We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silvercreek Cafe and Espresso Bar

Silvercreek Cafe and Espresso Bar
112 Main Street S., Georgetown, Halton Hills, Ontario L7G 3E4, Canada
+1 905-877-5769
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Georgetown
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Georgetown
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stopped in early one morning for a coffee with my boss. Im happy he paid... I found it to be a little pricey. Coffee was good though. However I do often see people waiting outside in the morning past their opening time... late staff maybe?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Needs a new name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went after dinner for a desert and coffee, only to walk in a find live music and a wine bar. The house wine was good, and reasonable. The server brought us a hot olives as a complimentary appetizer. Never even heard of serving Olives warm, they were delicious. What a welcoming and pleasant surprise.
The performer on the night we were there was not very good, but we didn't care. They seemed have a good menu of light meals. Next time I'm down for dinner for sure. So why's it called a coffee bar?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ah'll be baaaack!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was an unexpected treat. The food was really good, the service was friendly, and the live band was most entertaining.

They have a slightly confused tapas-style approach. For tapas, the servings are way too big. Normally in a tapas bar you would order between 2-3 choices per person. Here our waitress recommended one choice each, and she was not wrong. There were other menu items that were not identified as being tapas-style, so that was a bit confusing. But the waitress made sure we didn't go wrong.

The chef cooks all the food in the tiniest little corner at the front of the bar, right by the entrance. I kid you not, it is no more than four feet long. From this tiny space he produces superb and varied food. We had a terrific mixed plate of cheeses and cold cuts, all sourced from local vendors. The cheeses in particular were chosen with great skill. I wonder who made the choices, the chef or the vendor? Likewise the cold cuts were all very tasty. A lobster ravioli avoided the cloying over-richness that you often get with this dish, and went down very nicely. I could go on, but there's no point in itemizing each dish. Four hits - no misses.

The wine list was rather 'meh', and I would really expect it to have highlighted local Ontario wine, but I guess that is an unreasonable complaint. In any case, the wine we ordered was perfectly acceptable, and was poured into a carafe without my needing to ask!

This small space was pretty much full on a Saturday night, so the word seems to be getting around. Next time I am in Georgetown I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax, eat, and chat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Nice place to go with another couple to socialize and have a bite to eat with a glass of wine. I went with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed the calamari. Give it a try!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Such a lovely quaint place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We used to frequent the old coffee shop here in Georgetown...we were thrilled to find that it had become a piano/jazz/wine bar in the evenings...we had a nice red wine and a trio of tapas....the french onion soup was thick and flavourful, their take on carpacio was decadent and the calamari was so tender...loved everything from the great service to the tasty apps we enjoyed....we will absolutely be back!!! So lovely to have right here in downtown Georgetown!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silvercreek Cafe and Espresso Bar also viewed

Georgetown, Halton Hills
Georgetown, Halton Hills
 
Georgetown, Halton Hills
Georgetown, Halton Hills
 

Been to Silvercreek Cafe and Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silvercreek Cafe and Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.