We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa los Mangles Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa los Mangles Apartments to your Saves list
Villa los Mangles Apartments
Calle Pampano | entre Kuka y Cortes, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The accommodations were excellent, very clean, perfect location and Antoine was very insightful and helpful with any questions. The island is isolated and beaches are pristine. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Villa Los Mangles is at the North end of Holbox which is to say the quiet end. It is a hop, skip and a jump to the beach and about 10 minutes or less walk to the center of town. A great venue to be away from all the noise in El Centro during major celebrations like Semana Santa, Carnival and New Year's but not too far away from a little mini super mercado in case you've run out of beer. This was our second stay at Villa Los Mangles and our 5th visit to Holbox. We will be going back again. And Liliana and Antoine are really helpful and dedicated hosts! Villa Los Mangles is a little slice of paradise.

Room Tip: If you don't want to do any cooking, rent the palapa de amor. Otherwise, rent one of the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was the perfect little hotel for us. We just stayed there for 2 nights last week, and on the 3rd night we stayed at one of the most expensive hotels on the island, well we regret it. Villa Mangles was so much better! Antoine was the nicest guy ever, sat with us for like half an hour explaining all the good places around the island, all his food advices were the best places we ate no the island. I have nothing but good things to say. The room and bathroom was very clean. We had a 360º view and a 2 min. walk to the beach. When I go back to Holbox I won't think twice about staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed no the top floor and had the best view of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

loved this place...a bit far from town but no complaints. id come back again. antoine is great. the room is clean and you cant really beat the price.....bathrooms could use a diff color paint but no big deal

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I rented the apartment (with kitchen) and the friendship room as my husband and I, 2 of our kids and one of their friends came up (we live in QRoo) for the long weekend (school holiday Monday) and for Holbox's first 10K. I was rather shocked at the ferry sticker price (even with the run discount) that ran $720 RT for the 5 of us but that was the only negative (and honestly it wasn't a negative, just kind of shocked at the price). I actually made the girl walk from the ferry dock to the house (not knowing the taxis were only $30) but after driving for 3 hours (even with a stop at Costco in Cancun) and sitting on the ferry, I thought we needed to move around a bit.

The apartments were lovely! We have great air flow as the girls' room had no A/C but a nice ventilator and even my girl who cannot live without A/C was just fine with the fan only. I'm not sure how she would have fared in the summer but maybe we'll find out as we can't WAIT to come back. I was very pleasantly surprised by all the supplies in the kitchen, down to tupperware containers for leftovers! I was also surprised to have maid service on Sundays as I can't remember the last time we got Sunday maid service in places we've stayed so that was a lovely surprise.

There are hammocks galore and the beach is within sight of the house. We loved walking down to the beach, renting bikes in town ($15/hr) and riding to the end of the southern road. I felt so comfortable there that I let the youngest girls (12) head out on their own Monday to rent bikes (they're both fluent in Spanish as we live here) and toodle around for an hour or so. We didn't eat out anywhere but instead ate from the kitchen.

We've never been to Holbox despite living here 7 years and now i'm trying to figure out how to get out of our already-booked stay at Isla Mujeres for Semana Santa to come back to Holbox. :) Honestly, we'll likely try to come back at summer or figure out some way. We LOVED the apartments and the mozzies were very kind to us. PSA - if you're driving from the PdC area, we found it was actually shorter to drive via Cancun than Coba (even with the road washout on the Cancun route).

Can't wait to return! Antione is so helpful and kind and the place is absolutely LOVELY. We've also easily encouraged my daughter's friend's family to come to Holbox too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I took our first trip to Holbox in March 2014 and are very happy we discovered Los Mangles. This is the opposite of an upscale resort - it's very small (maybe 4 rooms), a beautifully maintained, spotlessly clean hotel set back from the beach (no beach view, from the first floor at least). Antoine and his wife are wonderful hosts who did everything possible to make our trip a success, including helping us with our trip home, even after we had left the hotel and weren't paying guests anymore. Very reasonably priced, too. Small factors - lack of hot water in the kitchen and no-seeums that may (or not) have come in through the air conditioner - might bother some, but were small annoyances we brushed off as the price to pay when experiencing an out-of-the-way magical part of the world. We loved Los Mangles and will be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Only about 100 yards from the beach, a really quiet location. Simple, bright,clean rooms, very pleasant helpful owner, even dogs to befriend!

Isla Holbox is a bit of a trek from Cancun but a really quiet pleasant place with low rise accommodation in contrast to the hideous big all inclusive and expensive resorts around Cancun. Well worth making the extra effort to get there. The birdlife on Holbox is amazing - one day I will return when the whale sharks are around!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa los Mangles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa los Mangles Apartments

Address: Calle Pampano | entre Kuka y Cortes, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa los Mangles is located on the quietest area of the Island, at only 1 block from the beach and just 10 minutes walking distance from town centre.There are 2 apartments with kitchen/living room and bedroom, 1 triple room with 3 single beds and 1 double room with an amazing 360° view over the Island and the sea.Here you can book fishing trips, boat excursions, horseback riding, snorkeling with whale sharks tours (15 may-15 sept.), kiteboarding lessons and golf car/bikes rental.The little inn is family run and the most important feature of the service is the personal treat, to make you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa los Mangles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa los Mangles Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.