We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wknd at Casa de la Vida!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tepoztlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de la Vida
Save
You added Casa de la Vida to your Saves list
Ocelotzin Park #17, Tepoztlan, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Tepoztlan B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Wknd at Casa de la Vida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I decided to attend a birthday party in Tepostlan for a long time family friend on the spur of the moment. I booked my flight at midnight on Thursday night and departed to Mexico City the
next morning. I had no idea where I was going to be staying when I arrived in Tepoztlan, not
having made any pre arrangements. I met my mother in Tepoztlan as she was also attending
the birthday bash. We ended up at Casa de la Vida based on a glowing recommendation of
Anosha's beautiful home and her wonderful hospitality.

I loved Casa de la Vida from the moment we arrived until we departed. The home is beautifully decorated with a lot of personality and it is absolutely spotless everywhere. I am a bit of a cleanliness fanatic, so that made me very comfortable. The best part about staying there was
the fact it was like being entertained in a friend's home and not staying in a hotel. Anosha is one
of the most amazing and interesting people I've ever met. She radiates such positive energy with a generous and loving spirit. She could not do enough for us, constantly in hand with warm teas, refreshing waters with fruits and herbs, or some delectable treat. We had a bountiful breakfast in the morning that was beautiifully presented with fresh flowers and herbs.

I learned a lot from Anosha that wknd, as she is very knowledgeable about many subjects from history, nutrition, excersize, world travel...She not only has a lot of interesting things to say,
but she is also a great listener as if she is like your new best friend within minutes of meeting her.
She truly has the gift of making everyone feel special and welcome in her home. It is obvious that it is genuinely from the heart and not a phony act strictly for business. You can tell that
she truly enjoys hosting guests in her home and it is not just a business to her.

Anosha took us on a little hike around the area the morning before we departed that was a wonderful end to our weekend at Casa de la Vida. Our stay there was way too short. I can not
wait to return to charming Tepoztlan surrounded by the striking mountain range and I would not
stay at any other place than Casa de la Vida with Anosha.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anosha O, Owner at Casa de la Vida, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for such a beautiful review. It has truly touched me and made me very happy that you had enjoyed your time at Casa de la Vida. It was a real pleasure to have you and your mother stay with us and the enjoyment was mutual. It was only a pity that you could not stay longer. There are many interesting and beautiful places to visit in and around Tepoztlan. So I hope that you will be able to come again soon. Take care and my best wishes to you and your mother

Sincerely Anosha de Casa de la Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had an excellent time at Casa de la Vida. Anosha is a wonderful host and is always trying to make you feel at home. She is a person full of positive energy and willing to teach all she n¡knows about how you should have a better lifestyle in every way (both physical and spiritual).

I stayed there for five days and had a calm and relaxing holiday, just what I was looking for.
Carolina

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anosha O, Owner at Casa de la Vida, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review.We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and are recommending it to others. It is our pleasure to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and we hope that you will come and stay with us very soon. Sincerely Anosha de Casa de la Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Visited Casa de Vida a couple of times, First time there was really an experience. Casa de vida is a great place to relax, enjoy and detox of the big city. I went with my friends and we really had good time together. Anosha decorated Casa de Vida with good taste and very confortable. Food was really good and healthy. We even had a bonfire at the garden!! and weather helped to had a great weekend plus the great and magic view of Tepoztlán.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anosha O, Owner at Casa de la Vida, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time to send such a warm review and recommend Casa de la Vida to other travellers. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your next visit here soon. Thank you again sincerely Anosha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was in Casa de la Vida the other day for a couple of days, I fond just what I needed because I was tired and didn't want the big hotel atmosphere, I just wanted to be alone by myself, away from home. I was well received by Anosha, the owner of the place, she took very good care of me, I didn`t had to do anything but enjoy. The breakfast was great, beautifully served with some fresh fruits, wow!! what a plate!!! Que rico!!!
For the hole day I was lying down in a hammock, reading my book, in silence. I appreciate that so much. oufffff.....
Next time I want to do the Detox, I will plan a few days vacation for that, I`m sure that would make me feel better.
Thank You Casa de la Vida xxxxx

