We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, right on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Save Saved
You added La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Morelos, 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, right on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

La Palapa is a wonderful hotel, right on the beach in the town of Holbox. Very nice, big, clean, comfortable rooms. We had #3, on ground level. The service here is great, we especially liked Israel, who helped us a lot. There is a great Sicilian restaurant right on the hotel grounds that serves not only good dinner, but a very nice breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    58
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
215
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is made with very good taste, fitting the island style, simple and select. The rooms are stylish, clean and comfy and the garden facing the sea has hammacs and beach beds. During my stay the garden was a bit unclean I guess because it was raining a lot.

It was the best choice I could have done for my stay in Holbox. And it is very affordable! Loved the bathroom, with a huge shell for sink and shower head +natural toiletries. The personnel is very sweet, trying their best to make you feel comfortable. The included breakfast is very simple (some toast, butter, honey, tea/coffee, a muffin), but if you want something from the menu or if you eat lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant, Beppe is the most amazing chef!! If you happen to pass by when he is cooking, you have to stop and enjoy the frangrance! Italian cuisine!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recently visited Holbox island for a little over a week for our honeymoon back in October. After much research, I decided on La Palapa for several reasons. I really liked that the hotel was so close to the downtown area and we also got an incredible price on the room.

We were greeted when we arrived by Salvador -- I can't say enough nice things about him. He willingly answered so many questions we had for him over the course of our trip (in English) and never made us feel like we were inconveniencing him with our many questions. All in all, I had a great experience with the staff there.

The hotel itself was wonderful as well. Our room was great and the air conditioning blew nice and cold during the night, which was important to us. The staff made sure to come and sweep out all the sand from the room every day. I felt the hotel also had one of the better beaches on the island that I saw. There were many trees and other things that provided ample shade to the guests. There were also plenty of chairs to lay on for all the guests as well.

The only real complaint I would have was the first night we were there, the owner of the hotel was doing construction underneath us which extended well past midnight. This woke us up multiple times on our first night there. This, coupled with some of the noise you would hear due to the close proximity of being downtown, were really the only negative things I had to say about the hotel.

I can't recommend La Palapa enough and definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay at Holbox.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I had amazing three nights in this beautiful hotel. The location is great, and all the rooms have ocean view. The room is beautiful, the staff is helpful and the price is reasonable (weird enough, it is cheaper to book a room through the Internet that through the hotel itself). What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights at La Palapa in september. We were stunned by the beautiful rooms and views. One day while walking on the beach we met a staff member Rodolpho walking home. He invited us to take a drink at his house. He seemed like a nice enough guy and we accepted.
He spent the time telling us about a married woman -on her honeymoon- that he had seduced at the hotel- and his exploits taking advantage of his position at the hotel. A deeply unpleasant individual. He made my girlfriend and I so uncomfortable that we spent the rest of our time avoiding him.
The hotel is lovely and when they fire Rodolpho it will be perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week at La Palapa. August 20-27. We were very pleased with Hotel, itself and the folks that treated us so well, at every turn; Fabian, Rodolfo and Brenda. Our room was spacious and clean. I requested the ground level because stairs are difficult for me. We got a good room, on the ground floor....the beach begins right off the back porch! For those considering a venture to Holbox Island, you can not go wrong staying at La Palapa. They have a neighboring property that has a small swimming pool, that guests can use as well. Our main focus was to go on the Whale Shark Encounter. It was awesome! I have to say, it helps to be in good shape because swimming to keep up, or get to the Shark, after jumping into the water is really hard because you HAVE to wear a lifevest. ( its a rule). Im a scuba diver of 35 years, so this was different...but there is no scuba diving encounters allowed. We found the food in the villiage to be outstanding! We ate different dinners all over and could not believe the variety and of course i am a seafood eater...YUM. We loved Zapatas as a fav, because they made great Margaritas and lobster tacos. We loved "Pixie" who works there...wonderful person! He also has a tattoo shop and on the last day he re-did a tattoo for me....Turned out beautiful! Over all, we thought the food ( dinner portion) was a bit on the expensive side, but not overpriced for the quality. Just saying, bring plenty of cash, or your debit card...there are ATM machines. But, when you consider everything has to come over on a ferry..adds to the expense.....this is why water is not abundantly provided within the cost of your stay. No fruit, for the same reason. A minimal breakfast is provided in the price of the hotel, from a restaurant that is not connected to the hotel, but is on the grounds..again, no fruit and tang like OJ. i passed, but great cup of decaf and muffin? Also, when purchasing bottled water in the village, to take back to your room, check the label; as many have Sodium added ? never saw this before in regular un carbonated water....The villiage was so charming....we walked all over the sandy streets, we rented a golf cart one day...fun. Also, got off the island for a trip to Tulum and Cabo to see the ruins. To get to Holbox Island, we flew into Cancun, rode in a van for about 3 hours, the the ferry for another 30 minutes and finally our Golf Cart taxi picked us up and we were minutes from our hotel. Soooo worth the adventure here. So thats it, from me. Go ahead and plan this trip! If you are adventurous, you will love it. Thanks again, La Palapa for the great week..you guys rock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ambassador,

First of all, we wouldt to thank you a lot for having taken the time to share your positive opinion about our boutique hotel in Holbox Island, La Palapa.
It is always rewarding for our staff to read that their passion for hospitality and service is appreciated by our ambassadors.
We are also very pleased that the wonderful and unique experience of swimming with whale sharks was a great memory for you.
We hope to see you again in a near future for enjoying another time the heaven that Holbox is, with all the attractions you mention and the beautiful turquoise sea,

Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Gues Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for the week of our honeymoon in the middle of August. Fabian and Brenda were amazing and very helpful with anything we mentioned. The room was clean and we always felt safe. We let it slip that it was our honeymoon and the next day the cleaning staff had heart balloons and bride and groom towel swans in our room. The beach was wonderful and we highly recommend La Palapa to anyone looking to stay on Holbox. It's close to the main square and many restaurants are within 5 minutes if waking. The noise on the weekends was mildly disturbing, but we were so tired from spending the day in the water that it didn't matter much. We look forward to returning to La Palapa in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Ambassador,

We are really grateful for your 5 points comments! Seeing that the passion of our staff for hospitality, the attention put in the decoration of your room and the wonderful place our hotel is located in, made you spending a great vacational time in Holbox in your honneymon!

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such an important occasion with us!. We would be very glad to welcome you in a near future, for enjoying our equipment and the paradisiac landscape of Holbox.

With our Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guests Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Av. Morelos, 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Palapa" is an ethno-chic hotel of typical Caribbean design and style surrounded by the calm turquoise Caribbean-Gulf waters and a magical garden with luxuriant palms and comfortable hammocks, where guests can admire beautiful scenery and breathtaking sunsets. Located right on a secluded beach in the beautiful Holbox island, Hotel "La Palapa" offers an ambiance of total relaxation with a distinguished informal touch and an excellent restaurant offering the freshest seafood offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.