We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delft Haus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Delft Haus to your Saves list
Delft Haus
1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast+ Wi Fi
Ranked #1 of 3 Centreville B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

After a long day of sightseeing this home with it's beautifully appointed Victorian decor, was just what we were looking for. Our English hosts so obviously enjoy guests that we felt not only pampered but enlightened. Without their expert knowledge of the area, we would have missed a stupendous whale watching experience found on 'the neck.' Plus their descriptions of nearby hikes has encouraged us to plan a future trip back. For those of you who love breakfast, come here. The 3 courses included homemade crepe with cream and fresh berries and homemade jams plus cereals, eggs, meat and strong coffee. They kept shaking thier heads because 'you Amicans and you're coffee. Doesn't anyone drink tea?" Lastly, this B&B is so easy to find. Right on the main road.

Room Tip: Not a problem because there are only 3 rooms and all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi Kathleen. Thank you so much for your review and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Annapolis Valley. We hope that this review will encourage others to see and experience everything this part of the world can offer.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beautiful house lovingly cared for by English hosts! The home cooked breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. Rooms were attractive and comfortable. Hosts were thoughtful and helpful in ensuring our stay in the area was enjoyable, including offering help in choosing activities for the days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orchid room, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their time with us and that your accommodation was satisfactory. We like to offer our guests the kind of standards that we would expect when travelling and there is so much to do and see around here.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

From our arrival to departure we enjoyed our stay with Debra and Ray. They assisted us with our bags, ensured our room met our needs and provided us with helpful information throughout our stay about dining and NS attractions. Had the best sleeps of our trip and appreciated the spaciousness of the room and bathroom- double sinks were great! Having a place to hang up our towels and spread out things in the bathroom was so helpful-sounds like small things but after driving 3700 km thus far and staying in several B and B's this was a really appreciated "extra." The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Sitting room and rooms very nicely appointed and inviting. Location was very central to many key areas and attractions in western and central NS - from Digby and Grand Pre' and only 10 minutes from Halls Harbour. Would definitely stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A truly wonderful experience! We were looking for a quiet place to relax after busy days spent spent with family and friends in the Valley. From the moment we stepped through the front door..the decor and the friendly ambience created by the hosts Ray and Debra welcomes you to relax and get comfortable. Our room was a delight!..Impeccably clean, tastefully decorated with a lovely sitting area, and our own ensuite bathroom. The queen sized bed was so comfortable..it prompted us to buy a new bed at home!! We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious multi-course breakfasts each morning and pleasant conversation with guests and hosts before setting out on our daily adventures but we were equally pleased to return "home" each evening to enjoy the serenity of our cosy bedroom. This is definitely a place we plan on returning to soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. The hosts are friendly and open for conversations without being intruding. The breakfast was a feast with fabulous pancakes. The room was very clean and comfortable. Lastly the location is ideal, being close to best parts of the Valley while being far enough to provide peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We hope that we will see you both again and maybe next time you could use all the facilities we offer so that your time would be even more enjoyable.
Once again, many thanks.

Ray and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This B&B is extremely clean, well decorated, with outstanding bedrooms,coupled with propietors
who care about your visit, and helpful in other information. Amenities offered, as well as food
was terrfiic. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
So glad you arived home safe and sound Bill and many thanks for your review. Debra and I are well travelled and , hopefully, offer our guests as many of the good things we have experienced in order to make their stay as enjoyable as we can.

Thanks again Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I've stayed at the Delft Haus twice, once in 2007 and again in 2011 and on both visits i have been very impressed with the cleanliness and the ambiance of this beautiful home. The owners Ray and Debra are excellant hosts and will do all they can to make you welcome and make you stay comfortable, enjoyable and a culinary delight. Debra's breakfasts are not only very adequate even for the heartiest of appetites but also deiciously prepared using local produce as well as extremely well presented. Ray is the very pleasant and friendly server of breakfast and is a great resource of local information, be it beaches, hiking trails, bird watching locations, whale watching trips, wineries and the many other delightful activities that are available in the vicinity.
Debra and Ray will go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay a memeorable and
wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Having stayed in two different rooms on two separate visits I would say there was no difference. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delft Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delft Haus

Address: 1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville > Centreville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Centreville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious 4 1/2 star Victorian (c) 1890 Bed & Breakfast surrounds you with natural wood interiors and period furnishings that offer an unparalleled experience. Our home is located in the Annapolis Valley in beautiful apple orchard countryside, an ideal base to explore Nova Scotia. All rooms have luxurious en-suite faciliteis. A fantastic place to get away and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Delft Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delft Haus Nova Scotia/Centreville, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delft Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.