We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you want to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Save Saved
You added La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Morelos, 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
1 review
“Great place if you want to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I was at Holbox Las Palapas beginning of January 2013 with a family member and all I can say, is that I will return. The island is paradise, and so is the location of the hotel. Staff (hotel and restaurant) were very professional and extremely charming. We had an issue on the first evening with our room and were automatically upgraded. Many families and young couples were also visiting and contributed to a very pleasant atmosphere. You will not regret staying at this hotel and island.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Manager at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear ambassador (as we kindly named our guests),

I would like to thank you in behalf of the entire Xperience Hotels Group for your valuable comments, it was a real pleasure to meet you and your mother this year and all the staff in La Palapa hope you have enjoyed your stay with us. Once again we would like to apologize for the situation of your room at your arrival and although it was due to an external situation related to the wheather conditions, we are glad to inform you that some great internal improvements in our structure have been done that should not affected by the weather conditions again.
We look forward to hosting you in one of our properties in the future.

Kindest regards,

Chrystel Ariciaga
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    58
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
215
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in Cielito Lindo 14 nights from 2nd to 16th December.
After initial confusion regarding the wording of the description
of the room on the old website (they have since changed it), we
were expecting a small Kitchenette, but they soon brought us a
fridge at least. Bewear, the balcony is very small, with not
enough room for a hammock, and not much of a view (as advertised)
due to the tall palm trees.
Taking all that away, we had the best holiday ever. The staff are
second to none, and went out of their way to make everything
perfect. Brenda and Vicente were diamonds. We spent our Wedding
Anniversay while we were there and the staff were great.
The beach was spotless with soft white sand, and cared for daily
by the staff. The last 2 days there was quite a lot of seaweed
which was cleared very quickly.
The included breakfast was enough to get you started for the day,
but we never ate there as we only wanted to eat in local Mexican
places. (when in Mexico etc...). So we also stayed away from the
many Italian places in the Town. Las Flores and La Colibri being
our favourites, although we did go to others. Mexican food at its
best.
The weather was fantastic everyday, with Sunsets to die for. We
made lots of friends from different countries, and will stay
friends on facebook. The last couple of days, a few noisy
children arrived which spoilt it a little. This makes me feel
that this would be perfect for a Couples Only hotel.
We looked at other hotels like Tortuga and Mawimbi and decided
the La Palapa was far better, and a lot less noisy. We came back
totally chilled out and will definately be back to La Palapa.
I really want to give this hotel 5 stars, but due to the mis-
leading website information about Cielito Lindo, I have to take
away half a star. Sorry Brenda and Vicente. Not your fault.

Take a look at my Holiday Blog: www.frankyoung77.blogspot.com.es
.

Room Tip: If you have bad knees, don´t stay in Cielito Lindo. The steps up are a killer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Public Relations Manager at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Ambassador (as we always name our guests),

The entire Xperience family sincerely thanks you for the great comment you posted! Let us say it was a real honour to share your 2nd Anniversary with us! Thank you for your Xperience preference and for such valuable comments regarding our staff including Brenda and Vicente. We are so glad as well to recognize pictures of our hotel and the marvellous sunset of Holbox in your blog! they are such great shots!! We are sincerely sorry misunderstanding with information of your room. Your valuable remark represents an opportunity to improve our Infinite Hospitality services we strive to provide, as ever.
We sincerely hope to host you for your three year wedding anniversary (or prior to this time!) and share a wonderful and new Xperience with you!

Best regards,

Lara Fitoussi
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. We had previously been to Playa del Carmen and Cozumel which were more hectic places. This was really a nice place to end our holiday in total relaxation. The hotel is rustic with lots of charm and is located on a very beautiful beach. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room had relatively basic furniture, but was nice and spacious. The bathroom was roomy and well equipped. The shower nozzle was a seashell, which we liked. We had a nice balcony with seaview and a hammock. Breakfast was served at the hotel restaurant/beach bar Casa Nostra. We had basic continental breaksfast, but the lunch/dinner we had there was delicious. Would definitely book again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear ambassador( as we call our guests),

Thank you for your wonderful comments, it was an honor to host and serve you during your recent vacation at La Palapa and thank you also for the 5 star comment!!! We are grateful to know through your review that you found a total relaxation and that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our attentive service of our staff.

We look forward to have you with us soon.

Warmest regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There is a variety of Holbox hotels with budgets for every taste, but Hotel La Palapa by Xperience Hotels is one of the best. Only two short blocks to the plaza, right on the beach with plenty of palms to shade visitors from the heat of the day and a killer Italian restaurant open from early morning through dinner.

