We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to relax and see Whale Sharks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to relax and see Whale Sharks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Casa las Tortugas has a very friendly staff, excellent food, a great location on the beach and offers endless hours of quality relaxation. The hotel is small, with maybe 20 or so rooms. There is a small pool and plenty of area on the beach. The beach has chairs and large mattress like beds that hang from ropes and sway in the wind. There is service from the bar on the beach. There are occasional vendors who walk through selling items, but nowhere near as bad as the beach in Cancun of Playa del Carmen. There is a Yolo Board available for use in the ocean. The water is very calm and warm. It is quite shallow so you can walk out for about 100 yards.

The food on the island is hit and miss. There are some very good restaurants, and some bad ones. We found the restaurant at the hotel to be consistently excellent. We also liked La Palapa. It is owned by a guy from Italy and has authentic italian food. He has another place at the central mall that is just as good (sorry, we forgot the name). The island is famous for lobster pizza. We had some at the place that is supposedly the best in town (Elinas?) and it was so-so.

The entire island identifies itself with the Whale Sharks. The pictures are everywhere, and there are numerous places that offer tours. What we found out later is that the Whale Sharks used to migrate very close to the island several years ago (45 min. boat ride), but they have steadily been moving east (toward Cancun). The boat ride for us was about 3 hours each way. Basically, you don't have to go to Holbox to do a Whale Shark Tour. If you want to see Whale Sharks, but you also want to relax, then Holbox is the place. On the other hand, if you want to see Whale Sharks and you want to party, head for Cancun.

The Whale Sharks appear in different spots, so its hard to predict just how far out they will be on any given day. Seeing the Whale Sharks is also variable. The two days before we went, there were only 1 or 2 Whale Sharks spotted. There are 50+ boats out there so it can be very crowded. On the day that we went, the conditions had improved, so they were there in masses. There were well over 100 Whale Sharks, as far as the eye could see. All you had to do was to jump in the water, and eventually a Whale Shark would would come by. They basically just ignore the humans and feed on the plankton near the surface. They are giant creatures that are just magnificent to watch. There are also Manta Rays feeding along with the Whale Sharks. There are numerous rules about wearing organic sunscreen, staying a specified distance from them, only having 2 persons in the water at a time, and others that minimize the impact of having humans there.

The hotel puts on various functions for the guests. One night we had live music, one night we had a guest happy hour, with free appetizers. We met several other guests who were super friendly and shared tips on local restaurants, activities, and Whale Shark stories.

There is high-speed Wi-Fi in the rooms and on the beach so you can download a new book to your iPad, or upload video of Whale Sharks, from the comfort of a hammock on the beach. As a bonus, there are also plugs next to the swaying beds, so you can plug in for music speakers, etc...

Our only complaint (and this is pretty minor) is that there was nobody at the airport to meet us, as promised. We had to wait out in the sea of vendors outside the airport for about 20 minutes or so before someone showed up. I know that this is Mexico, and that promptness is not always a high priority, but searching through the sea of vendors, with everyone trying to sell you something, or trying to swindle you, is not a particularly great start. Unfortunately, there was another couple that experienced the same problem, so ours was not unique.

The trip from the Cancun airport takes about 2.5 hours. Expect to ride in a van for about 2 hours, and then take a boat for a 20 minute trip to the island. Once you are there, then it is only a short ride to the hotel. While on the island, you can rent a golf cart and go exploring. There are areas with flamingos out on the sandbars, with horseshoe crabs and stingrays (the water is clear, so it is easy to avoid stepping on them).

Overall, this was a fantastic location if you want to relax at a comfortable place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Good Morning!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time and write this nice review. Its great to read that you enjoyed our Hotel, Mandarina Restaurante, and the entire Island.