Por la gente que buscan la tranquilidad lejos de la ciudad, les recomiendo este lugar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have been to Casa de la Vida a number of times, both alone and with my partner as a b&b guest and to do the detox program, visiting from my home city of Paris. It is an ideal place to stay as a stopover on visits to Mexico as its a wonderful place just to unwind, destress, relax, recharge one's batteries and re-energise, before traveling on further It is a retreat in every sense of the word: beautiful nature, tranquility, harmony and gentility. Anosha,the owner, is a sweetheart and a wonderful host, and is always there to assist and inform. What I like also is being so near to places to visit around Tepoztlan and the nearby city of Cuernavaca. Lots to explore and see in the area. And on other days we just hung out at the house, reading and snoozing on hammocks in the beautiful garden; or we went hiking in the surrounding hills. Anosha would treat us to her incredible smoothies and other treats.Breakfasts are especially yummy! I actually took a course with her to learn about vegetable and fruit juicing as that is a speciality of the house!! I also did 2 detox/ cleanse programs which I expressly came for from France. It is the perfect setting for this since one needs time to prepare before and after to rest. Each time I left with tremendous, renewed energy; plus I found I had lost a few excess kilos which really needed losing!!! The place is very clean and quite elegant but very zen and cosy at the same time. Yes, it is a wonderful place for sure and the whole region is very interesting. No wonder there are so many Europeans and Americans living in the area.People are by and large quite friendly and welcoming. I have made several Mexican and foreign friends from my visits. Thank you Casa de la Vida, thank you Anosha, the hostess with the mostest!!! See you again soon.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and they enjoy about the same advantages in terms of comfort, view, light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anosha O, Owner at Casa de la Vida, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very grateful for such a wonderful recommendation as the one you have written about Casa de la Vida. It makes all the difference in the world to know that our guests are happy and content and find the guest house to their satisfaction. It is important to us that they feel at home and feel free to ask for help when needed. Thank you again for taking time out to review us and we hope that you come and visit us again soon. With very best wishes Anosha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My trip to Mexico was the first time I had been out of the US and I don’t speak any Spanish. I was completely overwhelmed by the time I reached Casa de la Vida. When the gate opened and I was introduced to Anosha all of my fears instantly disappeared. I knew from the moment I walked through the gate into the beautiful surroundings of her home that I was going to be just fine!

Casa de la Vida is a gorgeous home where you will feel peace and serenity. It is extremely clean, private and welcoming. I felt completely safe there. It is truly a “home away from home”.

Anosha makes the most wonderful teas, smoothies and healthy meals. Everything is prepared fresh for you just prior to being served.

I went to Mexico for a treatment. I was fortunate enough to spend two nights with Anosha prior to my treatment. We talked for hours. She helped me to understand why I had the addictions I had and how to deal with the stress in my life without turning to alcohol or drugs. I am not sure my treatment would have been as successful as it was without the insight Anosha brought to me about my mind, body and spirit.

Words cannot begin to express my feelings toward Anosha. She is an amazing woman. She has an ability to make you feel like you have known her forever. It is almost as though she could see right into my soul. She gave me her undivided attention and made me feel very relaxed and welcomed. She is extremely knowledgeable on cleansing the body and renewing your soul. She provided me with a wealth of resources to continue my journey through life.

I received a Reiki massage which was a very powerful experience. I left Casa de la Vida completely relaxed and prepared for my treatment.

After my treatment I returned to spend my last two nights in Mexico with Anosha (I just couldn’t leave that country without having more of what I had experienced there with her). There were other guests there during that stay, but I still felt the same sense of personal attention and privacy that I had experienced while being the only guest there. It just allowed me to make more new friends!

I highly recommend Casa de la Vida whether you are seeking the cleansing and detoxification benefits or just want a place to relax and rejuvenate yourself. You will go away with a new perspective on life and a sense of well being that I cannot explain!

