We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Sushi & roots bar

Pura Vida Sushi & roots bar
Calle tiburon ballena frente a canchas de basquet, Holbox Island 77500, Mexico
0133 1341 0840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 59 restaurants in Holbox Island
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This place looks really classy and has a wide menu, but the food wasnt living up to the expectation. We had the fish tacos and some sushi, all of whom were not very good. The sushi was actually pretty bad, and way over priced. I recommend simply having drinks, when there is live music at the plaza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    28
    16
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only had drinks here so can't comment on the food but I will say the staff was charming and the location is delightful - right on the square for good people watching. Nice place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good well priced sushi was a nice change to tacos! Lovely little restaurant with good cocktails that you can sip whilst watching the world go by in Holbox. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Atmposphere and Great Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was suprised by the quality of the sushi and the service we received. the drinks were good too. All in all a relaxing dining experience and nice ambiance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Music too loud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We wen to this place for a drink. We were seated in front of a big loudspeaker that was playing heavy rock at full volume. The waiter couldn´t hear our order so we left. Sushi and Heavy Rock is not what I call Pura Vida.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida Sushi & roots bar also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pura Vida Sushi & roots bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Sushi & roots bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.