We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Holbox” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Nubes De Holbox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Las Nubes De Holbox to your Saves list
Las Nubes De Holbox
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo Kuka s/n | esquina Calle Camaron, Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Holbox”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It´s the third time my husband and I visit this lovely island (first time in Las Nubes). We loved the place, it´s right in front of the water. I must say it´s a bit pricey (compared to other hotels in the island), but we have not complaints, they have their own bikes and kayaks you can use 24/7 free of charge, beautiful food at the restaurant and home made bread for breakfast every morning. Olga, the head of reception-manager was an amazing host.
Las Nubes is the only hotel in the island with its own electric generator, and since I needed to work a bit, that was very helpful because electricity do tend to go down when Holbox is overcrowded (summer).

Be aware of mosquitos!

Room Tip: request for "in front of the beach room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasNubesHolbox, Director de Recepción at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Isa079,

Thank you very much for your comment. We hope you can come back soon to enjoy again our paradise.


Best regards,

Las Nubes de Holbox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I spent two fabulous nights and three days at Las Nubes. Our experience was awesome. We were greeted by very professional staff. Checked into our room with no problems. We had a very beautiful, clean suite. The beds were comfortable and plenty of pillows, which I need. The water pressure in the shower was very good. Hot water! Food at the restaurant was good. We did get the lobster pizza at a restaurant outside the hotel, which was very good.. (it was recommended on this site!) We did a tour and swam with the whale sharks. We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: we had the room that had two king beds. it was private!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasNubesHolbox, Director de Recepción at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We hope you can visit us again and enjoy the hotel and the island.

Best regards,

Las Nubes de Holbox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was looking for a quick get away to a rather isolated, clean, beach, free from the bracelet selling atmosphere elsewhere. We wanted comfort and luxury and to be left alone and yet we wanted to be attended to. We were granted all of these things and then some. The staff was one better than the next. Always happy, welcoming, helpful, friendly, but never over bearing. They are eager to make your stay the way you want it to be and they each go out of there way to surprise you with little kindnesses.

The hotel is positioned a five minute bike ride up the beach from the rest of the beach hotels and activities - which I prefer. The hotel has bikes for you to use but if your feeling lazy a golf rental is easily had. It's a great place to go if you want quiet reading time or private togetherness with your party. I enjoyed the private pools (i am not looking for a pool with a singles swim up bar filled with drunks urinating in the water) but i do suggest bringing a raft if you like to linger around in the water.

We were there in mid to end of June and we did get some mosquito bites - but I believe other times of the year are not so bad for this.

The value of this botuquie hotel is the privacy, the contemporary elegance of the grounds and the perfectly appointed accommodations, with the small luxuries such as nice robes, fresh towels and sheets daily, along with evening spealty sweets and water placed in your room every evening. The chef is creative and the food is fresh and was some of the best on the island. The bar master, Jose, is just simply the tops and the cappuccino is perfect. It is a small island with a tight nit population, it is a simple beautiful environment - raw in some places but not at Las Nubes.

