We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Holbox Island
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel was so lovely and charming. The restaurant was wonderful and had very cool "water therapy" drinks. The hibiscus was fabulous. The rooms had cool decor, were very comfortable and had great showers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hola!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay with us.

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    71
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
334
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

You are very lucky and I can't image how anyone would not love this hotel.
I only have one constructive criticism on how the hotel could improve its service and I think it would be an easy fix. We contracted with the hotel for an outside driver to pick us up at the airport. As luck would have it, they were not there when we arrived. As you know things happen, they get a flat tire, they go to the wrong terminal and the list goes on. The problem is, when you walk out to the taxi area they are looking (preying) for lost tourist. This was not our first trip to Mexico and we thought we were pretty aware of the things they do...we were wrong! Long story but we ended up taking a taxi through the vendors at the airport and being charged (scammed) about triple. A normal fare we found out later is about $80 US to
Chiquila where you catch the ferry to Isla Holbox. On the instructions you receive from the hotel, it would be very helpful if they listed what to do if for any reason the taxi was not there. How to handle it and what to do and what not to do. Ours was a very rough start to our trip but, in the end the hotel took care of us and we could not have been happier.
Now for the hotel, it is so nice. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are clean and ours was very spacious. We stayed in Menta which is ocean front and next to the restaurant. At first we weren't sure we wanted to be right next to the restaurant and we ended up loving our room. I would ask for the same room next time. We would sit on our patio at night and play cards before dinner. The staff at the restaurant would bring drinks and appetizers over. You get to know some of the guests and it was always fun when they walked by our patio and we could share stories about what we did during the day and good places to eat (besides the hotel).
We thought the hotel restaurant was wonderful. Lots of good seafood and pasta and the desserts were outstanding. For me, it is as good as any food we get at home and we live in the San Francisco Bay Area.
We thought the staff at the restaurant, the spa and the lobby could not have been nicer or more helpful. I really would love to go back to this hotel.
If you go bring pesos, we did not use dollars and the atm's on the island did not have money when we were there. Also, some things you may need are good mosquito repellent (we were there in July) and hair conditioner. The hotel provides organic repellent but it did not work for us. They do provide shampoo and soap (liquid and bar). I brought my own blow dryer and I don't remember if there was one in the room or not.
Some of the activities we did were the whale shark tour, the boat trip around the island, rented a golf cart and toured the island, rented a paddle board at the hotel and did this in the water in front of the hotel. We did not get to do the kayak trip through mangroves, maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hola!!

Thank you very much for your nice words!! Its great that you felt like part of Casa Las Tortugas family

Looking forward to see you soon!!

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
León, Guanajuato, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was simply the best holiday we ever had, the Hotel is very very good, all the rooms are lovely decorated and full of small details.
The Restaurant is delicious and the team working there gives you the feeling you belong to the family.
The Island is very quiet has a lot good restaurants.
The beach is beautiful and everyday starts with a delicious breakfast looking to beach with the feets in the sand…perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your review!!

We are very happy that you ejoyed your stay with us, and that you felt part of our Tortugas family!!!

Hopefully you can come back soon to visit us!!

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Amazing! Beautiful room, wonderful food, and exceptional service. We will come back over and over. You can't beat the quality for the price. This is a sleepy town with amazing food and friendly folks. Very Mexico and at the same time a strong European influence. Fresh pastas and seafood!
If your looking for off the path with a bit of luxury this is it:)

Room Tip: Spend the few extra dollars and stay beachfront. FYI the walls are thin, or so our neighbors infor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you!!

We love the idea that you are coming back soon!!

Looking forward to see you back at Tortugas

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights, service is great. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great pool, beach, bar and food .
You have breakfast included with your stay, with a menu that changes by the day.

Great hotel with great location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you!!!

Looking forward to see you back at Casa Las Tortugas!!

Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Casa las Tortugas has a very friendly staff, excellent food, a great location on the beach and offers endless hours of quality relaxation. The hotel is small, with maybe 20 or so rooms. There is a small pool and plenty of area on the beach. The beach has chairs and large mattress like beds that hang from ropes and sway in the wind. There is service from the bar on the beach. There are occasional vendors who walk through selling items, but nowhere near as bad as the beach in Cancun of Playa del Carmen. There is a Yolo Board available for use in the ocean. The water is very calm and warm. It is quite shallow so you can walk out for about 100 yards.

