We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbox Whale Shark Tours

Holbox Whale Shark Tours
Calle Bravo frente La Playa, Holbox Island, Mexico
305-396-6987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Activities in Holbox Island
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Holbox Whale Shark Tours offers Both Public & Private VIP Tours to swim with Whale Sharks from both our Original Departure Point "Isla Holbox", as well as our latest departure point "Cancun". We've got a solid 9 year "Safety" record having satisfied 1000's of nature lovers enjoy this experience. Safe for the entire Family! We've got the Best, most comfortable boats & highly experienced Captains & In Water Guides. We are the Tour "Operator" not just a "Ticket Seller". Dont trust just anybody selling tickets to a tour, Go with the Best to satisfy your Whale Shark Dream & to check this off your "Bucket List"!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don't even have words to describe how amazing it is to be swimming alongside such graceful, massive, beautiful creatures. It is breathtaking in every way imaginable. To be swimming with a manta ray on one side of you and multiple whale sharks on the other is just one of the most incredible things you could ever experience. The entire day was just awesome, from start to finish! The crew on our boat was exceptional and did everything they could to ensure we got the most out of our experience. Raul, our guide, was so so amazing. While most people were exhausted after 5 minutes of trying to keep up with the sharks, Raul did not get out of the water once- and we were out there for 3 hours! You could tell he cared about the whale sharks and had a lot of interesting information about them. Our Captain Elmer was wonderful at spotting the sharks and letting Raul know where to find the next one. Holbox Whale Shark Tours really takes the protection and conservation of these animals seriously- which is so important.
This is honestly one of my favorite things I have ever done in my life!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
STRONG WORDS.....but obviously real. We welcome the opportunity EACH & EVERY day to provide the High level of Customer service to all of our participants. Our crews & staff work 7 days @ week during the 4 month Summer Whale Shark season. Its VERY HARD work but WE LOVE WHAT WE DO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    9
    2
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was an experience of a lifetime. Our captain was very skilled; our guide was brilliant. I am in my mid-sixties and like adventures. My partner has dreamed of swimming with whale sharks for over a decade. She and I were thrilled beyond words. I got the bonus of swimming with a manta ray! Some people may say that the price is expensive. But, for what one gets, it was very, very reasonable. We swam with the whale sharks, snorkelled closer to shore, saw dolphins, purchased lobster at sea from some fishermen, saw pink flamingos, white heron and other birds. All 10 people in our boat were absolutely blown away by the experience. Included: a lit snack at the start (one doesn't want too much food going out to sea); lunch (if you want chicken instead of ham in your sandwich, order in advance); cerviche; snorkelling; lovely bird watching and photo opportunities.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
THANKS! for this vote of Confidence. We Appreciate the kind comments & I will be sure to SHARE this with our Crews & Ground staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bucket List MUST DO Swim with Whale Sharks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is something we always wanted to do. And we are so glad we did! Holbox Whale Shark Tours provided an amazing experience that will never be forgotten. It was a long boat ride from Isla Holbox out to the deep water where the Whale Sharks can be found. And there were a lot of other boats there when we arrived. It was incredible how many whale sharks we saw - more than I expected.

Each time we got into the water with the whale sharks it was so exciting. These amazing animals mostly ignored all the snorkellers around them as they slowly circled for their food. They swam by so close to me I could have touched them (but did not, since that could be harmful to them). We also saw several very large manta rays in the area. Some of the rays came up out of the water and splashed down hard (possibly to get ride of parasites?). Amazing.

On the way back to Isla Holbox, we stopped twice. Once to snorkel in a shallow area and have a nice light lunch of ceviche and fruit. And once more in a shallow protected inlet where we could get out and stretch our legs. The guides also pointed out the locations where turtles have been laying eggs. You could see the tracks up the sandy shoreline. Mid August is when the turtle eggs will be hatching - I am sorry we will miss seeing that.

This trip was absolutely worth it. If you are going to be in the Cancun area, consider this experience. You will not regret it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
YES The BUCKET LIST! Over the years we've helped numerous Divers & Swimmers from around the World indeed CHECK THIS off their personal BUCKET LISTS. We look forward to doing the same for those willing to allow us to do just that! COME ON DOWN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome shark experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a great time with Shark Daddy - excellent crew and a lot of fun to talk to. We saw what must have been hundreds of sharks on a beautiful day. Got in the water 4 times with them with a guide (Alex) who was excellent. Amazing to be surrounded by 3, 4, or 5 sharks at a time, swim deep under them, and see them from the front and back. Food and drink was great with a nice stop at a island for ceviche and music on the way home. Couldn't have been better. Plus the opportunity to get a professionally produced video for us as well. WOULD ABSOLUTELY GO BACK AGAIN.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Amazing Results from the Top Rated Trip Advisor Tour Provider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had the most fantastic day on 28th July 2013. My sister in law booked the trip by speaking with Rodrigues on skype, he was very accommodating and friendly. He arranged to pick us up from our Cancun hotel at 8am, the driver was there in perfect time. We were transported to the harbour and given a safety brief and purchased our bio degradable suncream. We were given Sergio and Nemo as our team. They were just fantastic. We sailed out to the spot and there were about 50 whale sharks in the ocean as well as some huge mantarays! We got 4 dives with them each for around 10 minutes. We were so close to the whale sharks it was just breath taking. Nemo was excellent as he helped us to swim faster and got us in the right spot to give us the best view. We were given lunch and drinks and also stopped at another beautiful spot just to swim and enjoy the sunshine before heading back. Fantastic value for money and a very friendly company to deal with!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at Holbox Whale Shark Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
The POINT is our guys Care! We do our best to help preserve the Whale Sharks. Our crews are Specially Trained and have many years of Experience! I will share your kind comments with the crew. They will be Happy to know of your PLeasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbox Whale Shark Tours also viewed

 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Holbox Whale Shark Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbox Whale Shark Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.