We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Mexico: Gracious hosts, great food and gorgeous accomodations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Tepoz Fuego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Tepoz Fuego to your Saves list
Villa del Tepoz Fuego
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Prolongacion Netzahualcoyotl # 43 | Barrio de Santo Domingo, Tepoztlan 62520 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Tepoztlan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My home in Mexico: Gracious hosts, great food and gorgeous accomodations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I've stayed at this oasis of perfection four times in the past four years. Each time I've tried a different room or suite because each has its charm. Whether I am alone or with a friend, I find the service friendly and efficient and the food fabulous. Marci and Bruce Kramer are now my friends and go out of their way to make me part of their family, which includes a friendly dog named Ricky and a very nice cat called Lucy. The grounds are beautiful, the views fabulous and the rooms exquisitely decorated with native antiques. Each time I've come, I've invited Mexican guests for meals and swimming and they've been just as enchanted. The spa services are excellent and I also enjoyed the Yoga class. I love this little town with its charming market and historic cathedral and scenic walks. Most of all, I love Bruce and Marci, the most gracious hosts imaginable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
64
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We rented a room for $150 dollars a night with a supposed view of the south garden and patio. The south garden and patio turned out to be the car port with a van and another vehicle. We asked for a change to another room but were told it would cost us $250 dollars a night. The bottom line, the place is overpriced and the website is misleading.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucetkramer, Owner at Villa del Tepoz Fuego, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are improving the copy on our website in English and Spanish to make sure that people who want to experience our unique concept in hospitality come and stay with us. We realize our concept is not for everyone and how we explain it matters so our efforts to improve our communications should be helpful to our guests in the future.

Our goal is for our guests to want to return again to stay with us in the future and we are happy to see that many of our guests recommend our place and also return to our Boutique Hotel.

We are not running a promotional hospitality business like many other large hotel tourist destinations. We only offer small discounts or packages for a several day stay or more, so we can keep our quality of our offerings to their highest level and the quality of our service and our employees who are career professionals have been with us a long time and we reward them for their efforts..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Egremont, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We recently visited Villa del Tepoz Fuego. We were greeted in a very friendly manner and were shown our room. The room (Flamenco Room) was very nice BUT it was not at all as advertised. (Wording from their website “It is located on the first floor of our villa, its windows facing the South patio and gardens.” See attached photo from the room. Clearly the view was of their vehicles not a patio or garden. When we objected they offered to upgrade us at a charge of another $100.00 per night. The original room seemed overpriced even if it had a view as advertised. The room we did take was much better from a view point of view but it was by no means a “suite”. The bathroom was nice but very small. Two people could not have been in there at the same time. A suite is usually so named as it has 2 rooms. I am not sure why they referred to this room as a suite. As we were very unhappy with being up charged anything for a so called “upgrade” , we were able to negotiate a more appropriate price.
All the detail in this villa is very well done. In general it was a very average experience for a very high price.
I am not sure why there is so much discussed on their website about the quality of the food. The food at best was OK. We found most dishes bland. The service was nice but “hovering”.
Bottom line, would we return or recommend it to friend, NO !! Overpriced rooms and bland overpriced food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucetkramer, Owner at Villa del Tepoz Fuego, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are dedicated to making our operation the highest quality as possible based on what is available to us for purchase in our area of Mexico.

We are proud of our offerings here and Tepoz Fuego is your elegant home to relax and renew yourself in. We are not a five star large hotel feeling nor do we duplicate all of their amenities and offerings. Our offerings and amenities here are appropriate for our location, space, and concept of allowing the energy of nature fully connect with you in your process of resting and relaxing. We have free wi fi on the entire property, with a free computer to use, and a media room with a large Plasma TV, games, books, etc. for your use but the natural beauty that waits for your visit is what is spectacular and what we focus more around. We also have an Internet phone available for low cost connecting with loved ones.

We use International Standards of Hygiene in our restaurant. 95% of our menu is made from scratch by our chefs, fresh, and organic when available. We use fresh herbs and spices and our desserts, tortillas, and breads are all made fresh weekly by our chefs. Our food and salads are safe to eat and our guests have a worry free time enjoying our offerings. We strive to give the best attention and service as possible in our whole operation and this is included in our restaurant and bar. We also have live piano music for our diners on request and the largest menu and wine and beer list in the area.

In our hotel we have USA sized beds (Mexican beds are six inches shorter), the best quality you can buy and import. Our guests demand the best. We use ultraviolet lights, charcoal filters, and paper filters in our water supply so everything is safe even for our international travelers. Our standards of hygiene and cleaning are impeccable for our guests.

In our Spa and Salon we use only specialists with each service that we offer so our guests. Since we offer many services we need time to bring in the specialist for your desired service. Sometimes people who wait till the last minute are disappointed that our Specialists are occupied but we do everything we can to make things work out for your needs and appreciate your helping us with your flexibility.

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I spent two nights at Villa del Tepoz Fuego and never wanted to leave. Picture a cozy B&B at the foot of the Tepozteco mountains, a beautiful garden with a bubbling creek and butterflies galore.My room was immaculate and had a flowing waterfall in the terrace. The food is divine(breakfast included in your stay), made to order, fresh, healthy. Marci and Bruce were the kindest of hosts and were always at hand for a quick chat or suggestions on what to do in Tepoztlan. Can't wait to go back. And it's only a skip and a jump from Mexico City. Fabulous!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

This charming boutique hotel was the perfect place for a weekend getaway. The food is great, and they make the most amazing margaritas! The owners where always reachable and friendly, the rooms are beautiful and super clean and the staff is amazingly welcoming and sociable. We look forward to another lovely weekend at Tepozfuego. Thanks a million!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Staying here was a great choice we made. The room was beautiful and the food was exellent. I really enjoyed the steak we had. The service was above and beyond my expectation. I would highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

My family and I spent another glorious week at the Villa del Tepoz Fuego at the beginning of August. It was our third visit to this beautiful place and, as always, we can't wait to return. Staying at the Villa del Tepoz Fuego allows you to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of an amazing villa while enjoying the most magical town in Mexico. Everything about the Villa del Tepoz Fuego is first class........the owners, the staff, the rooms, the pool, and the food. Like I said.....extraordinary.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Tepoz Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Tepoz Fuego

Address: Prolongacion Netzahualcoyotl # 43 | Barrio de Santo Domingo, Tepoztlan 62520 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tepoztlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tepoztlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa del Tepoz Fuego 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate, exclusive, five star state of the art Boutique Hotel Restaurant & Spa with personalized individual service for your vacation pleasure in Tepoztlan. We are a modern elegant Mexican style colonial stucco home situated in the magnificent Tepoztlan valley surrounded by the Tepozteco Mountains. Tepoztlan is a magical place with its perfect year round temperatures, and fresh mountain air. It is the perfect place to escape to for a great experience that feels like you have gone back fifty years in time. We been rated as the top Hotel Inn in the Tepotzlan area by travelers from all over the world.We have the number one restaurant, Restaurant Jardin in Tepoztlan. We specialize in the best service and offerings in our area and are an exclusive state of the art 4 star facility. Our goal is for you to come back again and again. We care and our place is well taken care of with every detail checked for your pleasure. We are an elegant home not a standard hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa del Tepoz Fuego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Tepoz Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.