Room Tip: Talk with the staff - via email or phone -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Las Nubes is the most wonderful and trendy small boutique hotel you can imagine. It is definitely the best hotel on Holbox.
The views are indescribably beautiful and the atmosphere just fantastic.
We stayed in a junior suite, which was very nice and spacious.
At arrival we were greeted with drinks and a frozen towel and had a short introduction to the hotels services etc.
Las Nubes is situated at the end of the road, where the best beach on the island begins. It is the only beach on the island where you don’t have to wade through several meters of disgusting seaweed to get a swim, and the beach stretching to the right is picture perfect.
You can actually walk out to a sand bank, and then walk several kilometres along this fantastic beach.
The service at Las Nubes was also fantastic. At the restaurant there often were several waiters per table. Generally there seemed to be a lot of employees compared to number of guests, which of course resulted in a service second to none. The hotel and the surroundings were spotlessly kept clean and maintained - the beach and walkabouts were swept every morning just to give you an example.
All the employees were so nice and service minded – especially the guys at the restaurant did a fantastic job.
The hotel has their own little private stretch of beach with hammocks etc. and the waiters will bring you drinks, snacks etc. during the day.
There a 3 small pools, but despite the modest size they are actually very nice. Only a few guests used the pools and especially the kids loved them.
Hotel has a restaurant just by the sea, and you actually get the feeling being on a boat deck when eating at the restaurant. Breakfast is continental, with fresh fruit, juices etc and very nice. Lunch and dinner weren’t expensive – a giant steak is around 15 USD so other comment about this being a very pricy hotel isn’t entirely true. At night you have fresh chocolates, strawberries etc. brought to your room, together with cold bottle water.
Before going to bed, you must go to the rooftop balconies and watch the most fantastic starry sky imaginable. We have never seen anything like this – you can literally watch millions of stars, with no lights around to disturb the view (this goes of course for all Holbox island).
Bikes, kayaks etc. are free, and you can rent a golf car to drive around the island – just order it at the reception, and it will be ready for you whenever you choose.
The only negatives we can think of, was that the menu in the restaurant gets a little monotonous when eating there all week, and that the numbers of sunshades on the beach were a little limited, but that is absolutely trivial matters that wont spoil the overall impression.
So conclusively this is a fantastic hotel on the most charming little island, and we will definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We chose this place for our mini moon (we had just married on the Riviera Maya) based on other reviews and the hotel website - it looked amazing. But we quickly realized it was all smoke and mirrors.

Upon our arrival, no one was on hand to welcome us. I'm not usually one to travel and expect to be waited on hand and foot, but this was a pricey venture and it should come with the territory. After our golf cart cab driver dropped us off and place our bags outside the front door on the dirt road, no one was on hand to help - we had to carry them in to the small lobby and someone finally came out. Although we had reservations and informed them we would arrive at 3PM, they were a bit surprised to see us. We could barely hear the man speaking to us because of the multiple construction projects happening around us. To the west, there were crews of men building some sort of new structure. And to the east, another crew was banging on pipes seemingly fixing something. The individual speaking with us said that because of the construction we had been upgraded from our ocean front bungalow to a junior suite, which we assumed also had ocean front access, so we were okay with it. As we traversed the grounds of the hotel, we were led on a bit of a wild goose chase because of the other multiple construction/repair projects happening on site. There was no direct route to our room. We passed a pool that was filthy and unusable and our junior suite deck was also unusable because crews of men were staining it. The level of noise was ridiculous. The smell of paint was awful. But this was also made even worse because of the stench of rotten fish and sewage all over the place. The smell was so awful that we were dry heaving along the maze of a route to our "suite". We finally got to our suite and it was terrible. It was a bit larger than the bungalow and not on the ocean (which, let's face it, is the important part of reserving an ocean front bungalow). And, yes, it had a deck, but we couldn't use it because they were staining it.

The accommodations, decor, and overall feel of the room was bad too - this is not horribly important if you're paying $100/night at a local motel, but we were expecting absolute luxury because we were paying for it. We sat in the room and were absolutely miserable as we could not tolerate the smell or the noise. When we spoke with the management and they seemingly could not help in any way, we had to leave.

Having traveled throughout Mexico and Central America and other parts of the world for the past 30 years, I know what various establishments offer for certain prices. Bottom line, this place is absolutely not worth the cost. The heavy projects didn't help either. We had reserved our 3 night stay about a month in advance, so clearly they knew we were coming - why plan major construction during a stay that the establishment promises to be serene and relaxing? But what made it worse was the poor customer service. There was no effort to help us or improve the situation, so instead, we chose to take matters into our own hands and leave so that we could have the mini honeymoon we wanted.

To date, the hotel refuses to refund the money for the 3 nights paid in advance. Yet another testament to the poor service at Las Nubes. Yes, it seems that everyone at the hotel does, in fact, have their heads in the clouds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasNubesHolbox, Director General at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Mrs. Garibay

Regards from Holbox Island.

First of all the management team at Las Nubes wish you had a nice trip even if you did not get through our guest experience. The comment you made below makes it hard for us to understand your rating as you never experienced our full service besides the welcome.

