We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa BlatHa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa BlatHa to your Saves list
Casa BlatHa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Island Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My son and I spent 5 nights at Casa BlatHa and every minute was pure bliss! The staff is so friendly and ready to welcome you with any request. I planned our trip at the last minute, and there were no air conditioned rooms available for our first night so we stayed in the main building with a porch, hammock, ceiling fan and mosquito netting over the bed. The room was small, but very clean, and the stone tub and other details were really cute. On the second day we were moved to our air conditioned room in the secondary building on the second floor with a king sized bed, and porch with hammock overlooking the ocean and sunset. It couldn't have been more beautiful or peaceful. It's a short 10 minute walk to town. The hotel arranged our whale shark swim, as well as our kayak trip through the mangroves. Both trips were competitively priced and our guides were top notch. There's yoga most days on the roof, ending with an unbelievable view of the sunset. There's wifi in the lobby if you need to check in with the real world. The chefs in the restaurant worked non-stop all day and night, baking bread, making fresh fruit drinks, and preparing daily specials. The staff made several excellent recommendations for the nights we ate in town. Besides swimming with whale sharks and kayaking, we walked to a lagoon to see the flamingos and played in the ocean at night where the phosphorus lit up the water with our own self designed light show...like Bio Bay in Puerto Rico. I read a review of the island before going that said Isla Holbox is Mexico before the tourists and crime and that review was spot on. I'm still pinching myself that we got to experience everything we did.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    58
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
106
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is a bed and breakfast on the beach of Isla Holbox. It's like a bed and breakfast; I've really appreciated the breakfast (the bread, the marmelade and even the tea are homemade, with their own production) and the hotel itself that is very charming. It's a bit far from the city center, so you need a taxi, in particular during the night to reach it. But the view in front of the see is unique and you can see all the stars during the night. The only problem is that you don't have wifi in the room, the price is quite expensive (but on line with the other hotels) and the personal is not very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Its difinatly a 100% recommened get away from noisy town or city place, not just the wheal shark swiming program, its only 20 steps away from the most quite beach you could ever seem and found of a lifetime. Make it real and great adventure of your own.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What an amazing stay here on Isla Holbox. Clean and comfortable rooms right on the water. Daniel has managed to bring together a group of people who are in-sync with the island flow, and they really help to provide a stellar experience to this property. Don't miss out on the bio-luminescence in the water across from the hotel, if it is still the right season. Town is an easy walk along the beach, and you're far enough away that you can actually feel like you're somewhat off the grid. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We wanted to get away from the all included resorts and we choose Isla Holbox. What a great choice we made! Nature, Peace, authentical experience were the target of our stay. Daniel and all his team at Casa BlatHa were extraordinary. Clean rooms, good vegetarian menu at their restaurant and yoga classes on the roof! They have a garden and chicken in the backyard (fresh products) and beautiful little terrasse where you can relax and eat. Just in front of a calm beach, Casa BlatHa offer a variety of activities and help to book it for you. All the staff are very smily and nice. You can enjoy the WiFi, books or other distractions in the commun area. Fresh water and a fridge is available as the same place.

We highly recommend this location and this particular hotel, for everyone that would like to reconnect with nature, relax far away from the resorts activities and meet real mexicans, not just tourists.

Thanks again for this wonderful stay and good luck with your future project Daniel!

Room Tip: Ocean view and air conditioning rooms Reserve your meal at the restaurant when you feel for it! Am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

we love, love, love case blatha! i can't say enough good things about them. we stayed 8 days and each and every one was fantastic. we can't wait to go back next year. our room was quaint and peaceful. we loved seeing our iguana friend on the deck each day. the added bonus of yoga 3 times a week was delightful. perfect location for walking on the beach to town each day, not too far but far enough. i have not felt so good in a long time as i did when staying there. eating their fresh organic food, running on the beach, kayaking the mangroves and yoga in the evening. i wish i could live there!!!

Room Tip: loved the view from the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place is run with love, and you can feel it. Had a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back. The staff is friendly and personable, the food is absolutely delicious, and the accommodations are perfect (and beach-front!).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa BlatHa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa BlatHa

Address: Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa BlatHa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blatha feelsi like your home in paradise. We have 12 rooms, a roof garden where we practice yoga, a palapa for meditation and massage, an organic orchard and a restaurant with vegan options. Our mision is to create moments that inspire everyone to live in harmony with our surrounding and our selves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa BlatHa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa BlatHa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.