Sandra S.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anosha O, Owner at Casa de la Vida, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
What a great review and a most wonderful recommendation! Thank you, thank you....and we are most certainly hoping that you will come and stay at Casa de la Vida very very soon.....sincerely Anosha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I must say I had some reservations about staying in Casa de la Vida because it is not precisely in the center of town, but I am glad I trusted Anosha and stayed there because going to the town center was an easy and short 5-10 min taxi drive (we only paid 25 to 30 pesos for the taxi). Staying at Casa de la Vida completely exceeded our expectations. First of all, the house is a dream. It is tasteful and elegant yet inviting and warm. It is nestled in a foothill with trees and bugavillias all over. When you wake up the first thing you can see through the window is the peak of a mountain and the first thing you will hear will be the singing of birds.The gardens and the flowers are breathtaking, beautifully and carefully maintained. If you are lucky, she will feed you with some of the greens that she herself grows organically, a real treat.
After a restful sleep Anosha treats you to a healthy and delicious breakfast which you can take in the garden. We came to Tepoztlan wanting to climb the Tepozteco mountain, which with two small children was highly unrealistic. Anosha, however, took the time and found a less challenging mountain that our family could climb, and not only that, she came with us and guided us to the top. It was nice to see how she bonded with our very active 8 year-old girl. I have the sense that my daughter will never forget the experience.
After a 30 to 45 minute climb each way we returned to the house and she prepared a wonderful and refreshing juice for us to rehidrate, absolutely wonderful. Along the way she took us to buy farm fresh eggs at her neighbor's house and we got to see how the lady made fresh corn tortillas from scratch (metate and everything) in a traditional rustic mexican kitchen and how she was drying her own coffee beans in the sun. We bought coffee from her and it is absolutely wonderful. This was one of a kind experience.
In addition, Anosha took the time to show us around town and made suggestions on the best restaurants, the best ice cream place, the best coffee shop, the best tea shop, etc. She has a great knowledge of the town and if you don't have much time to spend there, it becomes really handy.
If the trip ended there, it would have been enough, but really there is more. She is fantastic at giving reiki. I had Reiki with her and it was fabulous. She also arranged for a massage for my husband which he loved. My daughter is asking me when we are going to go back to Anosha's house again. And we will.
If you want to get a real feel for a traditional Mexican town, and have the personal attention of someone who lives there and knows the place, this is the place to go. Rest assured that she will do her best so that you can have the best time there, and that is priceless.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de la Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Vida

Address: Ocelotzin Park #17, Tepoztlan, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Morelos > Tepoztlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Tepoztlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de la Vida is a charming guesthouse situated in the national park in the Tepoztlan mountains, an oasis of tranquility and a perfect urban getaway to recharge your batteries. Our focus is on privacy, friendliness and personal attention. We offer three comfortable and cozy guest rooms with beautiful views of the mountains. Three rooms with double occupancy, with full breakfast included. There are two separate bathrooms situated down the hall. A spacious living room that opens onto a patio and a large garden with hammocks and sun lounge chairs are also for the use of our guests to relax in. Start your day with freshly made juices, fresh fruits, and a variety of delicious, nourishing and healthy super-smoothies with names like Green Goddess, Papaya Delight, and Avocado Surprise - all of which can be enjoyed in the garden surrounded by colorful bougainvilleas and jasmine flowers. Or enjoy your breakfast in the spacious living room that opens onto a patio with a garden. We are here to serve your needs. Whether you feel like taking a well deserved rest and just relax, or maybe take a hike on the many beautiful trails just a minute away from us and enjoy the view of the whole area, visit the local Tepozteco pre-historic pyramid or the local colourful market and enjoy the local food and crafts, the excellent restaurants, shops and cafes, we can assist you to make your stay the experience you are looking for.We are only an hour away from Mexico DF and 25 minutes from Cuernavaca,the City of Eternal Spring. We also welcome families and children. Wi-Fi, Private Parking, Gay friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.