We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place at the end of the road (& Holbox Travel Tips)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zomay Hotel Holbox

Save Saved
You added Zomay Hotel Holbox to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zomay Hotel Holbox
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell, s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice place at the end of the road (& Holbox Travel Tips)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Los Machpeches. We had fresh towels every day. It was clean. It has a beautiful courtyard and is close to an inviting beach.

But this is Mexico, so set your expectations right:
- we stayed in the Dolphin, which is a screened in palapa. It keeps most of the bugs out, but not all of them. This is Mexico, so remember that and go with the unique experience.
- the pathways are all sand, which feels great on bare feet. But you will track sand into your palapa (which they dutifully clean out each day), and maybe into bed if you're not careful.
- the ceiling fan works well, but you will still get hot in bed. Like I said, it's Mexico, and you'll appreciate your A/C back at home more.
- Los Mapeches is towards the end of town. For me, this was a bonus because it was quiet and is not a long walk to the town square.

I would go back again and have only fond memories from Holbox and Los Mapeches.

Now some Holbox Travel Tips:
1) If you rent a car, use Cancun Rental Car. They were cheap, efficient, and rates include full coverage.
2) parking in Chiquila can be had for about $4 per day,, if you pay in pesos. It seemed sketchy at first, but our car was safe when we returned and parking is right by the ferry dock.
3) There are two ferries: 9 Hermanos and Holbox Express. We took the Express - it was a bit faster, and their boats looked like they were better maintained. 9 Hermanos has more departure times though.
4) We went to Holbox to swim with the whale sharks. We walked right down the pier (on the North Beach) the night before and struck a deal of 900 pesos each. It included the whale shark swimming, a side snorkeling trip and on-the-boat-made ceviche. It was an amazing experience, but lasted 8 hours and we should have brought good hats. And don't forget your Spanish either.
5) The best dinner, by far, in town can be had at The Grasshopper (El Chapulim). It was delicious and reasonable.
6) The best cappuccino on the island can be found at Cafecito, 3-4 blocks from Los Mapeches. If you don't go there, be prepared for Nescafe at many places.
7) Rent a bike and ride the North beach all the way east - you will find beautiful and empty beaches, and can see the nesting pelicans.
8) there is an ATM in a smoothie shop directly behind the north beach wharf. This is the only one I saw.

Please let me know if this review was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We choose Villa los Mapaches because my daughter, son in law and I, like taking the dog with us... a miniature english bull terrier (sociable and well behaved) so finding a "pet-friendly" place to stay was important. We stayed in the Orange bungalow is closest to the beach and we had lovely early morning swims and Sasha(the dog) playing and with coconuts, we had to put sunblock on her tummy and nose!
It has 2 double beds, one on the bottom floor and another in the roof reached by a ladder. It has a small kitchen with a small fridge and small stove top.Enough to do basic cooking, and plenty of little shops to buy groceries and beer. The restaurants are close and easy walking distance. They offer breakfast and fresh bread. Basic breakfast, but the homemade jam is delicious.

The island is just so laid back and relaxing, and dogs everywhere all very friendly. It seems like everyone has a dog, they are all vaccinated and have collars and tags. We drove from Merida and left the car in Chiquilá. The people in the front desk couldn't have been more helpful, and the bungalow got a good clean and sweep and fresh linens everyday, which was good as it is difficult not to bring in a lot of sand.

For people not used to the heat it could be considered hot, as there are just ceiling fans but no mechanical hum of the AC to spoil the peace and quiet. We had no
problems with mosquitoes or bugs.
i would DEFINITELY got there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Sol y Mar house (which is about a block away from the main complex) for three nights in the middle of February. It was great! We are a family of four with two young girls and it was the perfect size for us with the two girls sleeping on pull out couches in the living room. Except for the meals we ate out at restaurants, we ate every meal out on the porch-- passing food through the window from the kitchen. You are separated from the beach by a fence, but that provides a little privacy. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful with planning activities. It was Carnival while we were there and although it made it loud, we live in Brooklyn, NY so we didn't mind. Plus we were so worn out from the beach, kayaking, fishing, eating and drinking that nobody had problems falling asleep.

Holbox is great and Villa los Mapaches is a wonderful place to stay while you are there!