We hope to see you againg very soon in Casa Las Tortugas

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Mandarina Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    58
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
271
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolognola, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We're back, me and my wife Ruth, in this little paradise,
And already the first night, with surprise, we could watch the sunset, the sun going down in the sea, from the new "Mandarina roof" terrace with sea view, a snack bar for delicious cocktails and that good, Sushi de autor, and Ceviche camaron .
Our room was the suite Paloma, beautiful, with a balcony and a lovely bathroom.
We're back on the island of Holbox, to live a few days in a rustic and quiet time, but also to make the tour "whale shark", "a day full of adventure and a dream to swim alongside these gentle giants of the sea, with help and support of the Captain of the boat hotelito "Oralé "
Thank you very much for this amazing and relaxing holiday, we could not forget the romantic dinner on the beach, the restaurant "Mandarina", and the kindness and love of the hospitality of the entire staff Hotelito Tortugas.
A big hug, and will definitely be back.
John y Ruth


Inviato da iPad

Inviato da iPad

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hola John y Ruth,

We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us, and that you enjoyed our new Mandarina Roof.

Looking forward to see you soon at Casa Las Tortugas

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My sister and I traveled to Isla Holbox from the states on June 27-July 4 and stayed at Casa Las Tortugas. There were too many wonderful experiences to write about them all here, so we chose five highlights:
1. Casa Las Tortugas Whale Shark Trip. Captain Gabo--a blonde-dreadlocked young man--was entirely professional, patient, well-educated about flora and fauna, informative, articulate, and wholly respectful of the wildlife, land, and sea. He showed us the most incredible wild life on Saturday, June 29. On the way to the whale shark site on the ten-passenger Casa Las Tortugas boat, we passed mating sea turtles (our trip coincided with sea turtle thirty-day mating season), solo swimming sea turtles, and seven-foot manta rays. When we got to the whale shark site, our swimming and tour guide, Che Che, made sure we had a safe and awe-inspiring swim with two different whale sharks. Gabo also brought us to the Yucatan Reef where the members of our boat snorkeled and watched tropical fish and saw star fish. Then Gabo took us to a mangrove swamp where he and Che Che served fresh ceviche! while we were nibbled upon by schools of catfish. After that, Gabo sailed us to a beach where we watched flocks of flamingos. Cheers to Gabo, Che Che, and Las Tortugas! And to our wonderful swimming companions--Dani and Alvaro, Andrea and Corey, Luis, and Chloe--who we didn't know before the trip and with whom we bonded by the end of that day.
2. Mandarina--Casa Las Tortugas "Mediterranean Fusion" restaurant. We are foodies and have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the U.S. and have found Mandarina to be on par. We found ourselves wanting to eat every meal at this gem. The service--particularly waiters, Luis; another waiter with a beautiful smile; and the manager who graciously accommodated our food requests--was superb. The food was fresh--highlights were grilled lobster (lobster season started while we were there); fresh breakfast juices--papaya, and watermelon and mint; CEVICHE!; pina coladas; pesto; homemade tagliatelle; fruit marmalade; and homemade ice cream.
3. Las Tortugas Agua Spa and Yoga Studio. Massages given by, and yoga classes taught by, Guilietta!--an incredible masseuse and yogi, in this light-filled yoga and massage studio by the sea. Check out Giulietta's steam room experience, too--chocolate and mint scrubs.
4. The cleanliness, art, grounds, and workers of Las Tortugas. The detailed architecture and interior design of this hotelito are feasts for the eyes; the quiet is balm for the ears; the smells of the organic shampoos and body washes are refreshing and gentle. From its sand-raked trails to its Frida Kahlo painted wall-quotes, this little beach resort of 16 rooms is a treasure.
5. Isla Holbox itself. The island is safe; the people are friendly; the streets are made of sand--we only saw two cars the whole six days we were there and one was a parked pick-up truck likely used for work; and the local and Mexican art and crafts--beautiful, wildly unique, and affordable. We particularly admired El Pueblito, the village mall--which is like no U.S. mall. It's a peaceful place and seems to be usually open at night. (We couldn't figure out the hours it was opened and went a few times in the day when it was closed.) El Pueblito is a collection of restaurants, cinema, and stores that offer wares like intricate handmade dream catchers made by the artist/storekeeper himself. Also located here is La Enmarada Ecobotique, is a bounty for the nose--the store sells organic Mayan and Mexican products for the body, like fresh-scented body splashes, that are ecologically friendly. Artesania Las Chicas is a favorite shop on the main street and is filled with art and crafts from all over Mexico.

