We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol
Playa Norte, Paseo Kuka, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We'll go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Palapas del Sol has created a wonderful, peaceful, and family-like vibe! We truly enjoyed our stay here. It was our favorite lodging of the three places we stayed (Akumal & Tulum being the others). Site is well laid out with attractive landscaping, a pool, open-air dining room, and beachfront access. Our room was comfortable and beatifully appointed. Breakfasts and lunches were delicious, healthy, and fresh. We enjoyed the self-service nature of beverages. Because of the arrangement at Palapas del Sol, we got to know some very nice and interesting people from around the world. Adriana, Samuel, and Estela are accommodating, friendly, and accessible. Whale shark tour was phenomenal (we suggest Willy's). We would definitely stay here again!

During several of the days of our stay here, there was some construction going on behind our room. The noise was inconvenient and disturbing at times. We understand that this has to happen sometime, but we would like to be communicated to about when it was going to take place so we could plan our days/activities appropriately. Isla de Holbox does have quite a few insects, which makes things uncomfortable at times. If you're prepared for them, you can have a wonderful experience on this island.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a better view of water, but upstairs rooms have the palapa roof/ceiling. Upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianafromHolbox, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hello guys, what a sweet review, we´d love to have you back, but then without construction going on. We needed desperately a storage cabin for Palapas del Sol to be more prepared to receive guests. Unfortunately there indeed was this construction going during your holiday, we understand how important they are for our guests. We are sorry for this convenience, and more so for not having mentioned it to you about the working hours of the Mexican people, which seem to vary a lot. We will postpone further construction till the 3rd week of construction to ensure a quiet stay for all. Sorry again for this inconvenience, on your return you´ll find a more quiet Palapas del Sol, just the way we love it ourselves so much. Sending a lot of warmth and sunlight from Isla Holbox to you, and thanks so much for your comment, they help as so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed there (2 kids, 2 parents) last week for several days and really enjoyed our time. The owner, Adriana, went out of her way to make us comfortable and well fed. A Mayan couple help run the property and do the cooking - delicious. We needed transportation to to and they lent us a golf cart - that type of kindness. The bugs are thick at dusk but outside, not in the rooms. Rates are 120 for the 4 of us and moderate cost for the meals we took, including lobster ceviche.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful and helpful review! The islanders are still mentioning your beautiful family and send their warm greetings. There are not many people that are able to take their families on so many occasions to see the whale shark, and May is always low season on Isla Holbox, allowing visitors to make the best deals directly with the hotel owners. We were delighted with your reservation and stay with us at Palapas del Sol and we would love to welcome you and your family again in your home on the island! Sunny greetings from paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Palapas del Sol for three nights in April 2012 and it was fantastic. Everyone made a special effort to make us feel really welcome and Samuel and Estela treated us so well! Estela even taught me how to make her delicious empañadas!
The hotel itself is extremely well equiped and the drinks system means that you don´t have to walk into town for your beer! The rooms are really clean and have a lovely decor. Adriana was a wonderful host and couldn´t do enough for us all.
Holbox is a beautiful island and I was recommend anyone to go there...it is totally unspoilt and everyone is so laid back. The restaurants were all fantastic and it is really like going back in time.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we are off again at the end of June!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful and warm review! I would also like the opportunity to thank you again for your second stay with us last week with your family. Also thank you so much for all those beautiful pictures from Palapas del Sol that we can use on our website. The pictures are a refreshing eye on this privileged spot on earth. We hope that all went well on your way back home, and we are looking forward to receive you and your family in your home on Isla Holbox. Estela and Samuel are back from their holiday and are sending you their warmest greetings. Good luck with all your new projects, we will wait for your return on the island! Sending the best to your amazing dad, lovely sister and sparkling you! AB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is our first time back to hotbox in 5 years. The island has changed dramatically. There are much more restaurants, hotels, and organized tourist operations. It is still very quaint and relaxing but it is easier to navigate, especially with a 5 year old.
Palapas del sol is lovely. The staff, Topo and Estella a amazing and treat you as family. Adriana will go out of her way to make you feel welcome. The open kitchen and large covered table for communal meals is amazing. Yesterday we went fishing and caught dinner for all. Topo Prepared the fish and Estella cook us a variety of dishes.
I would recommend eating meals that Estella prepares. She posts a menu for the day and for a little extra money you can have a fantastic meal. You can purchase beer and add it to the refrigerator. It is an amazing system.
The rooms are perfect. We stayed in a king sized bed with large patio facing the sea. There are ceiling fans and air conditioning which is perfect to put a 5 year old to bed in. There are Mosquitos at sun rise and sun set so be prepared with spray or lotions. Adriana supplied us with both. There seems to be a supply at the kitchen and eating area.
Adriana and Topo arranged our boat trip yesterday. We went fishing, snorkeling, and site seeing. A great day. I will place a review in trip advisor. Louis at toursticamoguel was awesome.
Topi and Estella have a little boy as well that was perfect for our 5 year old to play with. We have had such a great time that we are staying another night even though we have a hotel in cancun already paid for.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the sea. We liked the front ground floor as it has a large outdoor seating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your helpful and positive review! We are looking forward to receive you and your family again this summer, as we are striving to improve our installations everyday with dedication and great pleasure. Come back soon, as your paradise is waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunhem, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

