We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Ciruelo

El Ciruelo
Zaragoza 17, Tepoztlan, Mexico
(739) 395-1203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Tepoztlan
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The first thing to notice in this place are the incredible views of the mountains and the pyramid. The service is very attentive- there weren't too many customers when we went, perhaps that helped. Their lime soup is really good, even in a warm day, when thinking of soup is not really in your mind, this one managed to be comforting yet refreshing. If you feel adventurous, try their tostadas de chapulines, a tortilla atop some guacamole sauce and fried critters (small looking like grasshoppers). The flavor is certainly strong and not for the faint of heart, but well worth going for it. And for the main entree, stuffed chicken breast with huitlacoche and goat cheese sauce. they were a little too generous with the sauce, but really delicious. We asked to split and it came nicely prepared already in 2 individual plates. To top it all of, highly recommend the fig "nieve" with mezcal- lighter than ice cream, kind of a sorbet, incredibly refreshing, you could taste the alcohol ever so slightly and not overwhelming, and bits of fig-- the perfect ending to a great meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excelent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

They have a huge variety of dishes, very good prepared, original and delicious. Really clean place with helpful staff and in a great environment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

For the price you pay, this place is overrated.
The food is good but not excellent.
Service is good though and the place itself is also very nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stopped at this restaurant as a recommendation from my best friend. I was traveling with 5 other people from canada and we tried different dishes from the menu. We all had an amazing meal, The food tasted superb! Cost is reasonably and worth it to pay! The service was excellent we will definitively be back as soon as we have a chance. Amazing job!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Magical view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Ths food is real Mexican food, no tex-mex, the place is just below the tepozteco ( a large mountain that people go to charge themselves with energy ) so you enjoy a magical view while you eat great food whith excellent service and of course music.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ciruelo also viewed

 

Been to El Ciruelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ciruelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.