We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delft Haus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Delft Haus to your Saves list
Delft Haus
1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Centreville B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“An Absolute Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A truly wonderful experience! We were looking for a quiet place to relax after busy days spent spent with family and friends in the Valley. From the moment we stepped through the front door..the decor and the friendly ambience created by the hosts Ray and Debra welcomes you to relax and get comfortable. Our room was a delight!..Impeccably clean, tastefully decorated with a lovely sitting area, and our own ensuite bathroom. The queen sized bed was so comfortable..it prompted us to buy a new bed at home!! We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious multi-course breakfasts each morning and pleasant conversation with guests and hosts before setting out on our daily adventures but we were equally pleased to return "home" each evening to enjoy the serenity of our cosy bedroom. This is definitely a place we plan on returning to soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. The hosts are friendly and open for conversations without being intruding. The breakfast was a feast with fabulous pancakes. The room was very clean and comfortable. Lastly the location is ideal, being close to best parts of the Valley while being far enough to provide peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We hope that we will see you both again and maybe next time you could use all the facilities we offer so that your time would be even more enjoyable.
Once again, many thanks.

Ray and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This B&B is extremely clean, well decorated, with outstanding bedrooms,coupled with propietors
who care about your visit, and helpful in other information. Amenities offered, as well as food
was terrfiic. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayr147, Owner at Delft Haus, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
So glad you arived home safe and sound Bill and many thanks for your review. Debra and I are well travelled and , hopefully, offer our guests as many of the good things we have experienced in order to make their stay as enjoyable as we can.

Thanks again Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I've stayed at the Delft Haus twice, once in 2007 and again in 2011 and on both visits i have been very impressed with the cleanliness and the ambiance of this beautiful home. The owners Ray and Debra are excellant hosts and will do all they can to make you welcome and make you stay comfortable, enjoyable and a culinary delight. Debra's breakfasts are not only very adequate even for the heartiest of appetites but also deiciously prepared using local produce as well as extremely well presented. Ray is the very pleasant and friendly server of breakfast and is a great resource of local information, be it beaches, hiking trails, bird watching locations, whale watching trips, wineries and the many other delightful activities that are available in the vicinity.
Debra and Ray will go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay a memeorable and
wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Having stayed in two different rooms on two separate visits I would say there was no difference. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Debra and Ray were so welcoming when we arrived, they made us feel like family. They have a beautiful house that we were free to enjoy, and they gave us lots of useful information about the area. Debra's breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and so beautifully presented. Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are not your normal B&B travelers. We enjoy going to many places and just make short stops to rest before the next big event. We stayed at Delft Haus as we wanted to hike Cape Split. Ray and Deborah were quite accommodating to us as we did not arrive until 9:15 and then needed to head out again by 8. They stayed up to meet us and had a great breakfast of cereal, waffles, omelets, tea, coffee, and juice for us at 7:30! The room was quite clean, had cable/wifi, and met all expectations. I would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Debra and Ray were most hospitable and well informed about local restaurants and places to visit. Breakfasts were excellent, imaginative and well prepared. Room was large with good furniture and a comfortable bathroom.
We have made reservations for next year

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delft Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delft Haus

Address: 1942 Hwy 359, Centreville, Kentville, Nova Scotia BOP 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville > Centreville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Centreville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious 4 1/2 star Victorian (c) 1890 Bed & Breakfast surrounds you with natural wood interiors and period furnishings that offer an unparalleled experience. Our home is located in the Annapolis Valley in beautiful apple orchard countryside, an ideal base to explore Nova Scotia. All rooms have luxurious en-suite faciliteis. A fantastic place to get away and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Delft Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delft Haus Nova Scotia/Centreville, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delft Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.