the people and the suroundings of this hotel makes that you never want to go home again...
thy make you feel at home frome the first second you arrive untill the day you leave...
you forget about time and all the worries you might have disappear into the turqoois blue ocean.
breakfast is great and the vieuw you have while enjoying it cannot get any better.
pelicans diving for fish,seagulls and even dolphins..
a dream come true.
so much relaxing that we even missed our plane :)

we left with tears in our eyes,love in our hearts and deep respect for the owners of palapas del sol.

thankyou for our super holiday

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianafromHolbox, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the review, and it was wonderful to have you both at Palapas del Sol, we try to make everybody feel at home, so you can truly enjoy a carefree and relaxing holiday. Hugs from Samuel, Estela and Adriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I met Adriana (the owner) on the ferry over to Holbox. A snafu with our reservation at another nearby hotel left us without a room for our first night. We walked over to Palapas del Sol and were welcomed with open arms--quite literally--by our new friend. Adriana, Tomo and Estella were gracious and wonderful hosts. The room was large and clean with a gorgeous, unobstructed view of the ocean and a perfect hammock to watch the sunset. Estela cooked us a delicious Mexican breakfast that we enjoyed family-style with the other guests. The location is great--removed from the more populated part of the beach near town but close enough to town to walk to the restaurants and shops. It truly felt like we were staying in the guest room at our friend's home. If only our other friends had home's in such beautiful locations!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianafromHolbox, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you so much guys for this sweet and inspiring review. As Samuel (Topo) Estela and myself have begun this little hotelito just recently, we sure can use this review and hopefully will help to get the right people to the right places on the wonderful island of Holbox! We look forward to receive you again, hopefully soon and hopefully for a longer stay! The best comment you could have made was: don't change anything, all is perfect! That comment is still singing to me every morning since you've found your home of your newly found friends here on Isla Holbox!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This lovely hotelito has privacy and quiet within a walk to the center. You can fall asleep listening to the waves and wake up to a delicious Mexican breakfast, something different everyday. Estela is a wonderful cook, and Samuel can help arrange tours and/or transportation.

We love this island and especially this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianafromHolbox, Owner at Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, our very first on Tripadvisor! We, Samuel, Estela and myself look forward to receive you again in our little hotelito on the wonderful beach of Isla Holbox. Samuel and Estela have been living in Palapas del Sol for over twelve years now, and last year expressed their wishes to turn our house into a hotel, since they love to receive guests and make them feel at home. They take care of every little detail, with a lot of dedication and great pleasure, and I (Adriana) couldn't have wished for better people to have come into my life. Samuel and Estella are co-owners of this hotelito, and we're all excited that guests as yourself feel at home away from home! Thanks again and greetings from paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol

Address: Playa Norte, Paseo Kuka, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palapas del Sol is a small ocean front beach hotel, with just eight rooms to rent. All rooms have air conditioning, private entrances, bathrooms and balconies or terraces. The ambiance is tranquil, the attention is very personal, and mayan hospitality will make you feel at home. At Palapas del Sol we assist our guests with transfers, tours, spa and beauty services, romantic dinners on the beach, honeymoon suite available only on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Palapas del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.