy and eco-friendly. And, the beach is the only thing that matters. And it shows.
Service is fine, breakfast could be a little bit more different and an exquisite restaurant is no option at Delfines. They offer nice kayak trips and help you out renting a golf cart. And, that's about it. What else do you want more as an Isla Holbox tourist? I'd say: 'nothing!'.

Room Tip: This is a place for people who seek for a quiet place. So, be quiet and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We really liked the laid back relaxed atmosphere. This is what the Caribbean used to be 40 years ago. The huts are simple but clean and comfortable with hammocks on your private patio. The property is very much Eco friendly. It's a short walk to the village, about 15 minutes. No paved roads, lots of people walk around barefoot on streets of sand. Lots of little shops and restaurants and unlike Playa del Carmen, no one's trying to drag you in to their store. No one hassles you for anything. Yes there are Mosquitos, but hey, suck it up buttercup, you're at the tropics! Oh and did I mention the beautiful beaches and breath taking sunset? Warning!!! If you're into the all inclusive, eat and drink your face off till you drop crowd, this place may not be for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villas Defines for several nights in March. I am surprised by the couple of bad reviews that I see. We were very happy with our stay there. This property is very environmentally conscious and we liked that a lot. This island is tiny and could easily be damaged by the impact of tourists. We also thought that the included breakfast was generous and good -- coffee, tea, juices, milk, yogurt, toast and wonderful fresh tropical fruits! We were so full after breakfast that we only ate one other meal each day. Sometimes the bugs are a problem on this little island, but the resorts can't do much about that. Bring bug spray, just in case! The beds are covered with lovely white netting. This is a family business and they create a friendly, helpful vibe.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are pretty much the same here. This is a nice, quiet property at night regardl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Villas Delfines for a week. The beach, sea, view and wildlife is all close and still appears to be natural. The Island is small and most people were friendly and helpful with the main centre of Holbox being a long walk or short taxi ride away. The Eco edge is present but I can take it or leave it, I realise this is very important to some. My kind of important is a good breakfast, the choice was poor, the tea tasted nothing like tea and if you fancy cereal you pay extra for the privilege. For the money I parted company with I would have liked some extras, this is the reason for my low score.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manneroo, Propietario at Hotel Villas Delfines, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are very sorry, but we never had the opportunity to serve you. We do not know who you are and you definitly never stayed at Villas Delfines. We can prove it, but it also shows.
Sincerely yours
Manfred Bertram
Owner
Villas Delfines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Delfines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.