We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added CasaSandra Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77730, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Amazing place. Stayed for 5 days in mid May. Perfect setting just away from the village but a short walk.

The service wass great from being collected at the pier and taken to the hotel, to the welcome drinks and the excellent food. The room was fantastic and the staff were amazing.

Great people, great pool, great food, great cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mr Ashall,

Only 1 month of your visit and we still missing you, was so nice your stay with us! We appreciated your comments, thanks a lot ! Please advise when you decide to come again, we will waiting for you

Regards from CasaSandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    37
    14
    15
    6
See reviews for
35
121
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is the frst time we were in Holbox, looking for something different we got there, and honestly It has been the best place ever!!!!, since the moment we took the plane (small one) in cancun airport we felt the difference. The island is very simple, rustic, you can tell in the way to the hotel, which IT S THE BEST BOUTIQUE hotel i have ever been in a beach, small, great staff, always willing to help at any time, the rooms are couzy and the air conditioning work smoohly, the cousine it's fantastic, drinks are also great, real flavors, everything was fantastic. The beach itself........OMG, the best and no noise, no crows.
Also the owner, Sandra is there everyday, making you feel as home.
I would defently come back to this place, It was truly a plug off for a couple of days. Then we have to spend a night in Cancun before aour fligh back home, and it felt so fake, people no Freindly, bythe way we were in Intercontinental Presidente..............wouldn't come back to ths one.

Overall.........YOU MUST GO TO CASASANDRA IN HOLBOX!!!!!!

PS: mosquitos, be aware of them at avening tme, the only downside of Holbx island

Room Tip: Get plenty of sunscreen and mosquito protection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Was a real pleasure meet you, all the staff remeber you as a lovely couple!!! we really appreciated your comments it is nice to know that you enjoy the hotel, the service, the details everyday but the most important thing, you enjoyed the sound of silence of the beach, being on the beds near of the sea... we really hope you come again!!
Regards from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I did not stay at Casa Sandra, but had the worst booking service experience ever: I booked a six night stay in April via Mr & Mrs Smith in the beginning of February and had to cancel for personal reasons only three days after the booking was made. The owner of Casa Sandra approved the cancellation and I was promised a full refund of my $400 deposit in the end of February. It's the end of April and after having emailed and called many times, I have still received nothing but silence, lame excuses and a credit card refund receipt which neither my bank nor my credit card company could track and which seems to show a refund that has never been actually processed. Casa Sandra has been made of aware of this, but again...silence! To my disappointment Mr & Mrs Smith, holding an additional $300 of booking fees, has been not very helpful either. So, having so far seen nothing of the $400 refund from Casa Sandra nor a voucher for the $300 Mr & Mrs Smith took, I can not recommend booking via either of them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest: Although a bit late we would like to answer your review for which we thank you. We are completely aware of your booking and cancellation process and would like to say on our behalf that all moneys were refunded in proper time, considering the fact that we are on an island and that payment had not cleared at the time you made your cancellation. We invite you to consider visiting CasaSandra, we know you will not be disappointed, in fact we are certain you will want to come back. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent four nights on Holbox Island. We were a bit surprised at the next style furnishings I had thought it would be plusher for the cost of the holiday. The meals were fine but it would make a difference if the chef could add a few more dishes to his menu. We enjoyed the beach and how close it was, although you are restricted with things to do here. We are used to having a bit more action and by the second day we were longing for some. The main letdown was the water pressure in the shower with lots of minute turns you could get something ok going on. Very expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments, we deeply regret CasaSandra did not meet your expectations, Holbox is certainly not for everybody, it is however ideal for guest in search of a quiet paradise, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was just perfect for an intimate meal with my wife. We thought about booking our stay here but was unsure. We walked past it during the day while walking into the local village and thought it looked nice so that night we decided to eat there and was not disappointed. Its not a big restaurant, not many tables, very relaxing, nice quality interior and table settings. Menu and wine range was good, when the food arrived it was excellent. Service was good, no rush, very relaxing, drinks flowed, coffee great, other tables as we did seem to enjoy the whole atmosphere the restaurant tries to create. I have to say thank you to CasaSandra, its staff and place for a very enjoyable evening. (on some nights they say they have live music or themed nights which could be lively and I'm sure equally as enjoyable, but for me and what I wanted after a hard day sun bathing, swimming, beach walking it was perfect).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for your lovely comment! We aim to make our guests feel the comfort and romance of CasaSandra, we so happy you learn you enjoyed your visit and hope you can come back and experience our hospitality and Cuban nights with live music on saturdays and try the best mojitos on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a wonderful week of doing very little on Isla Holbox. Sun, air, water, good drinks and delicious food, occasionally interrupted by short expeditions down the beach or into the small town. Our suite was lovely and clean, cool except during a short power outage, but still airy from the breezes. The hammock on the porch was a great idea, but at this class of hotel, they should be real sisal and woven so that the sides are tighter than the middle rather than the reverse. We had a daily visit from a calm iguana! Nice touches, like the conch shower head and natural toiletries, interesting picture books in the rooms, and general natural feel of the decor made for a perfect beach experience. We appreciated the owner's art throughout the hotel as it gave a unique and personal flavor, although I admit to not liking much of it. The staff was often not quite up to the professional level one might expect, but their friendly natures more than compensated for that, and we quickly learned to be a little more aggressive with certain servers when we wanted a second drink or more tostones, for instance. Everything we ate was at least very good, often excellent- no mean feat when getting the basic ingredients is no small challenge! Personally, I was surprised that they try to maintain a permanent menu under those circumstances. I would have been perfectly happy with a 'Here's what is available today' approach, in keeping with the exigencies of island living. Only one real complaint: when we left, we asked for help getting a taxi/van to Meridá. The staff was happy to help, but we ended up paying $350 for a very small car and driver from Chiquilá when we were told it would be a van, and the price posted on the dock there was $180. They could have given us better information and saved us enough for a high quality large hammock!!