Room Tip: Sol y Mar is away from the main complex and not quiet (it is at the end of a lane that seems to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

we stayed at Villa Los Mapaches Feb 5-11/12
we took the Isla Holbox transfer from our hotel in Cancun. Well worth the $130.00. our driver was very pleasant and we stopped at a roadside barbeque for lunch. Rosy picked us up when we arrived at Isla Holbox ferry dock and taxied us directly to the hotel, then drove away, and there was no one at the desk to check us in. waited for about twenty minutes.
we stayed in the pink cabin. Would be better if it had at least a queen size bed, double bed too small for two, and the kitchenette not adequate for cooking. We hoped to buy fresh fish from the local fisherman, but they weren't too interested in selling to tourists. The restaurants in the village were fantastic and reasonably priced. The breakfast at Villa los Mapaches was delicious every day.
Overall, the resort was exactly what we wanted; peaceful quiet beautiful garden and beach. no kids. we will definitely return. Speaking spanish would've been a great asset to this trip.....working on it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Mayan style cottages in tranquil beautiful garden on the beach. Walking distance to town, restaurants, stores. Very hot, even with fan, variety of bugs,mosquitos, sand fleas. We stayed in August for a week. Great inexpensive fishing trips and visits to other small islands. No safe deposit boxes in rooms. Our sons ipod got stolen from the room.
Restaurant is not inexpensive, better prices in town. Best ceviche in the shack next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We just returned from a week at the hotel and couldn't have been happier with our visit. In fact, there was a problem at first, in that we were staying in a large cottage on the beach away from the hotel property (but rented by the hotel) called the Sol y mar. The cottage itself was amazing but for us the music from the nearby hostel was too loud as were the neighbors behind us. We told Rosy, and she took care of us immediately and settled us into a perfect two-bedroom apartment on the hotel property. We loved it. There was some street noise but the AC took care of that. We loved lounging in the hammocks on the porch. I had to get some writing done on the vacation and fact is I got more work done on the apartment porch than I would normally here in the same amount of town That's how nice it was. We loved the hotel's beautiful beach area. My wife barely left the hammock under the palapa near the water. The water was cool but once we got in, it was fine. We loved the town (and got to see Santa arrive on a golf cart) and the friendly and delicious restaurants but also enjoyed the occasional continental breakfast at the hotel. The hotel also has three kayaks. Take them out for a ride at sunset.

Rosy went out of her way to be accommodating. She arranged the taxi trips, sometimes before we even asked! Could the showers have more pressure? Yeah, maybe. Would I have preferred not the initial hassle, yeah, but in the end, we were much happier being around the hotel property than we would have been had we stayed the entire time in the sol y mar. The grounds are gorgeous and the people we met were universally pleasant as was the help. This was the first vacation we've taken in years where the intent was just to rest and relax, and we got exactly what we wanted, thanks to Rosy and this terrific hotel.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about noise, I'd avoid the sol y mar and would also try to find a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is an okay place but it does not include breakfast and does not have the feel of a B&B. There are no special touches that you would expect to find in a smaller lodging. It's more like a Motel 6. I'll give the pro's and con's in my opinion and let you decide.
Pros: On the west side of the island, so it's good for the sunset. Close to town. Private beach with good beach and outdoor furniture. Good price. They provide a 5 gallon water container in the room. The rooms are clean and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast is tasty.
Cons: The beds are uncomfortable, some of the linens and most of towels are old, scratchy, and smell like mildew. It's close enough to town that it can be noisy. There is a fishing lodge next door that is lit up like a runway all night. The breakfast menu is limited - they do not have all the items listed.

There are better places farther down the beach (westward) that are more secluded and still close to town. So my advice is to look around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zomay Hotel Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zomay Hotel Holbox

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell, s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zomay Hotel Holbox 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zomay is a small and peacefull resort of 6 wooden bungalows and 3 apartments on the seashore in the wonderful Island of Holbox, decorated in a Caribean style, in the middle of our beautiful and big tropical garden, you will find privacy and personal attention are what make this place unique: you can relax watching the wildlife from your hammock, grill the fish you have just caught, or walk barefoot on white sands.a place to feel safe from the noise and the rush of a big city. Here, you can finally leave the hurry and anguish behind and rediscover that old-fashioned rhythm of life long forgotten, in the summer you can meet the amazing and beautiful whale shark and spend what will be the vacation of a lifetime. More than 40 km of virgin beaches, clean air, abundant wildlife, Holbox is still one of the few places left where life continues at a slow pace with no worries. Our beach is equipped with lounge chairs and hammocks that our customers can enjoy and each bungalow at this hotel features kitchenette facilities and safe box. Exclusive guest services: Free WiFi at the main lobbyFree Kayaks and bicycles for rent to our guestsTours and transfer services from Cancún or MéridaWe can rent our place for weddings or any other special events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Zomay Hotel Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Mapaches
Los Mapaches Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zomay Hotel Holbox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.