We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have never been treated in so nasty a manner in my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delft Haus

Save Saved
You added Delft Haus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Delft Haus
1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Five Nights for Four
Ranked #1 of 3 Centreville B&B and Inns
Champlain, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I have never been treated in so nasty a manner in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife called to reserve a room at Delft House on friday night August 13. The reservation was made with the owner Ray. The next day we arrived at 1:00 pm. Ray said the room wouldn't be ready until 3:00 pm. He was very nice and gave us a map of the area with places to see and go. So we did. We returned to Delft House at 8:00 pm. Ray demanded the key to the room and called my wife a liar and scammer and threw us out into the street. I told him that there were no rooms anywhere. He said that he didn't care as far as he was concerned the credit card # that my wife had given him was no good we were liars and scammers and he couldn't trust us and he didn' t care where we spent the night. It was Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde. We proceeded out of town stopping at all the B&B's and motels. Everything was full. We finally stopped at Tattingstone Inn in Wolfeville where Thomas the owner found us a room for the night with Zelda in Gaspardeau. So if you want to be called nasty names and turned out onto the street at 8:00pm on a busy saturday when all rooms in the area are full reserve a room at Delft House

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
This is a highly inaccurate and embellished version of events. The credit card number, which was rechecked with the guest, was declined (three times) during their absence in the afternoon, and like any accommodation provider, we can only hold a room with a valid credit card number. Consequently, on their return, we merely stated our position that we do not provide accommodation free of charge, and that they could not stay in our home having provided a false credit card number; and as a trust issue we had other guests to consider. At no point was there any physical contact, nor were this couple inside our property at the time of our conversation, so they could not possibly have been thrown out into the street. We are not sure why they felt it was our responsibility to arrange alternative accommodation under these circumstances, let alone why they feel that the fact that other establishments were full means we should have waived our requirement for payment. Honesty is the best policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Staying at the Delft Haus was one of the many highlights of our trip to Nova Scotia.
Getting a good nights rest in the most comfortable bed , followed by the most delectable breakfast, makes for a great start to any day, not to mention Debra and Ray who are the most gracious hosts that you would ever meet. Cleanliness and comfort, second to none.
The cost which we found less expensive than many other hotels but this also including the wonderful breakfast . The tea room makes its own statement with its cheery decor and once again its fabulous food or just some R&R with a cup of coffee or tea, what a bonus!!! All that being said I would certainly recommend the Delf Haus, and I look forward to staying there again .

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Delft Haus is the best place to stay whether you need a place to overnight, are celebrating a special occasion or planning to tour the area. Ray and Debra are fantastic hosts: friendly and helpful, with good senses of humour. The accommodations are very clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. There isn’t a lot of traffic on the road, so it’s peaceful as well. Breakfasts are three courses and Debra is a fabulous cook! There’s also a tearoom where you can enjoy a light meal during the day, afternoon tea or coffee, or even an ice-cream sundae. There’s a lot to see and do in the immediate area and you can easily drive to Annapolis Royal, Wolfville, Chester, Mahone Bay, Lunenburg and even Halifax from here. It’s nice to return to the same bed every night and see the same smiling faces every morning! I visit Nova Scotia every year and always stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

What a lovely place. Debra and Ray make you feel like family. They go out of their way to make sure everything 's perfect. Breakfast fit for a King. Stayed in many neighbouring B&B's and none come even close to the charm, beauty and handy location of the Delft. Tea house and Spa , a handy addition. Best scones in Nova Scotia! Recommend this B&B highly. Such a wonderful stay. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Romantic rooms with new mattresses; quiet and extremely clean. The breakfast was absolutely delicious; fresh cream crepes followed by a hot entre. We really liked the easy access the rooms in the old carriage house offered as we had a car full of gear for biking, hiking and golfing. The secure storage for our bikes was greatly appreciated. We would definitely recomment the Delft Haus to our friends and look forward to a second stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Ray and Debra are phenomenal hosts. They are a perfect couple to have a B&B; great place, delicious food, and wonderful stories to share. We were fortunate to find this place-and wish them well on their tea room expansion. Overall, this was my favorite place during our two-week vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The rooms are beautiful, elegant and extremely clean. Lovely bathrooms. Wonderful four poster beds that are extremely comfortable. Debra and Ray were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts to die for, especially the fresh cream crepes, with fresh fruit! Plus a tasty hot course. Can't wait to go back and try the tea room they are opening in July this year. Planned are traditional English afternoon teas, with many choices of teas and coffees, home made cakes and ice cream sundaes. If the breakfasts are anything to go by, I'm sure it will be a great success. Good luck to you both.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delft Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delft Haus

Address: 1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville > Centreville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Centreville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious 4 1/2 star Victorian (c) 1890 Bed & Breakfast surrounds you with natural wood interiors and period furnishings that offer an unparalleled experience. Our home is located in the Annapolis Valley in beautiful apple orchard countryside, an ideal base to explore Nova Scotia. All rooms have luxurious en-suite faciliteis. A fantastic place to get away and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Delft Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delft Haus Nova Scotia/Centreville, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delft Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.