We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holbox Hotel Mawimbi to your Saves list
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I went to Holbox for a wedding and stayed at the Hotel Mawimbi for 3 nights. It was a great little place to stay, full of charm. This place has less than 10 rooms, the nicest beach on the island with lots of lawn chairs, hammocks, and palm trees, a restaurant and bar on the beach where the bartender (ours was Francisco) remembers your name and what room you're in. The rooms are what you would expect in Mexico, tile floors, fairly sparse but comfortable. Our room (the Crab room) was decorated in simple Mexican decor with pretty tile and had a nice balcony that overlooked the beach. The A/C and hot water were good and you could also open the windows to get the ocean breeze. Considering there were 4 rooms right next to us, the place was fairly quiet and you can drown out the noise with the A/C if you need to. There was free bottled water in the room and access to extra beach and bath towels in an armoire at the top of the stairs in the hallway if you needed them. We were travelling with another couple and when I booked the reservation we were told that both rooms had a partial ocean view but when we got there, the only view that my friend had from her balcony was of a thatched roof. Make sure you clarify what your view looks like before you go. Most of the rooms have a partial ocean view and a couple of suites have a full view but confirm just in case. The food in the restaurant was good-especially the seafood, and the hotel is right by downtown so it's easy to walk to other restaurants. The hotel has free wifi too. The front desk was very helpful when booking travel to and from the island and making plans. The hotel is dog friendly and a few dogs lounge on the property but keep to themselve so if you hate dogs this may not be the place for you. Overall I would recommend Mawimbi. It was a great place to truly get away from it all. A few other thoughts on travelling to Holbox. If you're looking for a place to really get away this is a great place to go. It's a 2.5 hour car ride from the Cancun airport and then a 30 minute ferry so it takes awhile to get there. Once you're there, everything is cash, the roads are all sand and everyone drives golf carts. It's super relaxing and there are no crazy vendors walking up and down the beach trying to sell you things. That being said, there are much prettier beaches in Mexico so you might want to consider Playa Del Carmen or another destination if you're looking for the crystal clear blue waters. There was a ton of seaweed on the beach that you had to wade through to get to the clear water out past it.

Room Tip: Confirm what kind of view you're getting when they say partial ocean view. One or two of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    39
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
234
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

It's difficult to say what left us feeling a little bit unimpressed with our stay at Mawimbi but I'll try. The front of house staff at the hotel were faultless, keen to help and friendly whilst the rest of the staff were just a little bit uncommunicative at best and occasionally bordering on surly. The hotel undoubtedly has the best kept beach front on the island with loungers, hammocks and swinging beds all adding up to what should be the perfect desert island get away but... but... The beach is far from pristine, the waters of the Caribbean mix here with the murkier seaweed choked waters of the gulf of Mexico and in the afternoons as the tide comes in and the onshore wind picks up the water at the shore edge is positively unpleasant. That's quite aside from the island wide sulphurous smell. I thought perhaps that this was due to the mass of drying seaweed that fringes the entire shoreline but in fact I discovered when I disturbed the sand near the shore that the sand itself smells sulphurous and actually discoloured my silver jewellery as happens in sulphur springs. The water just really wasn't all that nice to swim in because of this. But of course none of this is Mawimbi's fault but it remains a mystery as to why the hotel don't clean the unsightly seaweed from the shoreline in front of their property. It sort of feels to me that the hotel is freewheeling a little thanks to its first place position on trip advisor.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawimbi, Gerente at Holbox Hotel Mawimbi, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments, we appreciate your time doing it.

I would like to explain to you our reaction with the seaweed.

Some years ago, each hotel in Holbox had a big beach in front of it, however, the beach is continiusly erosionated in Holbox, due to natural phenomenons as hurricanes, it means that the island is losing "sand" each year.

We need dunes to gain "sand" to the beach; and the natural way to do it is keeping the seaweed at the beach, in order to avoid the concrete breakwaters.

Actually, it is forbidden to take the seaweed out of the beach for everybody.

We really don't want Mawimbi at the edge of the beach.

Seaweed really plays an important role in the Caribbean ecosystem. We can take the seaweed out of the beach but in the future is possible that we will regret of it. Sargassum can help bulk up eroding beaches.

It would have been a pleasure to speak about the seaweed with you during your stay with us.

Warmest regards,

Mawimbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I spent a few days in Posada Mawimbi and it has been one of our most memorable trips. Ornella and Carmelo, the nice lady in the front desk, the staff at the bar which is on the beach made our stay a quite pleasant one. Full of good vibes, good service and really good food ( the ceviche is awesome) , makes this place a most go, a really great getaway.

You could also take your pet on request, which makes it even more special.
We're looking forward to going back there!!! Just loved it.
Thanks to Mawimbi's staff your such a nice time, we really felt at home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We visited Holbox and Mawimbi from May 4th to May 12th, here is some information/tips for you.

Posada Mawimbi:
The place is lovely. It is ideally situated on the beach just on the very edge of town. All of the staff are friendly and helpful and make your stay enjoyable. We stayed in the “fish” room which is opposite the reception on the small grounds and the room was just fine even had a small kitchen area. The room was clean and has all that you need but remember this is Holbox so do not expect anything 5 star. The charm is that it is rustic, basic but it has all that you need for a relaxing vacation.
The Mawimbi grounds are fine sand, as is the bar area so you do not need to pack any fancy shoes, just bare feet is good. In fact there really is no need to pack anything fancy for a vacation on Isla Holbox; it is very relaxed no matter where you go.
They have 4 great little dogs that will keep you company.