The rooms are comfortable, the balconies have great chairs and a hammock, and the bathrooms feature local toiletries. La Palapa takes advantage of the wealth of shells on Holbox and uses a large shell for the shower head. There are no televisions or telephones, but there is free wifi in the rooms, on the beach and in the restaurant.

Continental breakfast is included, and there is a breakfast menu if you want more than great coffee, juice and bread.

Great service, great location. What more do you want?

Room Tip: Don't worry about which room to choose, they all face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Manager at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Ambassador (as we kindly name our guests) ,

First of all we would like to thank in behalf of Xperience Hotels for your preference and your valuable comment because it help us to improve our services. We are very glad to have exceeded your expectations and notice that you had such enjoyable stay with us and you were very satisfied with our facilities and services. We kindly invite you to return again in any of our properties to keep showing you our “Infinite Hospitality” philosophy.
Kindest regards,

Chrystel Ariciaga
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I spent the second week of our two-week honeymoon at this wonderful hotel, and we were very satisfied with everything. I would definitely recommend Hotel La Palapa to my friends.

We stayed in the "Cielito Lindo" suite (#11) on the very top floor of the hotel. The name is apt -- it feels like you're in a nest in the sky, surrounded by the waving leaves of the palms. I believe we had the nicest room, since most of the others I saw were a little darker and less well appointed. The hotel was always kept clean, and the staff was friendly and attentive. When I spoke to them about some confusion regarding my travel arrangements, they volunteered to call my transportation company and work out the details (thus saving me from the expense of an international call). The beach was nice and kept very clean. They have dozens of chairs and recliners, and a few hammocks as well.

As others have stated, the Casa Nostra Restaurant is one of the major selling points of the hotel. There's friendly service, and the chef is knowledgeable and fun. The seafood is particularly good, with much of it caught on the island itself. It's an Italian-style restaurant, so be prepared for a lot of pasta, but it's all delicious. The restaurant's bar is also good, and they will bring you a generously sized margarita while you take in the sun on the beach.

The hotel is well located, just a few blocks from the town square and close to lots of local restaurants and shopping options. The town is fun, with lots of people zipping around in golf carts, and a curiously large number of cute, tiny dogs.

Again, this was for the second week of our two-week honeymoon. My wife and I spent the first week at an all-inclusive resort in Tulum. Even though we had to pay for all the food and drinks at La Palapa, it was still much more enjoyable and much more worthwhile than the huge resort, with its crowds, kitsch, and anonymity. La Palapa made me feel at home, and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Manager at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear ambassador (as we name to our guests),

On behalf La Palapa and Xperience Hotels team we would like to congratulate you again for your recent wedding! We wish you a very, very happy life together!. It was a real pleasure to meeet you and your wife Rachel and we would like to thank you for such a wonderful comment. Please rest assured that it is very important for us to know about your feelings for the Xperience family, since it is our main motivation to keep improving the services we offer. We kindly invite you to return again and let us spoil you both.
Our kindest regards,

Chrystel Ariciaga
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The only thing that was better than the serene setting on the beach was the service of the hotel employees; they were all very helpful and friendly. It is a beautiful spot, the hotel is cozy with a real international clientele. The rooms are big with private balconies, and the bathrooms are nice with my favorite shower in Mexico ... The restaurant on the property is maybe the best place to eat on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Ambassador( as we call our guests),

We would like to thank you for your recent visit and preference for La Palapa by Xperience Hotels. It is an honor to know that the courtesy and attentiveness of our team made from your stay a Serene one!!. Rest assured that this success will be shared with our team and that your wonderful comments about the food at Casa Nostra will be forwarded to our Chef Beppe, a better recommendation we could not have!!

Looking forward to have you with us soon.

Merry Christmas*!,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Unfortunately, Trip Advisor will only allow one to write a review every three months on the same property. Until now, I was unable to update my review!

I want to extend my gratefulness......one of the owners of the hotel went to great lengths to track down my belongings. They were recovered and mailed to me along with two lovely plates. I will definitely return. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Av. Morelos, 231, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Palapa" is an ethno-chic hotel of typical Caribbean design and style surrounded by the calm turquoise Caribbean-Gulf waters and a magical garden with luxuriant palms and comfortable hammocks, where guests can admire beautiful scenery and breathtaking sunsets. Located right on a secluded beach in the beautiful Holbox island, Hotel "La Palapa" offers an ambiance of total relaxation with a distinguished informal touch and an excellent restaurant offering the freshest seafood offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel By Xperience Holbox Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa Ethno Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.