We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holbox Apartments to your Saves list
Holbox Apartments
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwel 126, Holbox Island, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Holbox island is truly a beautiful place and holbox apartments location is perfect just on the beach and only a few minutes walk into town. We had a truly wonderful stay and our hosts were lovely and couldn't do more for us which made it a very memorable stay, so thanks to John & Mandy. Loved the whole island, great food, great people very relaxed easy way of life, so if you wish to relax this is the place for you. Had a fantastic day out swimming with the whale sharks with whale shark daddy, which we shall never forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Have just returned from lovely two week stay in apt. We had lower beach front apt with full kitchen which was just right for us, allowing us to enjoy our stay at relaxed pace. Managers, Adlai and mattias very helpful and unobtrusive, exactly right balance. It's at quiet end of town but you are never more than five minutes from the action so it was nice to have that stroll down beach or 'road' to central plaza. I was with my five year old daughter who loved our 'little house' and did not want to leave but I suspect most children would find it too quiet and actually the other guests may prefer the tranquility of a child free zone although it was, as I have said, absolutely perfect fit for us and finding a self catering apt on this island with such a perfect view and great facilities is a hard task. Will return without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our suite on the second floor. It was large with a king-sized bed and a large balcony with a direct ocean view. Although we were disappointed that the wireless internet was unavailable the first few days, we realized that it was through no fault of the managers. Once it was restored, we had good internet service. The apartment house is a short walk from downtown, in a very quiet area of the beach. The balcony is the perfect place to read and relax of to sunbathe, but it also has shade when you want it, making it my favorite part of the unit.

My only recommendation is that a few hooks of some type be installed in the bathroom, since there is almost no place to hang a wet towel or a bathrobe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stay in the second floor (left) apartment for five nights. The hosts were lovely and very accommodating. King size bed was very comfortable and the patio was a wonderful place to just hang out. Loved walking on the beach, swimming in the ocean or just watching the pelicans dive for fish. Truly a restful vacation. At our request, our driver to Holbox made a stop at an ATM so we made sure we had enough money prior to getting to the ferry.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Holbox upstairs apartment was even more lovely than the pictures showed. The view and sunset were spectacular. Having a fridge is such an extra treat. The shaded palapas out front with comfortable chaise lounges were great for reading and protection from the sun. The ocean out front was warm and clean. Either direction offers a great walk, the one to the west brought us to a remote area full of gorgeous birds. In fact this island has so many interesting shore birds. The apartment is clean, spacious (his/hers closets), with a very comfortable bed. An extra treat were the turqoise beach towels. The caretakers are kind and polite. Do bring insect repellent. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent the last week of a 5 month trip through South and Central America at Holbox Apartments.
Our (upper floor) apartment was wonderful - just as indicated by the pictures and video that we had seen. The apartment was spacious and well fitted out - The fridge made keeping those "delivered to the door" beers nice and cold.
Adla and Mattias were wonderful hosts - offering great advice on what to do and where to go, as well as more practical help like getting beers in the fridge and hunting down a working ATM (take enough cash with you for your stay).
Of all the places we visited - Holbox was the most special - mainly for the opportunity to spend time with the magnificent Whale Sharks, (we went to see then twice!!), but also for the wonderful friendly, relaxed nature of the Island - and the top notch service and accommodation offered by Holbox Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are just back from a week on Holbox Island staying at Holbox Apts. The upper apt was perfect for usl. Private, sizable and with a wonderful view. We spent the week swimming with the whale sharks and manta rays and just relaxing on the veranda. It was very hot. so we did not sit on the beach, but went back and forth taking swims and cooling off. Mattius and Adla were helpful-getting us beer and providing us with a big bag of ice which they kept in their freezer.
The sunsets are outstanding. The breakfast that is included at a local restaurant was excellent.
That restaurant also makes delicious fruit smoothies.
This is the right place for someone who wants a low-key, quiet relaxing vacation.
We did experience some mosquitoes in the am. But spray did the trick. There were several overhead fans and a floor fan that kept us cool at night without the netting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbox Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Apartments

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwel 126, Holbox Island, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbox Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUESTHOUSE HOLBOX APARTMENTS and SUITES is a wonderfull private Mexican questhouse,located on a private beach,on the quiet part of the island,into 3 minutes walking distance from Holbox village.The house is divided in two BEACH FRONT Apartments,* in one of them lives the owners* , on the groundfloor and two beautyfull OCEAN VIEW suites on the first floor.The aparment has 2 seperate sleeping rooms garden-and ocean view.,A fully equiped kitchen,with cooking facilities,fridge stove . The OCEAN VIEW suites have a wide private balcony with,,hammock and amazing oceanviews with spectacular sunsets.The OCEANVIEW suites have a fridge,coffeemaker,but no cooking facilities and a kingsize bed. The BEACHFRONT apartment as well as the suites have private bathroom, in room safe and beer delivery from downtown(free of charge),purified water On the private beach there are sunshade palappas with loungers and hammocks. Daily housekeeping, The owners will advice you with pleasure about all available tours on and around the island. Mexican or French breakfast included.On site staff ,no minimum stay requiredOne of the highests rankings on ,Holbox island!!As Band B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holbox Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.