We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Norval Pancake Factory

Norval Pancake Factory
525 Guelph ON, Georgetown, Halton Hills, Ontario, Canada
(905) 873-9080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 73 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It was better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was the place we used to meet some friends to have brunch.
The last two times we went there, it changed drastically.
The food was not that great. I was very disappointed.
I always got the Lumber Jack breakfast, and in these two occasions, it was bad.
I won't be driving there anymore. Sorry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average tasting pancakes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I guess my expectations were a little too high for this place. Considering its called a "pancake factory" I just assumed their pancakes would be quite impressive. I ordered the plain ones, the others ordered blueberry and strawberry/banana. Big portions but not so big on taste. I did notice for the most part that the majority of people were ordering bacon and eggs. I think that would be better option next time.
Big cups of premium coffee.
Line up at the door, about a 10 min wait.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best breakfast ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

the food is amazing, and potions are huge. you got to try this place. home fried potatoes are to so good and the pancakes are to die for. the staff is very friendly and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than average breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Okay I've been to this place a number of times for breakfast, overall I'd say it is better than average. Service though can be spotty though this visit was good, I guess since the owner was serving us. I have mentioned before about the homefries, a few times it was just seasoned cut up boiled potatoes, this time they were grilled a little more and nicely seasoned, but not quite there yet for adequate grilling. The eggs over easy were just a little under done. I mentioned before the coffee is average donut shop coffee, some people like myself don't like this type of coffee.

Prices are reasonable for the amount of food you are getting here. I was interested in trying the soup but not at $4.79. Or the club sandwich which came with homefries, how about french fries? The menu is rather extensive and long on a single sheet of stock, menu appearance could be improved.


Weekends are busy so there are line-ups at times

Oh and the ceiling tiles should be cleaned or replaced. Watch out for big potholes in the parking lot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,ON/Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great breakfast, great lunch restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It seems more and more people eating out for breakfast; in response more restaurants open now for breakfast as well.Unfortunately,many fail to deliver the "real thing",promising hash browns or home fried potatoes on their menu,but serving chopped-up french fries,almost meatless bacon,small eggs,lunchmeat-type ham, etc. and a second rate cup of coffee. So, where do you go for the "real thing" ? If you are heading for the town of Norval,in south-western Ontario,not that far from Toronto,the restaurant is located on a corner of Guelph St. & Adamson St. on its only intersection.The "Pancake Factory" is small in size,more diner-like than a full-size restaurant, decorated like Aunt Mary's living room.My wife and I have never been disappointed.Service is friendly and quick.The food arrives hot & freshly prepared in a timely fashion.Portions are big,prizes reasonable.Yes, the waiting in line can on occasion be a pain,especially outside during wintertime.It would be great,if the owners would built a glass enclosure on the approach ramp to the restaurant,that would keep waiting guests sheltered from the winter weather.It would also be great for those people,sitting close to the door,who receive an ice-cold blast,everytime the door opens.If you are flexible timewise,try 13.00 - 14.00,by then the waiting line has mostly disappeared.I cannot comment on pancakes, sandwiches,etc.,because my wife and I stick to the standard breakfast fair,like omelets,eggs benedikt,sausages & eggs,etc.,all served with real homefried potatoes,and all tasting great.Surprisingly,this being mainly a breakfast restaurant,the "Pancake Factory" also serves some truly great hamburgers.Forget the processed-meat,heavy-on-the-cerial hamburgers and soggy fries,that the hamburger joints serve.A word of advice: Try to arrive hungry at the
"Pancake Factory".!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norval Pancake Factory also viewed

 

Been to Norval Pancake Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norval Pancake Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.