We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to paradise – no shoes required, but bring the ear plugs and bug spray” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Save Saved
You added Holbox Hotel Mawimbi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Welcome to paradise – no shoes required, but bring the ear plugs and bug spray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I came here for four days after spending a week in Cancun. If you have never been to Isla Holbox but have been to Isla Mujeres – Holbox is like how Mujeres was 30 years ago….small island community, in which the roads aren’t paved, men fish during the day and sell their catch at their restaurant at night, and some people come for vacation and never leave.


Hotel Mawimbi is a small jewel of a boutique hotel located right on the beach, a few minutes stroll from the center of town, with its own restaurant / bar, under a dozen rooms nestled in a grove of palm trees, service by people who care, and the owners live right on the property. This is more like a vacation home than a hotel. The rooms are well decorated and the beds are surprisingly comfortable. The restaurant / bar is the hub of the hotel where meals are served either under the palm trees or in the open air structure. You are eating with your host, and often times, you will see what fresh fish they bring in from a day of fishing. Hint – try the Tamarind Margarita, simply awesome.


What to do? You can do everything from doing absolutely nothing except for lounging in a hammock or a bed on the beach to taking a five mile hike up the beach, rent a golf cart to tour the island (that will take up two hours or less), take a kayak tour on the Rio and see the flamingos, fish, dive, drink and eat. Really, you can be as active or inactive as you want.


There is “spotty” Wi-Fi at the hotel, no phones, no TV’s…..but you come here to relax, not to be on the phone, internet or watching CNN….so leave the world behind.


Now for a couple of draw backs – there is a beach front bar two properties down, and they will play techno music on Friday and Saturday nights. If you are not into dancing until 2 am and want to go to bed early….bring ear plugs. The mosquitos --- small and plentiful when the sun goes down until after sunrise so bring your favorite bug repellant.


Now how to get to Isla Holbox – We opted for the transportation arranged by Hotel Mawimbi. The door to door service picked us up from our hotel in Cancun, brought us to the ferry, and then an Isla Holbox taxi (golf cart) took us to Hotel Mawimbi. Very efficient and worry free as we spoke with some other guests who drove themselves and either got lost from Cancun to Isla Holbox or simply left their rental car at the ferry landing at the mainland.


So if you are looking for a hotel in paradise that will look after you, spend the days on the beach or in the water, and eat great food with travelers from across the globe, then I would highly recommend Hotel Mawimbi.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    33
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
213
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

12/25/12
we're just back from several days at this hotel; totally amazing time there! very laid back and comfortable, one of the best vacations i think we've ever had. my wife and i were there with our 14 year old daughter and felt very welcome; all the great parts of feeling "at home" without the not so great parts of "at home". the location is perfect in that it's on the beach, very quiet, and yet a very short walk from the center square where there were lots of things going on; great food, great shopping (cool stuff, not touristy....). the owners and staff are genuinely kind people that really made us feel comfortable. we plan on returning as soon as we can. next trip i think we'll use mawimbi as a base and visit some of the surrounding mayan sites and diving spots; there's a lot to see and do in this part of mexico and we're so looking forward to returning. i would give this place more stars if i could!

Room Tip: we had the double queen room with a balcony on the second floor and it was great. didn't see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Recently spent a long weekend at this hotel. It was well kept, peaceful and quiet. The restaurant and bar was a nice place to hang out for lunch or just to relax. The hotel arranging a fishing trip. The fish I caught was later prepared and served to me at dinner. The room was very functional and comfortable. I really liked the firmness of the bed as well. The hotel has chairs and hammocks on the beach for lounging away the day. It is a short walk into town for other restaurant adventures. I know you will enjoy your time at Mawimbi.

Room Tip: Try the lobster tacos. Delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If only one never had to leave Hotel Mawimbi! 6 nights there left us wanting more, more, more.
Mawimbi is elegantly informal, stylishly intimate, incredibly welcoming, and refreshingly simple. Among a number of accommodations on the island in every price range, Mawimbi has a magical character and enchanted feel that made us envy its owners and staff, and think impulsively about staying forever.
An easy stroll from the village center, it's sheltered for privacy in lush tropical landscaping directly on one of the island's best beaches. Rooms are spotless and rich with exotic character. Dining is fresh local, without pretense and beautifully prepared. And the staff, who welcomed us like family, was exceptionally eager to manage every detail, from the moment of our first reservation email exchanges until melancholy goodbyes. They're just plain wonderful.
From our perspective, Isla Holbox is memorable....Hotel Mawimbi is it's jewel.
Y Carlough, Stowe, VT

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony or terrace with a direct view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel, cozy and relax....
The beach is perfect, breakfast is fantastic. Rent a golf car and visit the island, you will be able to see flamingos and different kind of birds.... just to enjoy nature =)

Room Tip: Rooms great, even if is not an ocean view, you are steps from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights in a sea view room.
On checking into our room we were dissapointed to find that builders were working on the roof and a wall next to our room. This was hardly the peace and quiet we were expecting !.Fortunately, the propierters agreed and did not charge us for one night which seemed fair.
Our room, though fairly basic, was clean ,tastfully furnished with ceiling fan. air conditioning.and ensuite bathroom with shower(only on one occasion was the shower not hot)
The room had a patio area with comfortable chairs and a lovely view of the beach.
The room was cleaned daily with fresh, good quality , towels provided for the shower and beach.The beach itself was attractive and well kept with plenty of double sun beds, hammocks , and shady palm trees.
The location of the hotel is excellent, being close to the town(5 mins walk) but not actually in it.
The town has several restaurants of varying quality, gift shops and mini markets.
The hotel has it's own restaurant which served a limited menu of excellent quality freshly cooked food in pleasant surroundings.We would probably have eaten more meals there but we found the
portion sizes inadequate for anyone with a healthy appetite.
Of the two waiters who served in the restaurant and bar, we found one of them ( the younger of the two) to be somewhat unfriendly, seeming to regard customers as an inconvience and never doing more than was absolutely neccessary.This was so much so that we ,as far as possible, avoided eating there on his shifts.
The crockery in the restaurant was so badly chipped and cracked that it should never have been used.It was pointless asking for a replacement at it all seemed to be the same.
.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay here but ther are some issues that should be addressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My staying there was incredible, the attitude of the people from the hotel was really remarkable.
It is no common to see this kind of service, over standing, exceeded my expectation.
The location of the hotel is very convenient, walking distance from the down town, you can expend a great dinner close the plaza, there are restaurants to all kind of budgets and preferences.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small-charming and tropical Hotel located on the beach of Holbox Island, where you will find an unforgettable atmosphere and you can spend very special moments relaxing on the big beach.This palm shaded beach front oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town. Mawimbi has been created paying particular attention to details and showing due respect to Nature’s Harmony of colors and shapes. It has been carefully built and decorated using products and techniques of the ancient Mayan culture. The curtains, bedclothes and pillows are made of antique Guatemalan ponchos, while the bathrooms are decorated with colored Mexican ceramics. Likewise, the tables and chairs have been carved and crafted from local trunks, as well as the entire hotel building, the bar and beach area.All of it surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holbox Hotel Mawimbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Hotel Mawimbi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.