The food on the island is hit and miss. There are some very good restaurants, and some bad ones. We found the restaurant at the hotel to be consistently excellent. We also liked La Palapa. It is owned by a guy from Italy and has authentic italian food. He has another place at the central mall that is just as good (sorry, we forgot the name). The island is famous for lobster pizza. We had some at the place that is supposedly the best in town (Elinas?) and it was so-so.

The entire island identifies itself with the Whale Sharks. The pictures are everywhere, and there are numerous places that offer tours. What we found out later is that the Whale Sharks used to migrate very close to the island several years ago (45 min. boat ride), but they have steadily been moving east (toward Cancun). The boat ride for us was about 3 hours each way. Basically, you don't have to go to Holbox to do a Whale Shark Tour. If you want to see Whale Sharks, but you also want to relax, then Holbox is the place. On the other hand, if you want to see Whale Sharks and you want to party, head for Cancun.

The Whale Sharks appear in different spots, so its hard to predict just how far out they will be on any given day. Seeing the Whale Sharks is also variable. The two days before we went, there were only 1 or 2 Whale Sharks spotted. There are 50+ boats out there so it can be very crowded. On the day that we went, the conditions had improved, so they were there in masses. There were well over 100 Whale Sharks, as far as the eye could see. All you had to do was to jump in the water, and eventually a Whale Shark would would come by. They basically just ignore the humans and feed on the plankton near the surface. They are giant creatures that are just magnificent to watch. There are also Manta Rays feeding along with the Whale Sharks. There are numerous rules about wearing organic sunscreen, staying a specified distance from them, only having 2 persons in the water at a time, and others that minimize the impact of having humans there.

The hotel puts on various functions for the guests. One night we had live music, one night we had a guest happy hour, with free appetizers. We met several other guests who were super friendly and shared tips on local restaurants, activities, and Whale Shark stories.

There is high-speed Wi-Fi in the rooms and on the beach so you can download a new book to your iPad, or upload video of Whale Sharks, from the comfort of a hammock on the beach. As a bonus, there are also plugs next to the swaying beds, so you can plug in for music speakers, etc...

Our only complaint (and this is pretty minor) is that there was nobody at the airport to meet us, as promised. We had to wait out in the sea of vendors outside the airport for about 20 minutes or so before someone showed up. I know that this is Mexico, and that promptness is not always a high priority, but searching through the sea of vendors, with everyone trying to sell you something, or trying to swindle you, is not a particularly great start. Unfortunately, there was another couple that experienced the same problem, so ours was not unique.

The trip from the Cancun airport takes about 2.5 hours. Expect to ride in a van for about 2 hours, and then take a boat for a 20 minute trip to the island. Once you are there, then it is only a short ride to the hotel. While on the island, you can rent a golf cart and go exploring. There are areas with flamingos out on the sandbars, with horseshoe crabs and stingrays (the water is clear, so it is easy to avoid stepping on them).

Overall, this was a fantastic location if you want to relax at a comfortable place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Good Morning!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review. Its great to read that you enjoyed our Hotel, Mandarina Restaurante, and the entire Island.

We hope to see you againg very soon in Casa Las Tortugas

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Mandarina Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolognola, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We're back, me and my wife Ruth, in this little paradise,
And already the first night, with surprise, we could watch the sunset, the sun going down in the sea, from the new "Mandarina roof" terrace with sea view, a snack bar for delicious cocktails and that good, Sushi de autor, and Ceviche camaron .
Our room was the suite Paloma, beautiful, with a balcony and a lovely bathroom.
We're back on the island of Holbox, to live a few days in a rustic and quiet time, but also to make the tour "whale shark", "a day full of adventure and a dream to swim alongside these gentle giants of the sea, with help and support of the Captain of the boat hotelito "Oralé "
Thank you very much for this amazing and relaxing holiday, we could not forget the romantic dinner on the beach, the restaurant "Mandarina", and the kindness and love of the hospitality of the entire staff Hotelito Tortugas.
A big hug, and will definitely be back.
John y Ruth


Inviato da iPad

Inviato da iPad

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hola John y Ruth,

We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us, and that you enjoyed our new Mandarina Roof.

Looking forward to see you soon at Casa Las Tortugas

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.