The Bar/Restaurant:
The bar and restaurant is situated at the edge of the sandy beach. The young guys who work at the bar are friendly and again helpful as everyone else at Mawimbi. The menu is somewhat limited but it is all good. Do not expect your usual Mexican food that you may get at home. The food at the bar and the island is limited to seafood, pasta’s, and basic chicken and beef dishes. Prices are reasonable and a 10-18% tip is fine. You can pay as you go or sign up to your room.

Isla Holbox itself:
The island is a gem. Perfect blue warm water, with lots of white sand and great weather. There are Mosquito’s so you will need to pack bug repellent but it was not too bad at all at the beginning of May. But remember if you do go out in the evening you will get bitten unless you have repellent on.
The streets are all dirt with lots of potholes and no real drainage, remember this place has yet to be spoilt by tourism. It will be at some point but right now it is rustic. You can rent a golf cart for around $10 an hour which is recommended. You can drive slowly to secluded beaches out of town and you can also just drive around parts of the island just checking things out. One drive that I recommend is out of town along the beach that takes you toward Mosquito Point. You just hug the beach (which will have lots of seaweed in May) until you come to a river. From there you can park and wade out to the awesome sand bar and maybe catch some Flamingo’s walking around. Note…and this is important, when you start to wade out to the sandbar there is approx. 50 feet of deep silt before you get to the sand. You will sink into the silt maybe up to your knees and it is a little slimy but take smalls steps and get through it because it is worth the effort. Also try to take your camera out onto the sandbar.
We took the Classic tour and I would recommend the tour. You visit a couple of sandy bird islands on a small fast boat. You then visit a fresh water hole on the mainland. The boat ride is very bumpy and can get wet, you will have to jump in and out of the boat, and the water hole may be difficult to get in and out of…everything is worth it but if you have any disabilities it may be difficult.

Restaurants:
Isla Holbox had very few Americans when we visited in May, in fact most of the people there were Europeans. There are several places to eat and most of them are good, if you stay for a week you may get to visit all of them.The restaurants cater to Europeans; pasta is on the menu at almost all restaurants. There are pizzas, a couple of steaks available at certain places but mainly the menu is centered round seafood. Expect to see Lobster, Shrimp, Octopus and fish, the fish is normally just a white fish that is grilled and served with rice and lettuce and tomato. Again nothing too fancy about the food, it is fairly basic but good.
You may see tacos in some places, and Ceviche is very popular at most places.

Getting there:
You fly into Cancun; the drive to the ferry takes you two hours. It’s a long drive with nothing much to see apart from a few small towns along the way. Mawimbi can take care of all of your travel plans to and from Cancun airport but be careful because it is expensive. They charge $130 for the round trip which includes the ferry fare. I noticed that a taxi from the ferry in Chiquila to Cancun is $70, this may be an option or there is a bus. The ferry ride from Chiquila to Isla Holbox takes 30mins, if you stand on the top deck you will get wet.

So the bottom line is that Mawimbi and Isla Holbox are great places to visit, it is beautiful and relaxing and not yet spoilt by tourism. Because tourism has not taken over yet do not expect the same things as you may be accustomed to in other resorts around Mexico i.e. cuisine, facilities, concierge services etc. but to me that’s what makes this place so wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms have Mosquito nets, fans and a/c and all rooms are located very close to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

For a family from UK Mawimbi in Isla Holbox was truly a magical tropical experience. Super friendly staff and excellent location . Im a keen kitesurfer and can't think of many other spots in the world that would allow my 14yr old to develop his kiting as he did...hot, windy shallow and empty ...Paradise
Thanks Mawimbiers for a great break.. we'd love to come back
The Clarkies

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

we just came back from an awesome trip to Mexico that included Holbox island. We stayed in Mawimbi and it was ok. The room was clean, has a king bed, safe, AA, hot water and a balcony that we hardly used. The beach is very nice and they try to keep it well maintained and clean. A continental breakfast is included and it was good. The only thing I didn't like was, we wanted o take a tour so we booked it through the hotel. Then off to walk the town we went and everywhere the tour was 50MXN less than what they were charging us. We came back to the hotel to see if they could match the price and their answer was "is because you do it through the hotel, but they are just a block away, we can call them and tell them you are walking there and they will give you the price you have seen"...so they are charging me 50 mxn extra to make a call?? I don't know I was a little puzzled by this. In the end I just cancelled the tour through the hotel and booked it somewhere else. The hotel is nice, and the staff really friendly. For booking tours just ask around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed five nights at Mawimbi in March 2012 and we loved it! Mawimbi has a luxury money can`t buy, heart! Everyone working there is so friendly and makes your stay there wonderful! The barbeque on Saturday evening was the best meal we had during our two weeks in Mexico!(Probably the best barbeque we ever had!) Yonna is an amazing hostess and a very talented interior designer, so every detail in the interior is a true joy! We went on the cayak trip into the mangrove, and recomend it deeply! I had a fantastic massage, and it did wonders for my back! I also recomend visiting the animal shelter, pelicans, cats, dogs and raccoons live happily together, like Paradise! Niki, Tommy, Sammy and Goliat, made us smile every day! We are so looking forward to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small-charming and tropical Hotel located on the beach of Holbox Island, where you will find an unforgettable atmosphere and you can spend very special moments relaxing on the big beach.This palm shaded beach front oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town. Mawimbi has been created paying particular attention to details and showing due respect to Nature’s Harmony of colors and shapes. It has been carefully built and decorated using products and techniques of the ancient Mayan culture. The curtains, bedclothes and pillows are made of antique Guatemalan ponchos, while the bathrooms are decorated with colored Mexican ceramics. Likewise, the tables and chairs have been carved and crafted from local trunks, as well as the entire hotel building, the bar and beach area.All of it surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holbox Hotel Mawimbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Hotel Mawimbi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.