We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-hotel outside the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa BlatHa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa BlatHa to your Saves list
Casa BlatHa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Queretaro, Mexico
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Eco-hotel outside the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel, which overlooks the beach a kilometer or so outside the town. The room was small but very comfortable and the common area was nice. The host is very friendly and has done a great job minimizing the impacts of the place. They have bicycles to lend which helps with getting back and forth to town. The island is amazing and wonderful to explore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    59
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
106
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there 10 days in Dec. 2012 and it's amazing how this place is quiet. The Casa is a little out of the village (15 min. walk) but you can join the village by the beach. It is not a place for hyperactive people but if you like to take it slow and meet travelers from all over the world it is the place. The owner speak English, French and Spanish and all the staff is very kind. The breakfast is taken together so it is a good place to exchange with others. The Casa make his own jam from his bio-garden...fantastic! Holbox village is very quiet...difficult to believe so close to Cancun! Bring your repelent because in the darkness mosquitoes wait for you...in the daytime no problemo. A very special place and hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the second and third level are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

It was the best place ever... Holbox is amazing and Casa Blat-ha is the best place to stay... They are really friendly, and the place is very charming. It feels like you are at home. The rooms are very romantic but it is also very good if you are solo.

Room Tip: Every single room is excellent... The higher the better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love Casa Blat Ha. Two blissful days in this gorgeous, relaxed, clean and elegant house were the perfect start to my Yucatan pilgrimage. Daniel welcomed me warmly and lead me upstairs to a lovely light filled room with comfortable double bed, a private bath with hotshower, and a balcony overlooking a pure blue ocean view. "Enjoy, enjoy" he said, pointing out a lovely road to the beach, and left me to bask in the light breeze in my private porch hammock. That evening I borrwed one of several bicycles and rode a short 5 min fun ride on sandy flat streets into town, where I met some awesome locals and enjoyed the ambiance of Holbox hospitality. In the morning I wandered through the perma-culture garden Daniel and Tatiana have lovingly made and then Daniel treated me to some fresh coconut juice with lime and good conversation. By the second day I was eating meals in tandem with the sweet good-vibe volunteer organic Woofers from all over the world. The roof is the perfect place to see birds, waterviews on both sides, sunrise, and sunset. I love Casa Blat Hat and will come back for sure. Perfect for couples, single travelers, people interested in nature, organic agriculture, local Yucatan flavor, and relaxing. Daniel knows so much about the area it is amazing. Thank you from the depth of my heart. -Jess

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Casa Blatha is a very special little hotel in Holbox. Cosy, little and private, it is just the perfect place to relax. A special mention to Daniel, who made us feel just like home! Tasty breakfast, great conversation, well organised: a lovely host.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Friendly service and the most amazing view, day and night (stary sky!). We've stayed here a few times and enjoyed it every time, the beach is a few steps away and it is very private and quiet, a beautiful place to relax. The book collection in the lounge and the hammocks are very inviting as well. Altogether, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Casa Blatha is a very nice and lovely small hotel a bit outside of the centre of Holbox (therefore in a quiet area, 100 from the beach). The rooms are cosy and decorated with good taste. Center of the house is the living room / breakfast room, where Daniel and his team offer you a breakfast with fresh coffee and tea, bread, homemade jam and fruits. Daniel is very helpfull and organised for us a great birdwatching boat trip with a very peculiar old fisherman who knows the sea and the birds and fishes there like the palm of his hand. we recommend this hotel very much and would come back anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa BlatHa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa BlatHa

Address: Caguama 1 | esquina calle Charral, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa BlatHa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Blatha feelsi like your home in paradise. We have 12 rooms, a roof garden where we practice yoga, a palapa for meditation and massage, an organic orchard and a restaurant with vegan options. Our mision is to create moments that inspire everyone to live in harmony with our surrounding and our selves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa BlatHa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa BlatHa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.