This is rainy season and it rained several afternoons and for a couple of days. The streets flooded which is apparently common—people, golf carts, and the many dogs of Holbox, and we, amiably shuffled through the calf-to-knee high water. The rain was gentle enough that we were sheltered from it on lounge chairs, under palm-frond chikees that Las Tortugas has constructed on the beach. We even went in the sea and in the pool while it rained. And one day around dusk, a double-rainbow appeared. It was that kind of trip.

Recommendations:
--to repel the ubiquitous mosquitoes, we slathered on bug spray--Skin So Soft that we brought from the U.S.--wore long-sleeved shirts, and sat under ceiling fans at open air restaurants--this took us a while to figure out but worked.
--the all inclusive Casa Las Tortugas shuttle van and ferry trip to and from Cancun for $150 each way for two. (It took about three hours to get from the Cancun airport to Isla Holbox.) We did that on the way to Isla Holbox and had a seamless time. On the return, we chose the lesser expensive option--about $100 total-- and to pay for each vehicle separately--golf cart taxi to the dock; the Chiquila ferry tickets, and a taxi from the dock to Cancun. Even though the hotel set up the reservations for the taxis for the trip back to the Cancun airport, the golf cart taxi didn't arrive to take us to the dock. It was around 6:30 a.m. and too early for the hotel reception desk to be open. When we told a very nice young worker at the hotel about our situation, he located a golf cart and drove us himself, getting us to the ferry with five minutes to spare. We are thankful to him. If he hadn't done that, we would very likely have missed our flights back to the U.S. Also, the taxi drive from the dock to the airport was a bit uncomfortable--the driver brought his uncle in the small taxi and also took a questionable shortcut. Also, it was good that we carefully went over our final bill with the desk clerk at Las Tortugas the evening before we left, as we found some discrepancies that the front desk finally rectified.

These were small blips at the end of a magical journey where one good thing flowed into the next. Our hearts are grateful for our time in Isla Holbox and at Casa Las Tortugas and for all the people we met and the wild life we had the rare opportunities to be close to. Muchas gracias.

Room Tip: We stayed standard plus room that was away from the pool and quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sisters!!!

Thank you for your lovely words. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Magic of the Island,

Hopefully you can come back soon to visit us.

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location could not be best, direct access to the white sand beach and clear water.
Room was clean, comfortable, clean towel service at request in the reception
The personal was kind and flexible to offer suggestions for activities during our stay,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hola!!!

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We love when our guests have fun and enjoy this magical island.

Looking forward to see you soon,

Best Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful and the restaurant is delicious. However, the lobby staff is horrible!!! When we arrived the woman at the front desk treated us as if we were inconveniencing her, she didn't provide us with any information. We asked a different front desk woman for guided tours and when we changed our mind about going the next day we were forced to go or pay for the tour. The tour was $50 dollars for a bout trip with a "tour guide" that only provided us with the name of the different part of the island while he was texting and listening to music on his cell phone the entire time. There is little communication within the staff, we had paid for the transportation to the airport and they had no track of it, we almost missed our flight and forced to pay another $60 dollars for transportation. We were invited to the upstairs part of the restaurant yet when we arrived they made us feel like we crashed their private argentine party. However beautiful, this hotel DID NOT make us feel welcome. I wouldn't recommended to any of my friends or family, which is unfortunate.

Room Tip: We had a beach view room next to the restaurant which made it extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Buenos dias!!

We at Casa Las Tortugas take complains very seriously and we believe that this review is not honest.

When you arrived at the hotel our receptionist understood you were tired of the long trip and explained you that she will do the quick check-in so you could rest and have a cold drink at the bar.

