We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Takywara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Takywara to your Saves list
Casa Takywara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pedro Joaquin Coldwel | Mcpio Lazaro Cardenas, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My son(19 years) and myself stayed 8 nights at Casa Takywara in february, and loved EVERY secund of it! The penthouse is for sure the best choice, a huge flat on the top with beautyful view and two hammocks on the lovely terrace. Super breakfast brought to your door every morning with all you need. The hostess Bertha is just a fairytale, and make the best green juice on the island :) The rest of the staff is also just great, great, great! They bring you fresh coconuts on the privat beach -wich you have all for yourself. No restaurants, but they fix takeaway if you don't feel like walking into town, wich takes five minuts! This peaceful location is absolutely priceless, and you simply cant go wrong. This IS the defination on paradise, and we WILL be back very soon.

Room Tip: The penthouse:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Line & Nico.
Great!!!! You will be very welcome to our paradise all the time.
Thanks for writing the article about Holbox and thanks for your friendship.A big hello to Norway from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
columbus,ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very quiet,romantic,clean,airy,hammocks make relaxing rest outside.The manager makes it feel like home.Its a treasure.nice restaurants close by.Golf cart rentals available from your hotel.easy walk to hotel zone and center

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks dear Anna & Michael
Hope to see you again. We appreciate your decision to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Casa Takywara.
A big hello to you and your friends Debbie & Michael.
Thank you very much for your emails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my first time staying in Holbox (Dec 2012) and I am so glad we choose to stay at Casa Takywara. It was journey getting to Isla Holbox and I think that is what made it so special. I hope the island never becomes a commercialized monstrosity which is how I associate most of the Mayan Riveria. As we pulled into Casa Takywara there was Berta waiting for us with a fresh made juice, smile, and welcome. During our whole stay Berta was very helpful and extremely sincere. The rooms are very comfortable and we loved the personalized touches the staff left us. There is no TV...you don't go to Holbox to watch TV. There is wifi, for those who have to check email or want to skype with family. Your room will have a full kitchen and all the kitchen equipment necessary to prepare meals. You will have a basket of fresh fruit, bread, and marmalade brought every morning between 830-9AM. There is also plenty of coffee to brew or tea to steep at your leisure. The beach at Casa Takywara is what I really enjoyed, it is quiet and private. Some of the other hotels seemed to close together and there are more people. The beach at Casa Takywara is tranquil and picturesque. We have already made plans to head back and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Do bring mosquito repellant. Your room will also have A/C. I don't want to sound hokey but, the best way I can describe Holbox is enchanting and as mentioned we wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is a different rhythm of life and it's something I could get used to! Heck, I proposed on one of our morning walks. Thank you to Berta for making our stay so special and we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thanks!!!. We'll be waiting you forever, Casa Takywara is your home in Mexican Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Morelos, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is a very nice place with everything you need to rest. I was a great choice for my few days off, and I want to return, is a place that you really love, excellent service, all very clean.

It has everything you need to prepare your own an healthy food, I loved it!. Great coffee! early in the morning in your room. I can't find a simply word to describe this beautiful hotel, "speachless". Thanks for your excellent service, I felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias!!!. Que haya tenido unos días hermosos en su casa Takywara, es nuestra mayor satisfacción. Les esperamos en otra oportunidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed here a few times, every time we have enjoyed it more. It is a fantastic place to be in touch with nature and relax, it feels like a private beach, very beautiful and frequently visited by many different birds and local fauna! The rooms are spacey, comfortable and clean, the breakfast is great and having a little kitchen (to cook the fresh fish you can buy in town) is a plus. Strongly recommended.
Wherever you go in town, use a good insect repellent, preferably a natural one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha Ivette P, General Manager at Casa Takywara, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, will be happy to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

After staying in the island for a week and visited other hotels nearby - Casa Takywara had the best beach area and privacy surroundings. The rooms were spacious, beautiful and clean. The decoration fantastic. Nice and fun for kids.
The only thing - it will be nice to have someone available at the hotel all day in case of need. Transportation may be an issue if you don't have a way to communicate with anyone.

Perfect vacation - relax and good food as well!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful weeks in December. The rooms are immaculate, decorated with colorful textiles and have well equipped kitchenettes.The built-in subtly shaded concrete furniture provide a very architecturally organic feel along with the interestingly decorated and appointed bathrooms.

Every morning one is greeted with a colorful sack filled with warm bread or croissants, butter, jam and a Tupperware container of fresh ripe tropical fruit. Enjoying these while sitting on the veranda with a cup of freshly brewed coffee or tea, looking through the beautifully landscaped garden out to the beach with the sound of the waves and birds is a fabulous way to start the day. Casa Takywara is far enough from town to provide a peaceful secluded atmosphere but only a short 10 minute walk away from the restaurants and shops

.The great thing about Holbox is that one can make one's stay as lazy and laid back or adventurous as one will: beach combing, shelling, birding, diving, kite surfing, paddling through the mangroves or reading that long novel you never had time for. Don't miss the small cayman that lives in the garden's pond.

We cannot say enough about the Gladys, Enrique and the housekeeping staff. They are very friendly and willing to go to great lengths to make one's stay as pleasant as possible. We have already planned to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Takywara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Takywara

Address: Pedro Joaquin Coldwel | Mcpio Lazaro Cardenas, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Takywara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Casa Takywara you will be able to enjoy the nature surrounded by mangroves and native vegetation, in the comfort of an ample and calm space with terraces, hammocks and an incomparable view in front of the sea. Full unforgettable moments of encounter with dolphins, pelicans, flamenco and other species. Our small island belongs to a Protected Natural Area call Yum Balam. We participate in communitarian activities for the environmental education and protection of flora and fauna.Casa Takywara is in a calm beach, near the town, without traffic nor tourist agitation and of great privacy.Starred skies, unique sunsets, encounter of colors between the sky and the sea, to walk barefoot, to breathe pure air, all are rewarding experiences that we invite to you to share in our House.We have created a refuge of rescue, rehabilitation and liberation of fauna located within the town and you can visit it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Takywara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Takywara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.