We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Save Saved
You added Holbox Hotel Mawimbi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We came to lovely Holbox durning our honey moon this September. Got to this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. Wow, this hotel was beyond!

Everything about Mawimbi is so accurate: the rooms, the service, the owner - Oni, The location, the view from the room. We loved it! Simply perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
197
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but ate there a few times, the food was delicious and service excellent. The owners very helpful and lovely people. We went out with the owner, snorkeling and to see the whale sharks, he has a boat that seats 7. Fanatastic experience and Worth every penny. On the whole Holbox is beautiful, no cars. I will definately be visiting there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

You get more of what you pay in comparison of a hotel in Tulum, of course that the sea in Tulum has beautiful color blue. It is close to the small downtown. Very friendly people and service. The food is not great but you know what you can get for that price. We had a great time at Mawimbi

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Mawimbi on Holbox and the hospitality and our stay far exceeded our expectations. Onni is a wealth of knowledge and every staff member is extraordinarily helpful and friendly, relaxed and accommodating. The food is prepared fresh and very well, every meal was delicious. It's clean and very well designed. They are respectful of their environs, which is of great importance to us. The beach swings are a wonderful way to relax. After walking the entire beach and evaluating each resort, I would choose Mawimbi again, it has the best location to town, best beach and location to the pier, with magical sunsets from the property.

Room Tip: the tortuga room has a huge wonderful balcony that we enjoyed at sunrise and sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a precious hotel with a great location, friendly staff, delicious food, extremely clean facilities and more...

Prior to our stay Jeevyl and Claudia were very attentive with our reservations and questions we had regarding our stay, tour activities, transportation arrangements etc... Once we arrived their attentiveness remained the same helping us with restaurant suggestions, hand line fishing trips, etc... We were also impressed by Ornella suggestions on the best use of our money and time for the different activities we were researching.

We stayed in one of the Oceanfront rooms on the bottom floor and highly recommend it. Though we had people next door, above us and the restaurant right out our room we never had an issue with noise. The room was clean and spacious enough for two people and they provide you shampoo, conditioner and even a hair dryer. The AC in the room was wonderful and refreshing when returning to your room after a day out. Each day the room was stock with fresh bottles of water, the bar also provided water upon request. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The food at the restaurant is delicious and the presentation is done well. The blended drinks were always tasty and made mostly from fresh fruit. The beer was also nice and cold. I personally fell in love with the Chelado's! Nice and refreshing without all of the sweetness. Try one...

The grounds are kept well and most likely the cleanest on Holbox island. The staff really works hard to ensure your stay is clean and comfortable all day long and it shows. It was obvious that this behavior is being driven down from the owners who take pride in what they offer their guests.

We arranged transportation through Mawimbi and they didn't miss a beat. Once we arrived in Cancun and walked out of the airport there was a gentleman holding a sign with our name. The 2 hr drive doesn't seem long as there is plenty to see on the way. We arrived at the Ferry and made our way to Holbox where again we were met and taken to the Hotel. On the return to Cancun we encountered the same experience. What a nice refreshing way to start/end your vacation virtually stress free.

The Whale Shark Tour is a lifetime experience. We actually booked 2 trips just to ensure we actually saw whale sharks during our stay. However during our first trip out there were so many of them we didn't need to return for the second trip. Plus us canceling opened up a reservation for others that had to be bumped due to bad weather the previous 2 days.

We also went hand line fishing with one of the local fisherman and his son, what an awesome experience. We caught alot of fish in just a short 3 hours. We brought back a large Sea Trout where the Chef cook us some filets and made us Ceviche with the remaining fish. Both were excellent.

The Hotel itself is in the best location on Holbox and in a relatively quiet location compared to others. Since there are only 10 rooms this allows for the Staff to get to know everyone on a somewhat personal basis (calling us by our name within the first day).

All in all we had a really great time. This was our first trip to Mexico and the staff at Mawimbi has set our expectations high for returning. If we make it back, we will stay here again hopefully as a family vacation with our adult children.

Room Tip: Go for the Oceanfront. It's in a quiet location with direct access to the beach and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great hotel. The best beach. Breakfast is yummy and the staff is great. We happen to be dog lovers so we took a bag of Pup-Peroni (after we received permission from our host) and now have 4 new furry friends. We loved Holbox. We used Cancun Transfers (ask for Leo) for the trip from the airport to the ferry approx 2 hours (licorice at the ferry was a big hit with the boys on the dock "helping us" with our luggage). Short golf card ride and you'll be at your hotel. The downtown is a little rustic...we are used to staying on Isla Mujeres and I'm guessing Holbox is what Isla Mujeres was about 20 years ago but after the first night it was great. The food on the island was wonderful. Fresh pasta, sushi...great Mexican and seafood. We will definately go back and stay at Hotel Mawimbi. If you are looking for a place to unwind and love the beach. Book this island and hotel. By far the best hotel...there are some that are more "Americanized" but this was the best place for relaxation and besides you can visit the other hotel for happy hour if you need to feel like and American.

Room Tip: Only a couple of the rooms are actually ocean front but all the rooms were very nice. They all had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and were NOT disappointed! The set-up and planning of this little hotel is top notch.The owner and staff-5 star!! Loved hanging out and relaxing.The rooms were lovely and unquie.The grounds were so well kept.From booking to leaving we were cared for in so many details.If you are needing a week of r and r here is the place for you.We also booked our whale shark tour with Mawambi and WOW! When they say fastest boat on the island- they mean it,other boats left before us yet we caught up and passed them like they were standing still.The 2 guides were excellent.I was very motion sick,but they made sure I was not missing any of the whale shark or manta ray action.I would not book any other tour as we had the best boat and guides.thank you to all,our special trip with our grandson will hold dear to our hearts because of all their added attention and care.Hats off all around to this hotel!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
#9 Romantic Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small-charming and tropical Hotel located on the beach of Holbox Island, where you will find an unforgettable atmosphere and you can spend very special moments relaxing on the big beach.This palm shaded beach front oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town. Mawimbi has been created paying particular attention to details and showing due respect to Nature’s Harmony of colors and shapes. It has been carefully built and decorated using products and techniques of the ancient Mayan culture. The curtains, bedclothes and pillows are made of antique Guatemalan ponchos, while the bathrooms are decorated with colored Mexican ceramics. Likewise, the tables and chairs have been carved and crafted from local trunks, as well as the entire hotel building, the bar and beach area.All of it surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holbox Hotel Mawimbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Hotel Mawimbi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.