We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Zapata

Viva Zapata
1/2 block west of the main square | Calle Damero 67 Solar 14, Holbox Island, Mexico
+52 984 875 2362
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 62 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pescado fresco directo de los pescadores de la Isla. Comida tipica Holboxno
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

the restaurant is always good. the new bar extention is a great improvement. Music could be more local... old american songs are not what we expect when we are on a beautiful island such as Holbox.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    94
    36
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldergrove, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun, Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Guitar player was so enjoyable
loved the fresh made food, especially the tortillas being made on the open fire at the center of the retaurant
cool atmosphere, fun for couples, families, groups of friends

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty average fare...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Our last dinner on Holbox was at Viva Zapata. It's always pretty busy so we thought we would give it a try. The staff were friendly but immediately went for the up-sell on the fish grill which, although sounded nice, we weren't interested in. They also kept going on about the special, handmade tortillas.

We started with Queso Fundido which was less a cheese dip and more a bowl of melted cheese. Very stodgy for a starter. For mains we went for grilled Flank Steak and a Spicy Shrimp Skewer. Flank has a tendency to be a tougher cut but it makes up for that with flavour. In this instance it was too tough to eat and the flavour was overpowered by grilled onions. Disappointing. To be fair the shrimps were very well cooked but the sauce was more marinara than Diablo. Both mains were served with the standard rice and salad which again were pretty average.

The highlight...? The handmade tortillas and homemade (very spicy) habanero sauce although I'm sure we'll encounter good handmade tortillas and homemade hot sauce as we continue our travels through Mexico.

All in all a slightly disappointing last dinner on the island.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoa, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff/Bartenders, Great Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ate here numerous times during our week stay in Holbox. Locals seem to flock here later into the night, which creates a good vibe. Laidback atmosphere, swings at the bar, delicious grilled seafood... first time I ever ate Octopus and I loved it! The seafood platter for 4 (or maybe it was 2) was HUGE and a choice array of fresh fish, lobster, crab, octopus and shrimp. Had plenty leftover to make tacos the next day. Fave dish had to be the shrimp with cream and garlic though (separate night)... simply delectable. I suggest this place to anyone who visits the island!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would really recommend this place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Great food to a good price! Best combo!
And also in a nice atmosphere whit awsome service!
They offer daily fresh seafood.
We had the best shrimp plate here!! I would really recommend this restaurant!
Peace// Sweden

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Zapata also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Viva Zapata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Zapata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.