We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Holbox Island
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and returned jut yesterday. We had an amazing 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Hotel definitely set on the best part of the beach and it is close to town without feeling too crowded. We loved being able to order drinks on the beach and take in the sunset from the rooftop bar. This is a perfect mix of resort and hotel without being too overwhelming. We stayed in Azucar (poolview) the first night and Canela (oceanview) the next nights - both were lovely. We especially enjoyed being able to sit out our balcony in Canela and look at the beach. Overall fantastic trip and we cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    72
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
337
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is my 3rd visit to Casa Tortugas in 4 years and it felt like coming home, albeit a very lovely home where you have no worries and the biggest decision is what to have for lunch or whether to cool off in the sea or the lovely refreshing pool. When you are poolside it feels as if you are in exquisite jewel. The decorations are beachy , not tacky, tasteful. . The staff is friendly and helpful and a number of the people at the front desk and the kitchen have been there since I started coming making it even more of a "homecoming" . The grounds, pool, restaurant, rooms and beach front are all kept exquisitely clean and fresh. I brought a couple of friends with me who have also fallen under Tortugas' and Holbox' spell. At the same time I want to keep this place a secret, as too many people, I fear, will spoil the ambiance both of this hotel and the island or force the owners to enlarge . It is the family friendly feel of this hotelito that makes it special. Any bigger and it will lose that special feeling. I certainly hope to return.
My only minor complaint would be that the cupboard in the pool-view rooms need to have a bar for hanging ones clothes not just shelves.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a 'bad' room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

back to las Tortugas!
still peaceful, quiet, more than beautiful and so tidy!
the prices of the restaurant get higher but it's worth the price considering the quality of food. the new terraza of the bar offers incredible view of the sunset.

the staff is still very helpful and kind, despite the fact I regret we had less interactions than at my first visit, certainly due to the fact the hotel was almost full. but a warmer welcome (and goodbye) would have been appreciated .

We stayed in Vanilla room , overlooking the beach, at the 2 nd floor , ad it's a beauty! be sure to bring earplugs if th enoise disturbs you beacause you basically hear everything in the others soom, but i's not annoying as everybody is here to relax and have a good sleep. No loud music here!

I hope Las tortugas will keep their spirit of peace of mind and care to their customers.
Hasta pronto!

Room Tip: Vanilla is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Casa Las Tortugas is the best hotel on Holbox -no doubt.
Great location, great beach, SUPERB restaurant, very nice rooms, clean & cosy, great service, lovely staff, fabulous spa, wonderful drinks etc, etc, etc...
You CAN'T go wrong here, and I can not wait to go back!!!!
Isla Holbox in generally is my hidden paradise on earth :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having travelled to many places , and being a fan of small boutique hotels, I have to say that Tortugas is a keeper! This hotel is small enough that staff come to know you and your preferences very quickly. Breakfast is included , with three choices every morning, you will not be bored with the food. They bake their breads on site and all food is fresh. The dinner menu is small and did not change in the week I was there but there are other restaurants a few minutes walk away that may be more economical and offer variety. Service is friendly and helpful. Try a "health water" for the beach, comes in a glass jug and can last all day. Beach has many loungers, hanging beds and hammocks for a day of lazing around. The ocean is unbelievable! Shallow , warm and extremely walkable for kilometres . Front desk staff are amazing and always willing to help,going out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and well taken care of the whole trip. This is a small hotel and island that is worth a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke, Maryland Usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is our third time visiting Casa Las Tortugas. I think that shows you how happy we are to return here. This is much more than a hotel. It's more like a mini spa with "Agua Spa", where you can get a full range of treatments from massages to facials.

A great breakfast comes with the room at the Hotel' s Mandarina Restaurant. Not only are the breakfasts great but all are excellent. Some of the best food in town. The rooms are all excellent. We've stayed in a number of them. The most impressive part of this place is that the staff actually make you feel like they want to enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, NH, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Holbox Island is an entirely unique destination for relaxation, fine weather, and small quaint dining. Casa las Tortugas, which I left just yesterday, is most certainly part of the best of the island. The front desk staff were truly amazingly friendly and helpful. Transfers to the island require transportation from the airport to a ferry, ferry to taxi, then taxi to hotel. All were arranged flawlessly. Stress was absolutely minimal. The room, Canela / Cinnamon was clean, well kept, and beautifully designed. It was reminiscent of a bright cheery cave mixed with touches of treehouse. The view of the ocean was spectacular and the sideline view of the restaurant was constantly alluring. I'm certainly glad that I succumbed to the allure. The food at the restaurant, Mandarina, was excellent. Upon arrival, it was lobster night. I'll never admit that anything equals the Maine lobsters of home, but the dishes prepared were sensational. The carrot soup was fresh and absolutely perfect. I also loved the ceviche - a hearty portion of fish and shellfish rivaled only by those I've enjoyed in Peru. The pool is gorgeous, especially by night, with a central jacuzzi hot tub. Aside from the thought that WiFi boosters in the room would have made logins more predictable, I could find no fault with the establishment or the town. Isla de Holbox is definitely in my re-visit list. I hope my favorite patio table at Casa las Tortugas is still open when I return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.