Room Tip: Upstairs! More air. Also, if you like a sitting area with air conditioning (there's plenty of pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSandraHotel, Director de Recepción at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Family: It was a real pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for letting us know your concerns and how much you appreciated CasaSandra's art and details, we take all our guest comments very seriously as they help us better our guests experience, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Sandra in March. This property is just lovely. Our room was classy and elegant with nice amenities. We found ALL of the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was very generous and delicious! Home-made breads and muffins, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk, juices and eggs. The location is perfect -- on a great section of the beach and far enough away from the noise in town. This is a sophisticated option for lodging on Isla Holbox, but it is pricey for this area. (Still, Casa Sandra is MUCH nicer than another luxury resort that has recently opened further down the island, with NO beach at all)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director of Sales at CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaSandra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaSandra Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle de la Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77730, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaSandra Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a long time owner, Sandra, wanted to write by the sea. She went in search of a remote world, quiet, where the blue was obvious. One day, she landed in Cancun and the attraction of the Mayan land was overwhelming. She took a small plane and flew over the island of Holbox.Nothing was more attractive to her than the Feast of the colors of nature, barefoot fishermen with their gold teeth, women weaving hammocks or sheathed with their heels in the sand. "I want to do something here, " she said and began to imagine in her head this project now called "the hotel with a human touch" on this very beach.The land of more than 150 species of birds, whale shark, or Damero world's largest fish, mangroves in each corner, all were an inspiration to this artist.Then she wanted to welcome friends from around the world and to express, through a hotel on the island of Holbox, a point of view on life: "peace and art are a great treasure for humans. " Because of this she thought of a place that is romantic, sexy, creative, where the personalized, warm, rustic atmosphere in a luxurious twenty rooms that look to the sea, where one could meet the privacy and whims of its guests. All done out of love and passion. The same place where one can dream and create, and in the best case, where one can rest.The joy of giving and expressing a new way of caring for guests, has been the commitment of the hotel. Every detail has a reason: from the small art gallery with paintings by renowned artists to the beautiful furniture that inhabit the halls.Feelings, emotions, poetry, touches of color, aromas of black coffee, hammocks, fabric on the balconies, fluffy sheets, the sea at every angle, and romantic evenings create the magic of the "place of your dreams." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your CasaSandra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sandra Hotel Holbox Island
Casa Sandra Holbox Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaSandra Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.