The tour that you booked at the front desk was 30 USD and was organized especially for you at 9 o'clock in the morning, meaning that the tour operator had to re-schedual the other 8 tourist that were with you on the same trip. When you canceled ( 1 hour before your pick up) the tour operator mentioned to us that they were going to charge you, and we just communicate it to you. It was your decision to go or not, we never forced you to go.

The transportation was offered several times to you, but you never confirm the time. Even so at the last minute when you claimed the transportation had been confirmed from your side, our front desk managed to arrange transportation and get you on time on the ferry. Price of the transportation has always been the same and we never asked for an extra 60 USD.

Something that we are very proud of, is our incredible Staff, obviously there was a misunderstanding in between you and the staff.

Have a good day

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is definitely the place to stay on Holbox. I admit, I was a bit concerned about Holbox in general just because I'm not usually into 'rustic,' but it was far from it. I felt silly for even being hesitant. This is total paradise (the laid back version), and when I go back, it will be to Tortugas.

We were in Limon, which was gorgeous. Up some steep stairs, but the view from the door was worth it. The room was spacious, stylish and clean. The bathroom was beautiful! I didn't expect it to be as luxurious as it was, with th claw foot tub, large bowl sink and stone floor shower. Fabulous.

Tortugas has the best beach set up on the island - tons of white sand, plenty of lounge beds, hammocks and chairs, and the best part is the service. Their staff was attentive and friendly.

The food here was great, too - amazing breakfasts, and this also ended up being one of the best dinners we had. (Though there are tons of great restaurants on the island, and Tortugas is right next to all of them.)

I wished the wifi worked in our room, but that is really the only issue. Property was lovely, well taken care of, and perfectly located right next to town.

We stayed a few days here, then went over to Casa Sandra for a few nights due to availability. We had a really beautiful room there, but the beach was next to the road with no drink service. After scoping out the island (doesn't take long), Tortugas is he best bet, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Limon! The beach access rooms had no privacy - everyone on the beach could see right in! I rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hola!!

Thank you for your nice comments, hopefully we can see you soon back in Tortugas!!

Kind Regards

Tortugas Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 14 nights. We’ve travelled many places throughout the world, and stayed at many price levels to achieve comfort, quality, luxury and get more of an experience of the local area – all depending on what type of holiday we wanted. I can honestly say that staying at Holbox has been one of my most favourite trips ever and delivered on all those points and a large amount of that is down to the entire package that is Casa las Tortugas. It’s been one of the few places we’ve already talked about returning to (we normally rather to see new places in the world rather than re-visit old).

The staff were wonderful. The location is brilliant. The attached restaurant is excellent. The entire property, including the part of beach it’s on is to a high standard in terms of décor, taste, maintenance and cleaning. It all has a very chilled and cool vibe. I’m not sure there are enough superlative’s.

Location
Actually on the beach and really is in its own little area (i.e. nothing encroaching on it), but seems to be in the centre of all the places you want to be without actually being in the middle of a very noisy resort. It’s near the pier for trip pick-ups. It’s near most of the beach front stuff either way for beach bars etc. It’s near the square where most of the restaurants are. This part of the beach is also one of the best bits of the Holbox beach.

The pool is good to have. It’s tucked away in the middle of the hotel (near the entrance of the restaurant) and it meant that if the weather was bad, you could still use it in relative comfort. It’s too shallow and small for proper swimming, but great to dip in, chill out, cool off and have a couple of drinks and natter.

The Staff were brilliant. They are really friendly and seem to be one big family which you could see from the vibe of the place and the way they greeted each other – it really came through and made you feel very comfortable with where you were and asking for things. Staff were made up of locals and people from all over the world, so many languages were covered, but certainly everyone spoke Spanish and English.

Food
The associated restaurant (I’ve reviewed separately) is fantastic and is open all day long into the evening. All day you are able to get food and drinks served to you pretty much where you want on the property. The highlight of every day though was waiting to see what we were going to be offered for breakfast. If you took breakfast included, then each morning you were served tea or coffee and freshly squeezed fruit juices with some toast and fresh fruit puree. Then you were offered one of three dishes; fruit - not just any old fruit though, a large selection of tropical fruits chopped and pealed for you and then some yoghurt and toasted seeds/nuts. An egg dish, normally scrambled with something mixed through it and often beans on the side. A Mexican dish e.g. huevos rancheros, enchiladas, tortia’s, all sorts of stuff that were often as large as a main meal and certainly better than most the places I ate out at in the evenings.