As I can recall, your main complaint upon your arrival was the smell of the seaweed which we explained the cause. It is not our fault that the beach was smelly as it happens in this season that the sea cleans itself by taking out all the dead plants and seaweed towards the beach, which we had completely cleaned but the smell is out of our control, it´s something that happens in nature. Even if you had gone to any other hotel in the island, you were going to experience the same smell and possibly dirty beaches compared to us, as we had a beach cleaning service in that time.


About the customer service, I wish to apologize for your experience, I must say; am surprised about your comment because we always have someone at the reception and all of our staff members are fully trained on how to greet and welcome guests. We have never had any sort of problems with our customer service before. We do appreciate your opinion and we will take it into consideration.

About the construction project, I would like to let you know that keeping the hotel well maintained is a part of our service because we like to keep our standards as high as you say our prices are. It is also because we are by the seaside and we have to constantly paint our decks as the sea salty water can wash out paint.
We do make sure that the projects are carried out during the day when customers are awake or out of the hotel so to avoid making noise and destructing them. You checked in at 3pm in the afternoon when the projects were still in progress but we did assure you that they will be finished in 1:30 hours at most.
We also like to remind you that, you came at a low season, in this season that´s when we carry out most projects around the hotel hence low season.

Never the less, we would like to apologize to you for the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel and all the inconvenience caused, even though we tried our best to make you feel welcome but it seems your mind was already made up before you even checked in.

I would also like to say; Trip Advisor is not a site to affect the image of a hotel, but a way to share your full experience that you lived at the hotel.

Best regards.
General Manager Las Nubes Holbox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zapopan, Jalisco, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap experience this is definitely not your option.. But if you are looking to be in a cozy atmosphere with a lot of WOW experiences, this is your place!
Where should we start? Everything was perfect! Of course it is an expensive hotel if you compare it with other “cheap” hotels… but what I can assure you is that your expectations will be surpassed. From the reviews I’ve read I’m a bit disappointed in how we are criticizing hotels, for example I read that it was “too pricy” and that the “personnel” was not serviceable but from our experience I can tell you that you get what you pay for and a lot more. Here are some examples of what we experienced: it is a small boutique hotel so everyone will call you by your name, The Chef “Arturo” pleased us with customized dishes… such as the tastier lobster, ceviche and a “habanero salsa” we have had in our life!, fresh and accessible food, every morning they clean the beach removing the algae (in other hotels from holbox this was nasty!), enough bikes & kayaks at your disposal for free, several roof views to watch the amazing holbox sunset, Excellente beds & showers, the director of the hotel attention at the end of your visit to check everyone was fine, pools with temp regulated water, they even have a raccoon family to feed at night as a hotel attraction! We have paid for the same amount in other 5 diamond hotels and this is much better due to the experience + the location!

Room Tip: anyroom is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Holbox Island is a little gem of a place, hard to find these days in the Yucatan. Sandy streets, no cars (just golf buggies), little family run restaurants and lowkey nightlife. Perfect! We stayed at Las Nubes for just 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Its at the far end of the long stunning beach with the most incredible views from the beachfront rooms and from the restaurant deck and upstairs al fresco bar. Loved it. The hotel is small, personal and a world away from the big resorts of Cancun and Playa del Carmen - thank gawd!

The food is good and our lunch on arrival of pescado al ajillo was delicious and came accompanied by homemade fresh bread - a hard-to-find luxury in Mexico, even in the most expensive hotels! Service was very friendly and willing in the restaurant but don't expect 3 Star michelin levels, you just need a little patience if you don't speak Spanish.

We had a bungalow which we preferred as it had more character and was closest to the ocean, had decent a/c and a great shower.

Location is at the far end of the beach which is great for the peace and quiet and during the day its a short 10min cycle ride of 7 mins by golf cart if you're dining elsewhere at night, hardly a distance worth complaining about as per some of the other reviews!

All in, highly recommended.

Room Tip: For more character choose the bungalow rooms which face the deck and are closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Nubes De Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Nubes De Holbox

Address: Paseo Kuka s/n | esquina Calle Camaron, Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Nubes De Holbox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Nubes De Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Nubes De Holbox Hotel Holbox Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Nubes De Holbox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.