Rooms
We stayed in a Beach Bungalow called Colibri. Overall it was good, but I did have some niggles with it. For an upgraded room we ended up with a smaller bed than others I saw. The slopping bungalow ceilings are not great if you are above 6ft (I hit my head in bed, and couldn’t stand up to pee). The style lends itself to being quite gloomy, not enough light and I can understand that being traditional if you’re living in a place like this (don’t want the heat of the sun all the time) but actually I’m on holiday and I do. The Kitchenette was kind of pointless at this end of the market I think – sure we really appreciated the unlimited bottled water and fridge, but it’s a large underused area which would have been better placed for a lounge/suite plus even the second bed rather than what is there. None of the windows really shut, which meant with a single aircon unit it was really hard to actually get the place cool (especially when the cool air just when down to the ground floor and out through the door). It was nice enough and I enjoyed the fact that I was in a quirky room and not just a standard “hotel” room so I was constantly reminded I was in Mexico on holiday. Importantly it was the best room for peace and quiet I think. Ultimately though I looked around one of the pool rooms and if (more likely when) I go back, I will choose one of those over Colibri or any other beach bungalow. I took some video of the room which you can see at http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=01VJV1luxQo

Little bit Mexican
Some things were a little bit Mexican i.e. don’t run smoothly as you would expect in your country, but to be fair this was more down to some of the agents the hotel used. For example, our transfers , booked with the hotel, on the way the vehicle had an engine that cut out at every speed bump and also the driver picked up his wife and kid on the way for the trip. The transfer on the way back dropped us off at the wrong terminal and disappeared before we realised. Also a Whale shark booking with a 3rd party wasn’t really up to scratch (little to no English spoken so we had little idea what we were doing or why we returned after 60 mins going out), but to be fair the hotel sorted this all out for us.

Extras
Boat : We did a couple of attempts of Whale Shark tours (didn’t get to see one), the first with a 3rd party because there was enough people or the hotel boat needed maintenance and the second through the hotel. Even though it was a miserable day (huge swells, electrical storms, shocking rain), I have to say the day out with the rasta captain was actually really entertaining and we had a good day out and far far better than the 3rd party failed attempt.
Yoga : We tried to attend the 9am yoga session every other day (depending on what we were doing) and have to say they were brilliant. The teacher is fantastic and pushes you just hard enough so you get a little bit more out of it each day. Yoga ends about 10:30, in time to still get breakfast :) (this is important).

Overall excellent and we are highly likely to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol2Mex, Marketing at Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hola from Casa Las Tortugas!!!

Many thanks for taking the time to write us this wonderful review. We are glad you had a great time with us and we are happy to read you have good memories of our Hotel and our staff (whom by the way, would love to see you back very soon :) )

I would like take this opportunity to apologize again for the inconvenience you experienced with the transportation. We contacted the transportation company and they assured us that they will address the problem and that it won´t happen again. Next time when you come or any other tourist they will take you straight to Chiquila, without and detour.

Looking forward to see you soon!

Best Regards

Tortugas Staff
Mandarina Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront boutique hotel, run by Italian family. 21 charming new rooms, Spa, Yoga center,Kiteboard school, Beach club and organic restaurant. The design influence of Francesca and her mother Greta is evident in the hotel’s 21 romantic rooms and suites, from the carefully sourced antiques and local artisan-made colonial-style furniture to the fine linens and contemporary twist on traditional Mexican fabrics. It’s a ‘bohemian-chic’ feel that fits perfectly with the relaxed ambiance of the resort. Add in roomy double-loungers and palapa daybeds on the beach – as well as a spacious new pool – and you have the perfect formula for lusciously lazy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel And Spa
Casa Las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel Holbox Island
Hotelito Casa Las Tortugas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.